“Just don’t talk…. listen.”

32d117fda7d456357036695567047ad1I read on the Internet that meditation is really good for you, especially as you make lifestyle changes and try to seek out peace. My soul is like constantly trying to mediate the war going on in my body, and the problem is nobody is listening.

I adopted, for myself, the term SHUT UP AND LISTEN. Of course, I realized that is not really a nice weird. I have a friend named Carlene whose youngest child was pretty much kidnapped everyday and raised by a troupe of adrenaline junkies who did base jumping and sky diving and rock climbing, when his mom thought was going to preschool.

So now you know, Carlene. You thought we were dropping him off for preschool but he went in the front door and out the back to join his homeboy crazies.

He went to preschool at the same school my daughter’s attending, so I often gave him a ride. One day, he was sitting in the back, and I was at a red light. It changed, as lights do, and from the back seat I hear this little voice say, “The light’s green weenie.”

WEENIE? Did that 3-year-old child just call me a WEENIE? So I asked, “Did you just call me a weenie?” And he said, “Just don’t talk.”

I gave Carissa the look that said, “What on earth is happening here?” and she said, “Walker is not allowed to use the words, ‘shut up,’ since they are his two favorite words next to ‘kill’ and ‘make-me-a-sandwich-woman-or-I will-cut-you.'”

I’m not sure I have ever been called a weenie before, both pre- and post Carlene’s kid.

I guess there’s a first time for everything.

So, my new mantra is “Just don’t talk and listen.” thanks W. Man.

#donttalklisten #smartkids #shutupbadword #prettysmartkid #thingskidssay #weenie #hecalledmeaweenie?

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Cool People, Funny, Uncategorized, Well it made ME laugh.... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

