Sister Wives (AKA no, I am not MIA…)

…Although I WAS a MIA Maid in the Mormon Church about a zillion year ago. I had to look that up because I had NO idea what it meant. Or couldn’t remember. Maybe I blocked it out after I got the chewing gum lesson from our teacher. You know, the lesson where they give someone a piece of gum, have them chew it then spit it out and offer it to someone else. It’s a lesson on purity. All I got out of it was chewing gum is BAD. I think I even had braces at the time. Incidentally, MIA stands for Mutual Improvement Association. We were mutually improving our dislike for slutty girls and chewing gum. As a group.

At ANY rate, I haven’t blogged for a month because I’ve been busy doing other kinds of writing, moving to a warmer climate, and helping my youngest Dancing Daughter apply for colleges and scholarships. Life is busy. I’m sure it is the same for everyone.

But Birdman has been tracking my Kindle book sales, and he noted that SISTER WIFE has been in the top 100 on Kindle, on books in Mormonism, for SIX MONTHS NOW. We aren’t sure why it is selling so briskly, unless it is because of the show Sister Wives, but that’s a different title. I don’t know.

But I DID get a chance to watch the show, and it really made me uneasy. That guy reminds me of a sleazy con man, and I’m not sure why. And they come off as The Brady Bunch on crack. That, my friends, is NOT polygamy. I mean, it is his polygamy, but it doesn’t seem to be abusive, and it’s possibly because there is no one else fighting for Kody Brown’s wives, or marrying off their 12-year-old daughters, or throwing out the boys because they are competition.

I worry that people will get the wrong idea about polygamy. That they will watch Mike Brady Brown and think “well, who is he hurting?” Because no one in that family seems unhappy, and it doesn’t seem like anyone is hurting anyone else. But that is NOT what happens in most cases.

The real polygamy, the non-Brady kind, is full of abuse–sexual, physical, and mental–and is about control and patriarchy. Women are chattel. The real reason they do not cut their hair is so that they can WASH THEIR HUSBAND’S FEET with it after the second coming. How wonderful. I see the pligs everyday, at the doctor’s offices, at the store. Usually there are several sister wives together. Sometimes I see the men and boys, and they are just as easy to pick out as the women. And none of them look happy.

But of course, now we know what really goes on inside those polygamous homes, and not the kind of Brady Bunch shit you see on the reality show. This is the down and dirty stuff. The marrying off of young girls to men old enough to be their father or grandfather.

So I don’t like Sister Wives, the reality show. It’s painting a pretty picture on a very, very ugly practice.

Should they group up with other pligs, you will see the abuses come.

I don’t think Kody Brown and his wives should be prosecuted for their lifestyle, as long as he doesn’t start marrying teenagers. But I’m curious about his “religious” reasons for his lifestyle choice.

So, I shall dig deeper. And in the meantime, go read Sister Wife. You’ll find out what the real polygamy is like.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Around the world in a Mormon minute, Books she wrote, Polygamy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sister Wives (AKA no, I am not MIA…)

  1. Any chance it will be made available in nook format? I’m about ready to go buy a kindle just so I can get the books amazon carries that barnes & noble doesn’t!

    Like

Leave a Reply

