BYU basketball player Brandon Davies dismissed from team for… shhh… having S.E.X.

Yes, a player was dismissed from the BYU Basketball team for having premarital sex. A GOOD player.

First of all, I know I might surprise you all, but I’m going to side with BYU on this one. It IS their school. It IS a private university run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and they have the RIGHT to enforce their honor code.

So, for whatever reason Brandon Davies got outed (and they aren’t saying if someone ratted him out or he just felt guilty and confessed), dismissing him from the team was the right thing to do.

Provo • Three days after recording the biggest regular-season win in program history, a win over San Diego State that propelled the BYU basketball team to a No. 3 national ranking and into serious consideration for a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament, the Cougars’ postseason hopes were dealt a devastating blow.

Starting center Brandon Davies was dismissed from the team on Tuesday because he ran afoul of the school’s strict honor code.

Now I have to admit that I ADMIRE BYU (please don’t faint) for taking this action, because sports matter at BYU, and WINNING matters. This is a kid who was a hot player and they enforced their honor code and did NOT choose to look the other way, as many other schools would do.

Davies admitted to having sex with his girlfriend, and they are….gasp….not married. Again, against the honor code that BYU is very upfront about. Davies should have known better.

But what I really want to know is how many other players are having sex, and either didn’t have the moral fortitude to own up to it, or didn’t get ratted out? Further, are they squirming inside as they wonder if someone might know about their own “dirty little secrets,” and desperately planning to switch to a school like the U of U where players are fully expected to sow their wild oats?

Being a Ute myself, this is not a diss on the school. Just a fact. Male, teenage, college athletes are horndogs. We all know this.

It will be interesting to see if Davies ends up at the U. Might be a better fit. Just saying.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Around the world in a Mormon minute, Eventful things, Everybody wants to be us and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to BYU basketball player Brandon Davies dismissed from team for… shhh… having S.E.X.

  1. Michael Mock says:

    Wait, you support them on this? Doesn’t that violate your contract or something? {/tongue in cheek}

    Actually, I agree. Standing by their honor code is admirable, and I wish more schools handled things this way – not the ‘no tolerance’ elements, I mean, but the ‘apply the rule consistently’ part.

    Like

  2. Tania says:

    I have to admire them for doing it also but I also have to wonder. Did someone else turn them in or did they come clean on their own. I just know first hand a cousin-in law who came from a rich family was attending BYU and knocked up his girlfriend but nothing seemed to happen to him. So I guess my complaint is that there does seem to be some hits and misses when it comes to the honor code. Seems like if you are in with your Bishop you are A Okay. Just saying. I think he is crazy if he tried to go back to BYU. The U would be a very nice fit.

    Like

    • Tania, good question. There are rumors flying that Davies DID indeed get his girlfriend pregnant, but those are currently being denied. Now if this were the case, I think I would be highly annoyed, because otherwise they would NOT have kicked him out, and it would not have been a matter of honor, but a matter of YOU GOT CAUGHT. Will be interesting to see what happens.

      Like

  3. Mindy says:

    Haha. I have to wonder if you are the “outer”. I mean really if he did go to Utah…it might make up for the football player that was “outed” by the UHP a week or so ago…. Hehe
    I’m in agreement with you Natalie, I find it disgusting that people, but mostly kids, are given so breaks. How the hell do they learn a lesson if they are not held accountable (Mormon phrase I know, but it works).
    I have teenagers that don’t get it because they don’t have consequences. They get off for telling the truth. Cops want to let the “good judgement of the parent” handle a potentially serious situation than do the paper work…. Does any one know the difficulty of holding a 17 year olds feet to the fire? I could go on….but basically I just wanted to say that I am too am glad that BYU, holds their party line…I know 2 local cops that could use a lesson about that…

    Like

    • Well, I would certainly not be AGAINST Brandon making his way to the incredibly wonderful University of Utah, as opposed to BYU, but PLEASE.

      I do stand with my original post supporting BYU’s decision, and I just hope they are applying the same rules to ALL students. Teenagers need consequences. They are mutants. They think they will live forever, and nothing can hurt them, and they can do whatever they want….

      Like

Leave a Reply

