Real reader comments

I got this comment on my blog today: (It was right next to the comments by The Devil who regularly comments on my blog just to let me know he’s out there. Puhleeeeze. I SEE they are still teaching algebra in the schools. I KNOW The Devil is real.)

But I digress. Back to the comment.

Hey your books sister wife and twisted sister were great books. I purchased the books on my kindle and have to say it was the best two Purchases I’ve made in a long time.  I was wondering if you wrote a third book to the sisters if sin series. I have looked and it was said on a website that you might have written the third book to the series called secret sister but can not find it on amazon.  Please let me know if you have written it or if you plan on writing the third book.  Your a great author and I would love to read more books that I hope you will publish one day. Thanks because you are now one of my favorite authors.  I will be purchasing wives and sisters as well as the fourth world and behind closed doors. Hope to hear from you soon:)
Vickie

Authors put a lot of stock in reviews, because their publishers do. A good industry review, one may think, can be the difference between a book selling and a book not selling. Maybe.

I used to think this, but I’m not sure I agree anymore. I got some pretty good industry reviews, and the closest I ever came to the New York Times was when I sat down at an airport and grabbed the one someone had abandoned in the seat next to me. Being a New York Times Bestselling author seems to happen one of three ways. Either your publisher paid you a big enough advance that they NEED you there to get their money back, so they get behind your book enough to push it there; or word of mouth takes over and you hit a year or so later; or you’ve been there before, so people just keep buying your books.

Good industry reviews, while wonderful for the ego, are certainly no guarantee.

I have quite a few to show for my books.

“… a white-knuckles ride all the way. Expert depiction of a young woman’s struggle with the oppressive “family values” of one kind of fundamentalism. Newcomer Collins is a talent to watch.”–Kirkus Reviews

“In this solid sequel to Sisterwife, Roberts brings back Kelsey Waite, a single Mormon mom, and her daughter, Tia, who are happily living as a family with the Santa Barbara PD’s Quinn Anderson. Soon, however, Alisha Telford, with whom Kelsey has founded the support group Women Against Violence, is questioned about the murder of someone who molested Alisha when she was a teen. Joe, Alisha’s boyfriend and Quinn’s partner, dies suddenly of a heart attack, and Alisha disappears soon after. The murders of people linked to Alisha pile up, and Kelsey is drawn into the killer’s web. With new partner Rita Jaramillo and FBI Agent Lexi Richards, Quinn rushes to solve a sordid mystery where twists on gender are part of the murderer’s M.O. Although some turns are predictable, Roberts pulls off a thought-provoking puzzler. (Oct.) — Publishers Weekly

“Startling and compelling–I could not stop turning the pages. Natalie Collins weaves an absolutely riveting tale.”
– Tess Gerritsen, author of The Sinner

“A dark, powerful debut novel. Natalie Collins pulls no emotional punches crafting this searing tale of one woman’s search for justice.”
-Lisa Gardner, author of The Killing Hour

“Natalie Collins’ Wives and Sisters is a journey through heartbreak, tragedy, and self-discovery with a courageous woman who dares to think for herself in a dogmatic society. This is a story for anyone who has ever questioned what they’ve been taught all their life; anyone who has ever doubted their self-worth, and everyone who loves to cheer on the underdog and watch them triumph in the end. You’ll be glad you took this journey with her.”
-Tina Wainscott, author of I’ll Be Watching You

“From the first page, SisterWife defies you to put it down. A spine-chilling study of evil that will keep the reader gripped until the final page. ”
–Katherine Sutcliffe, multi-award winning bestselling author of Darkling I Listen, Fever, and Notorious

“Intensely emotional and sometimes heartbreaking is how I would describe SISTERWIFE…This is a book you’ll not want to put down. If you do, you’ll be thinking about what’s happening so much that you’ll keep picking it up until you’ve read it through. SISTERWIFE is a true page-turner. The intrigue, action and drama are very effective. Ms. Collins has done a spectacular job.”
–Robin Taylor, In the Library Reviews

“Natalie R. Collins’ SisterWife is a compelling read…If you want to read a book that will take you beyond the news coverage to what drives the people involved either directly or on the fringe of these cults, get SisterWife!”
–Jen Apodaca, author of Dating Can Be Murder

“Wow. Chilling, thrilling and spine-tingling, SisterWife grabs you by the lapels on page one and doesn’t let go until the end. This is fast-paced in-your-face writing at its best. I couldn’t put it down, not even to eat. Natalie R. Collins knows what she’s doing and she does it with subtle artistry — Kelsey Waite’s plight is fascinating. More importantly, Kelsey is a living, breathing character who gets our sympathy and keeps it through some fairly grueling business. Highly recommended!!”
–John Blumenthal, author of What’s Wrong With Dorfman?

These are all wonderful blurbs, and from some of my very favorite authors and the esteemed industry magazines. But real reviews and comments from readers have come to mean so much more to me. Those people are really going to tell their neighbor about the book. That is going to be the TRUE word of mouth selling of a book that otherwise might just remain a midlist novel that some people liked but most people didn’t read.

And that’s the bottom line. You need to tell a story that catches the attention of the real people, and spreads like wildfire. If you can’t do that, you will forever remain a “midlist” author.

I hope that’s not my fate.

I, for one, am embracing Vickie’s comment.

Please let me know if you have written it or if you plan on writing the third book.  Your a great author and I would love to read more books that I hope you will publish one day.

Vickie

Vickie,

I will. I am a writer, and I write for people like you. Thank YOU for allowing me to do what I do best, and for enjoying it. Secret Sisters is started, and I expect to have it done and ready to publish in a year or so.

And again, THANK YOU. You are what it is really all about. Real readers.

Natalie

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Books she wrote, Eventful things, Things she said.... and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Real reader comments

  1. Nice piece on what really matters in the end to us writers — our readership.

    Like

Leave a Reply

