The Trevor Project

This is a very worthwhile cause, devoted to saving our confused and downtrodden GLBT youth that have heard some pretty ugly messages aimed at them in the past few weeks. IT GETS BETTER. The Trevor Project deserves applause.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Trevor Project

  1. Todd D says:

    Thanks Natalie! I am glad to see you spotlighting this. It is such a great cause and I am a big supporter. I have been very excited about the “It Gets Better” project and the choir I am a part of created and submitted our own video. I am always proud of my community and the positive outreach we give to those who are struggling.

    I wish I had been aware of resources like this when I was younger and maybe I would not have contemplated my own suicide while at BYU and struggling to come to terms with my sexuality and the demands and teachings of the church. Luckily I did not make that choice, but went through a lot of unhappiness trying to live up to the teachings and expectations of a family and church who mainly wanted me to shut up and stay silent.

    I wish we could do more to decrease the negative messages and bullying that they cause but I don’t have a lot of hope for that. All we can do is continue to reinforce the positive messages and continue to give these young people hope so that they do not take their lives or go through the hardship and heartache that so many of us seem to have to pass through to find the happiness on the other side. I am glad to see these messages of hope that so many in my community have shared.

    Like

Leave a Reply

