The day Gordon B. Hinckley almost ruined my life….

One of the pleasures of being a member of my family or my friend, is you get to be written about on my blog! I know, I know, it’s why people line up for miles around to be friends with me.

Luckily for my friends and family, I use pseudonyms for them, so I can say things like this:

Yesterday, when I was driving with my fifteen-year-old, Dancing Daughter, she said, “I cannot believe these people. I hate people who don’t know how to drive!” The funny part of that, of course, is that SHE was the one driving, and I was in the passenger seat holding on for dear life. The child has a LEARNER’S PERMIT. LEARNER, people. That does not mean, “You are now a master Jedi of the road, and everyone else is a toad.”

I turned my head to snicker on that one.

Today, she got into the car (to drive, of course, because she is the QUEEN OF THE ROAD), and immediately switched the station from the 80s song I was singing along to, and it made me mad. I said, “You don’t just get to change the station.” Her answer? “I didn’t like that song. This is a compromise.” I think she needs to spend more time in her English classes, because by my book, compromise means you come to a mutually acceptable agreement. It does NOT mean the teenager switches the radio to the stupid rap song.

Yeah.

But I digress.

Birdman and I have a lovely relationship, and rarely disagree or fight. But it turns out that Gordon B. Hinckley, former prophet of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and master spinmeister, causes all sorts of ruckus in our life. Odd.

My personal opinion about Gordon B. can be noted here:

The day I wrote this post, I received over 167 comments (some of which I had to delete), and my blog received more traffic than ever before. But that wasn’t the day that almost ruined my life.

See, Birdman can’t really understand why I have such strong feelings about Gordo, and not, say, Spencer W. Kimball or Brigham Young. Or even better, Joseph Smith!

My dislike of Gordon B. Hinckley goes back to the Mormon murders, when that crafty little forger Mark Hoffman was creating all those fake documents that could make the church look bad and Gordon B. Hinckley was buying them up like they were precious gold, so he could hide them all away and no one’s faith would ever be challenged.

Of course, you realize the only reason he would FALL for this, and buy up these forged documents, is because he knew there was more than a SPORTING chance they were real. Joseph Smith was a grifter, and most of the world, aside from the Mormons, realizes this.

But when the jig was almost up, and Hoffman about to be exposed, he tried to take the heat off by killing people.

This particular paragraph from Wikipedia describes it quite well:

In 1981, Hofmann arrived at the headquarters of the Utah church with a document which supposedly provided evidence that Joseph Smith the Prophet had designated his son Joseph Smith III, rather than Brigham Young, as his successor. In a forged cover letter, purportedly written by Thomas Bullock and dated January 27, 1865, Bullock chastises Brigham Young for having all copies of the blessing destroyed. Bullock writes that although he believes Young to be the legitimate leader of the LDS church, he would keep his copy of the blessing. Such a letter, if true, would portray Young and, by extension, the LDS church in an unfavorable light. In September 1981, Hofmann gave the letter to Hinckley as a “faithful Mormon.” The letter was also later given to the RLDS Church. Hofmann expected the church to “buy the blessing on the spot and bury it.” When the church archivist balked at the price, Hofmann offered it to the Missouri Church, the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, which had always claimed that the line of succession had been bestowed on Joseph Smith’s line but had never had written proof. A scramble to acquire the Blessing then occurred, and Hofmann, posing as a faithful Utah Mormon, presented it to his church in exchange for items worth more than $20,000.[16] Nevertheless, Hofmann engineered the situation so as to ensure that the document would be made public. The next day a New York Times headline read, “Mormon Document Raises Doubts on Succession of Church’s Leaders,”[17] and the LDS Church was forced to confirm the discovery and publicly present the document to the RLDS Church.[18]

Now, see, by acting as he did, Gordon B. Hinckley enabled Hoffman in his crimes, and yet stood back and pretended to be innocent when the chips fell. I saw the pictures of Kathleen Sheets, a completely innocent victim. I was working at The Salt Lake Tribune at the time, and we saw things that never made the daily newspaper. It was a gruesome murder. Hoffman was a lying sociopath. Hinckley was so concerned with how he and the church looked that he distanced himself from anything to do with Hoffman, even though HE was the catalyst.

Then I watched as he tried to “Mainstream” the Mormon Church into Christianity. I listened as he told Larry King he didn’t really TALK TO GOD, he just had “impressions.” Great. Just great.

Needless to say, IMO, he was a fake and phony, and I never saw truth in his smile or kindness in his eyes. He was the BP CEO of Mormonism, and Hoffman’s forgeries were the oil spilling into the water and killing everything around it, and he just walked away with his hands up and pretended innocence.

In short, he doesn’t have my respect. And Birdman does not understand why I am so passionate about this. SOOOOO I am ordering him The Mormon Murders and Salamander: The Story of the Mormon Forgery Murders. Both well worth reading, and both honest accounts of Hinckley’s involvement in the Hoffman Murders.

Since we got into a rather “heated” discussion about why Hinckley was so much worse than the others, we now use it as a codeword. If he says “Gordon B. Hinckley” I immediately shut up and give him dirty looks. It’s a real crowd pleaser.

I do not intend to let GBH ruin this relationship, so I’ll let Birdman read those two books and then decide for himself whether or not Gordo is worse than the others.

Incidentally, when I went back to read my infamous, “Gee I”m sorry your prophet died” post, the one that had all the angry Mormon mobs after me, the very first comment tickled my funny bone.

this is the worst site i have ever seen.
Gordon B. Hinckley was a man. He was a leader. He was a kind man. He was caring, loving, honest, true, humble, clean, and an awe inspiring speaker.

The people running this site obviously hold….none of these qualities.

Their research is untrue, biased, and otherwise unintelligent.
Do not come to this site for information. go to the real source.

Heh. Funny stuff.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The day Gordon B. Hinckley almost ruined my life….

  1. Clark says:

    Yes, because the “real source” is totally trustworthy.

    Like

  2. Melissa says:

    Interesting…I never knew these things and always wondered what he would feel like the day he died or “went theourgh the veil” finding out that he was preaching untrue things and misleading so many people, but little did I know, he knew it here…long before he died…

    Like

  3. birdman says:

    Okay, so I will read the books…
    I would think that they all “knew” about the talking to God…
    My original assumption was…he was “the prophet” for most of your young life and I was away in the military while he was “the prophet”.
    I do fully understand your issues with GBH…I just have issues with others that are just as strong…so let’s compromise and both agree that we don’t like GBH…
    Now I’ll take a bite of my burger…

    Like

  4. Pingback: A Youth Persuades Her Drinking Pals To Dig Up More Information About Alcohol Dependency and Alcohol Abuse

  5. Natalie says:

    Clark, yes, “the real source.” The one that put out the book that claims Brigham Young only had one wife. THAT SOURCE? Yeah. LOL.

    Like

  6. Natalie says:

    Compromise according to Dancing Daughter, or the REAL compromise? LOL.

    Like

  7. Birdman says:

    Who gets to be Dancing Daughter? Lol

    Like

  8. Dennis Johnson says:

    I was at the RLDS confernce and stood to vote that the “document” be published..
    the RLDS church was estatic over the verification that Jos Smith III was the
    designated prophet…
    and the LDS church in a strange sort of way…said…”yeah” but who cares????
    it was one strange time in history.
    The RLDS church published the letter in a beautiful booklet form…and sent them throughout RLDSdom…
    we felt so vindicated….
    Hoffman fooled us all…he fooled the entire LDS KINGDOM AS WELL …
    Hinkley thought he was so cleaver to buy up evidence and store it away forever..
    wow….what a time to have been living….
    we all made history…

    Like

  9. Michael says:

    Ah man, I don’t know. I don’t trust anyone that says they found magical tablets in the ground that tell them about the bible v2.0. It’s just… I dunno. Would not dedicate my life to that.

    Ruined My Day

    Like

  10. Cele says:

    One of the interesting things about religions and beliefs is that as a person we should be ever evolving. This doesn’t bode well with many religions, a lot of young people, even more old people and cults. GBH was a human with feet of eroding clay, misled by his cult, er religion, unwilling to man up to his errors mudding the water even further by endless attempts to cover up indigressions of not only a faith but other clay footed humans.

    I’m not berating so please don’t take it that way. I just hope you both recognize the fact you two are on the same side of the fence/issue and honor each other in love and respect, instead of envoking the power of GBH over your relationship beyond his grave.

    Like

  11. Cele says:

    hmmm, can we say… indiscretions? although really the thought of him gives me indigestion.

    Like

  12. JulieAnn says:

    Meh, I know you two. GBH would have been a bump in an otherwise smooth ride to heaven 🙂

    K and I have our bumps and you’ve seen them first-hand. They can be quite entertaining.

    Like

  13. Birdman says:

    GBH is only a small bump and I find him entertaining. Yes, we are on the same side of the fence! I just need to understand how deep your feeling is on the subject. Our similarities outweigh the tiny bump ten fold =D

    Like

  14. Pingback: Sunday in Outer Blogness: Scenes from Church and Life Edition! | Main Street Plaza

  15. Sean says:

    GBH was all about behind-the-scenes string-pulling and plausible deniability from the moment he first started working for the Mormon church eighty-five years ago. He’s the one who orchestrated the covert Mormon take-down of the ERA in the ’70s. That and the Mark Hoffman incidents are what finally pushed me from being “meh” about the man to full-on despite and hatred. Also his sneaky attempts to deny rights to gays without incurring any public backlash. Such a smooth, plausible little fucker. Hmph.

    Like

Leave a Reply

