Somebody must be reading a DIFFERENT blog…..

So our newest friend “M” (Moron? Masochist? Mason?) feels that he really doesn’t have to defend any of the things I’ve written here, because others have already done so “so well.”

Huh? Were you hanging out at Jeff Lindsay’s blog a little much? Don’t get me wrong. I have grown very fond of Jeff Lindsay, because I feel he is a sincere man with a sincere wish to share what he believes to be true. But still….

M says:

Wow, Lisa, I’m sorry for the loss of your father and I’m glad my comment could serve as a target for getting some of your anger out. You are correct–my comment doesn’t make any sense directed at you, because it was not directed at you at all. It was directed at the author of the original post (I thought in the blogging world that was the general assumption unless a comment specifically calls out another commenter? My bad if my assumption was incorrect). But it applies to anyone who comes in and says “You believers cannot KNOW anything. You are all deluded. I KNOW that your religion is false.” Can’t you see the obvious logical double-standard in such statements when a non-believer claims that he/she KNOWS that a believer is wrong? It’s rather amusing, in a sad kind of way.

Now, when did I say that? In fact, you are TEN TIMES more likely to to claim you KNOW your religion is true than I am to say it is false. I just think it’s funny.

This blog is obviously a place where people with a chip on their shoulder against the LDS church come to rant and fume.

Oh for hell’s sake. Ever heard of the Bloggernacle? That’s where all the people with a chip on the their shoulders about the people who don’t like Mormonism go to rant and fume. So be it.

So be it. But if anyone happens to visit here honestly seeking to know the truth (and not just wanting to hear their own negative opinions reaffirmed by others who are likeminded) then I thought it was worth pointing out the obvious hypocrisy and logical fallacy in saying “You people who claim to know the truth are all deluded. You cannot know the truth. I know the truth.” It’s a logical circle that leads to nowhere.

Dear Moron. Where do I say this? What, I don’t? OH YOU are the one saying it. Why just read below as proof.

The real truth is, it takes the external witness of the Spirit of God to truly discern truth from error. Our puny little brains just aren’t great enough to do it on our own.

Muwwwahhhhhaaaaaaaaaa. That’s the funniest thing I have heard all week. “YOU PEOPLE WHO CLAIM TO KNOW THE TRUTH ARE ALL DELUDED. The real truth is……” LOLOLOL. Funny stuff, M. The real truth is, the TRUTH varies according to who you ask. Talk to any police officer.

Those who reject and fight against God with their intellect are likely to eventually drive themselves mad as their minds race in endless circles.

Here’s one for ya, M. How come God answers prayers about lost car keys, but let’s little children be murdered, screaming for help, begging for mercy? See, THOSE endless circles are the ones that keep us asking about YOUR God. You, on the other hand, have just let your little mind be TOLD what to believe. Don’t question the circles! For God’s sake, no, no, just accept that the circles are God’s plan. Yeah, you might be dizzy when you are done, but…. What the hell. Just believe the circles are leading somewhere. They are LEADING SOMEWHERE.

Right back where you started, basically, but HEY, that is somewhere.

But for someone who really does want to know, there is a way out of the pointless spinning–but you have to humbly seek the truth with enough patience to find it. I would suggest starting by reading the Book of Mormon with a sincere heart to know whether it’s true, rather than with an agenda to prove that it’s false.

Sincere heart? Get the fuck real. COME ON. Look at the facts, M. What is wrong with you that you can’t ACCEPT THE FACTS. There are THREE (count them, THREE) different versions of the First Vision. THREE RECORDED VERSIONS. Not the official one the Church puts out.

Joseph Smith joined another church JUST MONTHS after God supposedly told him NOT TO.

THESE ARE FACTS, M.

I’m not going to spend any more time reading the pointless diatribes on this blog, but from the couple of posts I did read, it looks like the complaints against LDS church doctrine and history here are really very lame. There are such easy answers to the old, tired arguments levied here for someone who truly wants to get to the bottom of the truth. As just one example, Joseph Smith’s alleged “three first vision accounts”–actually there are many more than three. Shockingly, for an event as important as Deity visiting man, Joseph Smith told the story more than three times. And one time he mentioned seeing a light–and another time he mentioned seeing fire–and another time he mentioned a pillar of light–and other a pillar of fire–wow, the discrepancies are shocking!!!! Read this page I found if you want more resources about this “controversy”: http://www.jefflindsay.com/LDSFAQ/FQ_first_vision.shtml#odd.

But it would be a waste of time to rebut every point made here because otheres have already done a much better job of it than I could, and most of those reading this blog don’t want to hear the truth anyway–they just want to Baaaa loudly and hear others Baaaa back (I am indebted to a commenter on a more recent post for bringing up the sheep analogy, which fits so well here).

Baa back to to you. Thank God you aren’t going to waste any more time on this blog, because you truly ARE wasting my time. Use your damn head. This stuff is stupid. If you want to believe, go believe. But for hell’s sake, don’t come on here and tell me I am touting that I HAVE THE ONLY TRUE THING, because I have NEVER once said that, and you are full of…. well, you know. The potty mouth starts to come out when idiocy is presented as common sense and reason.

Hell, M, if you even ONCE really opened your mind and investigated, you would be amazed what you would find. But that would take you out of your little comfort zone, where everything is good and right, and as long as you pray, God will find your keys. Just put your hand in your pocket, and THERE THEY ARE. NEVER MIND THAT DEAD CHILD OVER THERE, left to die by his mother and stepfather because they wanted to get married. God only answers SINCERE pleas. Obviously, your keys needed to be found. That child, however, did NOT NEED TO BE SAVED because…. because…. Because?

Answer that.

Get real. Get a life. And if you can’t handle it, get the fuck off my blog.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Somebody must be reading a DIFFERENT blog…..

  1. worm says:

    In a most blasphemistic way…AMEN…

    Like

  2. Oneofadozen says:

    You know what struck me?

    “Those who reject and fight against God with their intellect are likely to eventually drive themselves mad as their minds race in endless circles.”

    Where did (s)he hear that? Sounds like another scare tactic to me. No, no, don’t question. Never question! If you do your mind will explode from the strain of thinking for yourself.

    And as far as madness goes, I don’t have to look any further than my own devoutly Mormon family to find it. My mother is convinced she speaks to angels, my brother believes faith will heal his migraines, another brother won’t get an education because it would be a waste of time seeing as the Second Coming will be here any day now. I think I can safely say I’ve seen more madness within the church than I have since leaving it.

    Like

  3. worm says:

    Oneofadozen,
    Again, a profound…AMEN

    Like

  4. Amanda A says:

    I’ve been thinking of becoming a Mormon lately. But then I found your blog. And seeing all the hateful comments some of them leave, I’m beginning to reconsider my thinkings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

