Here, let me illustrate this for you in a very "colorful" way…

As a lifelong member of the LDS Church, one who was raised in the 60s, 70s, and 80s, racism was second nature. I never understood. Didn’t get it. In FACT, still have a crush on some random very tall, very handsome black man who lives in my little town, and has no idea who I am. (I walk by his house all the time. Have invented numerous stories for his life, and now don’t want to meet him because they could not possibly be true.)

But I KNOW what I was taught, and I KNOW what I learned growing up. The “Negroes” had a place, and it was not in our church, in our “priesthood.” Which is why I understand where this statement came from. Please note, this does not mean it does not appall me. It does.

Ted: If the spectre of Black people being hanged from trees is so horrific, why is their no outrage over Barrack Obama Christmas Tree Ornaments?

This was a status update from someone I grew up with. Someone I have had exchanges with. And before you get all ruffled and feathery-like, please let me assure you it is NOT Todd. These are both real people I know.

I’ve seen pictures of Todd in Mexico, and so perhaps Susan, who posts from there, knows Todd. But this is a completely different person.

I know them both.

And Ted is appalling for reasons Todd could never touch. I have NEVER seen Todd say something as absolutely racist and downright ugly as this. And yes, I think Todd is in denial, and he’s too smart for what he is trying to defend (and I really believe one day he will come out and admit it), but the CORE TRUTH is Todd is a good person. Is Ted? I cannot be sure, and it makes me sad.

When he would post his liberal anti-Obama crap on FB, I would question him. I would invite him HERE. He never took up that invitation. He claimed I “picked my battles well,” which really only means I only fight against or defend what I know is wrong. I don’t argue with what I can’t possibly defend.

But this? THIS is too much. Are you FUCKING KIDDING ME?

Take your club and slink back to your cave, please. People are people. We are all created equal, and if you haven’t figured that out yet, then you need to spend some time hanging from a tree, or perhaps in a gas oven just because you happen to be of a certain ethnic persuasion. Walk a mile in their shoes, people.

Spend a few years as a woman who has been mutilated so she can’t feel pleasure, all because MEN WANT IT THAT WAY.

Racism, sexism, ignoranusism all really PISS ME OFF.

And Shane? I read your story, and it was kind of sad, but the truth is, you still HAVE NO CLUE. You are a bright, intelligent, talented young man. Perhaps I can help you FIND that clue. Look at the facts.

Is it REALLY that hard to just LOVE ONE ANOTHER? Why is that such a huge challenge, especially among “Christians” who claim this as the mantra above all others? Love one another, except that black man, and that Jewish man, and perhaps the woman who loves another woman. Love everybody else, except that boy whose mother is a prostitute, and that Mormon mother who is a meth addict, and of course that bishop who is a closet alcoholic. LOVE THEM ALL, except for everybody who is human. The rest of them… You can love.

And that, folks, is dumbass logic. Too bad so many people live by it.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Here, let me illustrate this for you in a very "colorful" way…

  1. Cele says:

    I have never understood how people can base their hatreds on the Bible.

    Like

  2. azteclady says:

    And this is why I love you so, Natalie.

    Like

  3. Kent says:

    I knew a couple of Teds, too. (I know Todd and Natalie and I can assure you they are real people, as well.) At first I was thinking I was responsible for Ted’s racism, because I hit one of the Teds in football practice once and knocked him unconscious, so I hoped that might be the cause, but I think it is a different Ted.

    Actually, comments like those of Ted’s tax me to show the same compassion and love for the conservative racists of the world who I wish I could knock unconscious on the football field. I’m sure Ted was quite pro-Iraq/Afghanistan war, which is ironic since from a political idealogical standpoint he is more aligned with the Taliban than the Constitution. (Another irony, I’m sure Ted is anti-abortion and pro death penalty).

    This would be what Todd means when he says hate the sin, but love the sinner, I suppose. I do know how that works. So we should all love Ted, but not what Ted stands for.

    The biggest difficulty I have is understanding how this racism is born and fed. I’ve tried cases with black defendants in Utah and without fail, the juries have been tainted by racism. Yet, racism is certainly not merely a Mormon phenomenon. Although the blacks had been denied the priesthood, Ted and I were teenagers when the church reversed its position. Given Mormon doctrine, racism should have been irradicated by the obedient members, but it wasn’t as Ted’s quote would indicate.

    The Mormons and non-mormons who fought for civil rights from 1830 to the present were right and those who opposed giving blacks equal rights and promoted racism were wrong. History and common sense has proven that point. Yet, I’d encourage everyone to do what Natalie did — start visiting and commenting to people you disagree with and explain why you disagree. If you don’t they will only listen to themselves and others like themselves and become convinced that they are right because there is no dissenting voice, when in reality they should be drowned out with indignation.

    I guess I’m done, I’ve got to go add Ted as a friend on FaceBook.

    Like

  4. Natalie says:

    Excellent post, Kent. But look out. Ted’s got some pretty INNERESTING opinions. Don’t get sucked into the vortex. And as an addendum, Ted DID listen to me and removed the post I found so offensive. Grudgingly.

    Like

  5. Kent says:

    Glad Ted acquiesed. I’m a big boy Natalie — I think I can handle myself just fine. Ted’s actually been a friend of mine on Facebook for sometime now. I’ve never bothered to engage before because it was all so stupid. I’ve been reading a lot of Cass Sunstein lately (Chicago Law Professor and the current head of The White House Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs) and I realized that the echo effect of Facebook is not dialogue, but what they would call in Mormonism “common consent” which means no dissent. If the tea parties showed nothing other than this, it is the only thing worse than a dumb person is hundreds or thousands of dumb people with a news network.

    Like

  6. Natalie says:

    I’m not worried about you, Kent. I promise. Just making a funny comment. LOL. I have NO DOUBT that you can fend for yourself.

    And FASCINATING comments about Facebook. Wow. True, true.

    Like

  7. Kirk says:

    Great creation video! Reminds me of the LDS temple video – with a little disrespect mixed in.

    Favorite quotes from video: “And God was really pissed, and cursed at Adam and Eve – saying in essence, ‘go forth and multiply’ (but not in those words). They misunderstood his words, and now there are 6 billion humans.”

    Another good quote: And God said, “Thank me it’s Friday.” and he rested.

    The video made me laugh.

    Like

  8. emily says:

    The fact that they are prejudiced is very well hidden. I grew up mormon but my mother was an amazingly loving woman who had no tolerance for any prejudice. People often do not realize that mormons are this way, I think mormons themselves do not even realize they are that way. They hide behind their prophets words and pretend to be tolerant but they are hateful and judgemental at every turn.

    I no longer live in UT and I never will again. I grew up and left the church that I never felt I had a choice in joining in the first place. I have tolerance for them but of course they have none for me. But isnt that the way it is with them.

    BTW it took me a years to finally feel like it would be ok to talk about the temple and the ridiculous things that went on within its walls. why? I was afraid that although I was certain it was not true maybe I was wrong and I would burn in hell for revealing my temple name or the “sacred rituals” being performed. (which are very much masonic btw)

    “The church” is a joke to me now. All churches are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

