Funny comments

There are always a few funny comments on the blog to keep the activity going. Like this one here, from our new friend Sharon!

Wow! someone wanted to actually INVITE your daughter to an activity??? How DARE they! Are you this nasty to every religion? you are one scary person

Sharon? Can you read? We’ve had this argument before, and you are NOT paying attention. Please go back and read the archives, then return and we will discuss.

Me? Scary? I don’t think so. Believing you are superior and all-mighty and because you are doing “God’s work” you are allowed to cross any boundary and do whatever you want to WHOMEVER you want? Now that’s scary.

After all, I, a complete stranger to you, didn’t show up YOUR door and invite YOUR child to my church activity, now did I?

Discuss amongst yourselves. Back to the book. The deadline approaches.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Funny comments

  1. Kirk says:

    Hey Nat,

    I am faced with this same problem fairly often; well-meaning LDS folks calling my children, or showing up at my door with invitations to a variety of church functions – many fun and wonderful activities to entice children. Don’t get me wrong here – as a family we are a very social group; many friends, parties, sporting events etc. The catalyst for problems always comes with hidden little agendas. Almost always, some spiritual message is presented. Personal testimonies of Joseph Smith and the gospel are presented.

    I wonder what these same people would do if I were to show up at their homes, invite their children to fun swimming parties, and then proceed to give them lessons about the dangers of their belief systems. Maybe I could show them some pictures of Satan, scare the shit out of them, and then tell them that if they don’t believe me and do as I teach, they won’t be able to live with God or the rest of their family forever.

    Kirk

    Like

  2. azteclady says:

    This morning, as I’m frantically trying to finish three different projects so that I can jump on the bicycle and ride something like ten miles round trip to the post office (God bless my s.o. and the bike trailer he gave me for Xmas in 2006)…

    the door bell rings.

    The dog goes insane with barking and whining and trembling and growling and more trembling and barking.

    I open and find a family on the driveway, a step from the door.

    Adult male with long sleeved shirt, buttoned shirt up to the chin, a Bible and religious pamphlets in hand; an adult woman, wearing pumps with low heels, and a shirt and jacket suit—buttoned up to the neck as well. A child of not yet three in a stroller–long pants and long sleeved shirt.

    Apparently, they wanna talk religion. Me, I’m busy and in a hurry.

    They, “but don’t you want to go to heaven?”

    Me, “I don’t wanna talk about it!”

    They, “but Heaven!!!”

    Me, “will be there whether I go to it or not–ciao!”

    *closing door*

    I wonder if any one ever reads the “no soliciting” signs all over the neighborhood…

    Like

  3. PMP says:

    The other day, a man knocked on my door carrying an armful of Jesus pamphlets. I listened patiently as he rambled off his introduction, then replied “Yeah, no thanks, I’m an atheist”. (I’m not). His plastic grin did not move a millimeter as he stumbled away speechless. I’m gonna have to recycle that response.

    Like

  4. WendyP. says:

    My daughters just got invited to a Primary activity:

    “911 Preparedness”
    (Obedience to the Prophets)

    Er…I’m all for teaching emergency preparedness, but obedience to the prophets? Not so much. LOL

    Like

  5. Janie says:

    My non-Mormon 8 year old daughter was invited to a Mormon friend’s party. Apparently the “friend” and all her other Mormom friends sat around chastizing my daughter for not believing what they believed.

    My daughter wants nothing more to do with her “friend.” The mother of this brat couldn’t figure out what I was outraged that my kid was invited to a party and teased and I somehow found that offensive.

    Like

  6. Kris says:

    I think sometimes members of the LDS church are between a rock and a hard place…of course there are people who don’t want to be invited to things but all too often I am cornered by some parent/adult who hasn’t been active in 20 years or are in a part member family who has asked for no contact or someone who never comes to church so how am I supposed to know they had primary/young women/woung men aged kids or whatever and they demand to know “WHY MY (insert daughter, son, niece ,nephew etc.) WASN’T INVITED AND LEFT TO FEEL ALL LEFT OUT AND NOW THEY FEEL HORRIBLE ABOUT THEMSELVES blahblahblah.” Good LORD! I thought they DIDN’T want any freaking contact (or whatever their circumstances are)?! Want someone to blame about the inviting of your family members…blame those people! THEY are the ones who make ME have to waste MY time showing up on your doorstep to invite your child to an activity that I KNOW you are going to yell at me about inviting her to but my Bishop asked me to come and invite because of the poilcy of ALL INCLUSIVENESS. Sheesh! LOL.
    K.

    Like

  7. Todd says:

    Kris,

    You make a very good point. In the final analysis, I think one should error on the side of inclusiveness.

    If I recall Natalie’s story correctly, the adult who came over to invite her daughter to a primary activity didn’t follow reasonable etiquette, like introducing herself to the Natalie and letting her know why she was there on her doorstep. Rather, she by-passed Natalie and went directly to the child. A little common sense could have prevented that social faux pas.

    We should all learn the lesson that etiquette and manners are important.

    Best Regards,
    Todd

    Like

  8. Kirk says:

    I actually agree with Todd, in that etiquette and manners are important. And this begins and ends with parents. Simple contact with the parents, requesting their approval before any contact is made with children would be considered good manners.

    I believe that instead of erring on the side of inclusiveness, one must always choose common sense and respect. This should involve only contact with parents or responsible adults. Children should never be directly contacted by religious groups for church related functions – unless prior direct approval is given by the parents.

    In my case, a major problem with this enters because of the relative short duration of LDS church callings. Inevitably, as soon as I get a set of primary, relief society or Elder’s Quorum leaders properly trained, a new set of leaders begin on a new quest to somehow “love” my family back into activity.

    Although I understand and was once very much a part of this “fellowshipping” effort – – as a concerned, responsible parent, I would ask members of all religious groups to respect my wishes in respect to religious activities that might involve my children.

    Kirk

    Like

  9. Stephanie says:

    I had a few church ladies (not LDS, I believe they were from a local Baptist church) come to my house once and invite me to church. As I worked Sundays at the time, I just said it wasn’t possible. They then offered to send the church bus by on Sunday mornings to pick up my then-four year old son so he could attend. My jaw must’ve hit the floor. I understand their intentions are good, but in what universe is it okay to offer that to someone you just met?!? Surely these women understand that there are social rules to follow…?

    What is it about religions in general that make members just throw these social rules out the window? There’s no way I would hand my child off to people I don’t know, simply because they go to church. The very concept is laughable!

    Like

  10. Natalie says:

    Wow, Todd, you were listening. And that was EXACTLY my point. She didn’t even bother to tell me who she was. No introduction. NOTHING. I realize a lot of it has to do with the “Utah culture.” I know that. But it doesn’t make it right.

    Like

  11. Todd says:

    Of course I was listening, Natalie. What d’you expect?

    My guess is that these sorts of faux pas are based on invalid assumptions or preconceptions that are made by a cultural insider. Since you weren’t an insider, the preconceptions were invalid and a terribly disconnect resulted.

    I’m not a social scientist, but I suspect this is a human condition and not some evil brought on by a particular church, or even religion in general. Or, is even peculiar to Utah’s culture.

    I hope everyone sees the humor in your story. I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall.

    Moral of the story: THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU’RE DOING!

    Ur Frend,
    Todd

    Like

  12. Pingback: Are public records pertaining to Bankruptcy laws permanent?

Leave a Reply

