Sadly, there will be no RubySue and Fluffy update…

I was all ready to interrupt all this serious discussion with one of my RubySue and Fluffy posts, just for Wendy, but then some old friends of my sister’s husband came into town, and decided that TONIGHT was the only night they had to visit with my sister’s husband (and of course my sister, because that is how it works) so… SO MUCH FOR DATE night. Uh, perhaps I should clarify here. this was NOT my date night with them. They are strictly monogamous Mormons, at least here on earth. In fact, if my sister had her way, it would ALWAYS be that way, except for the fact that my sister’s husband has been married before, in the Mormon temple, and since that wife is dead, I guess my sister is stuck with her in the big C kingdom.

Needless to say, that’s a topic of discussion we don’t broach much. I’m not fond of gnashing of teeth and wailing. Anyway, the date night was for THEM. I was just the designated RubySue Sitter.

And here I was looking forward to some new material.

Instead, I spent the time designing a Web site, which was time well spent, but not nearly as entertaining as RubySue.

Sorry to disappoint. Back to the “ardent” discussion, I guess.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sadly, there will be no RubySue and Fluffy update…

  1. WendyP. says:

    Haha…foiled again.

    I actually like “ardent” discussions. I think I was just really grumpy the other day. :X The passing of Prop 8 did me in.

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    Me, too. I was very disheartened and pretty damn mad at the Mormon Church and all the arrogant pompous assholes who like to pass themselves off as Christian, and don’t seem to realize they only come off as smugly superior pompous assholes….
    Hmm, a small rant….

    The thing is, I remember how they taught us that this made the world RESPECT us. WRONGO. It makes the world think you are a smug and pompous asshole. What I wonder is why some of us figured that out, and the rest still seem deluded?

    Like

  3. SamD says:

    Just foound the blog. I’m ex-fundamentalist not ex mormon but I grew up in Moab, Utah in the 60s and 70s. The church’s involvement in Prop 8 brought up lots of memories of open polygamy in Moab while we were there.

    During the entire decade I was in and around Moab I never saw a black person living in the town. I wish more people knew the real face behind the mask.

    Like

Leave a Reply

