Icons of Dance…

We went to a dance convention this past weekend, in UTAH COUNTY, the heart of Utah. Really it is. Just ask commenter Camille who feels I should appreciate the virtues of Utah County much more than I do.

That’s okay. You can love you some Utah County all you want. I reserve the right to be consistently creeped out by the Stepford-ness of it all.

But we just stayed in the hotel down there, so it wasn’t too bad. And we got to meet Mandy Moore, who was teaching, along with the incredible Rino Nakasone.

It’s fun to see the excitement on the faces of these girls. My friend was down there with her daughter, and it was their first “big dance convention” experience. And when I told her daughter that Matt from SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE had been dancing in the Senior Ballroom the night before, her eyes got HUGE. She was so excited. It’s fun to see that.

And now YOU can see where I got my ideas for the Jenny T. Partridge series, because there are many stories behind the scenes of the world of dance.

But I gave copies of my books to both Rino and Mandy, and they were SO nice and cute about. Rino said, “I’ve never met an author!” like I was some kind of celebrity. Ha!

mandym.JPG

mandym2.JPG

The above are pictures of Mandy Moore teaching. I’m not sure why her eyes are all white and anti-demonic (red is demonic, right?) in the second picture, but it still shows her passion for dance.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Icons of Dance…

  1. angie says:

    You are just tu-tu busy! 😉 Hugs

    Like

  2. Cele says:

    I wish I had the body, energy, and um… talent to take a class from Mandy Moore. Tell Dancing Daughter I am very envious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

