Four Wheel Drive does not mean you can now walk on water

I love men. Really, I do.

Give a man a roll of duct tape and he can do heart surgery. Just ask him.

Or, there are those men that go further than Duct-Tape-Surgery and use technology to answer all the world’s complaints.

Consider, for example, THIS GUY.

Frustrated by the snarled traffic heading into Davis County, he called up Google Earth on his cellphone, found what he thought was an alternate path around the mess, and took off.

Now, THIS GUY drives a Jeep Liberty, like me. He also has a cell phone that can access the Internet, and Google Earth, like me. (I adore my BlackBerry and am not giving it up for ANYTHING. Don’t ask.) There, the similarities stop.

Herein lies the difference between men and women. Or at least between me and THIS GUY. When confronted with the snarled traffic heading into Davis County I simply slapped on my iPod earphones, listened to music, and watched the show all around me. I did NOT access Google Earth, find a FREAKING ATV TRAIL and try to get home that way. Nowhere in the FOUR WHEEL DRIVE manual does it say, “You can walk on water. Make sure you have engaged the FWD first, though.”

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Four Wheel Drive does not mean you can now walk on water

  1. Renee says:

    ROFLMAO.

    Utah drivers.

    Sheesh.

    (Not you Natalie, I’m sure you drive beautifully. But you know what I mean).

    Like

  2. K*tty says:

    Talk about instant justice. I am a driver who can sympathize with road rage.
    I get more annoyed than I should about drivers whose destinations and time crunches seem to be more important than the rest of us. I usually imagine that I am a witch, and pop all four tires of the offending car, but this story will do.

    Like

  3. Cele says:

    Oh I love it. The standing line in my family is that Ducky (my husband) gets road rage the moment he puts the key in the car door. He’s not quite that bad… er most of the time, but it happens. On our honeymoon we agreed he should drive highway and I should drive city. Per manly normalicy (isn’t that an oxymoron?) he reneged on the next road trip…I’ve been suffering ever since.

    Like

  4. Kate says:

    LOL…The poor guy! He should have let me drive! I have 3 jeeps, (wrangler, liberty, and grand cherokee) and my oldest daughter is always telling me…..”Mom, the four letters in jeep DO NOT spell TANK!”

    Like

  5. This is such an interesting thoughtful post. Do you have anymore like this?

    Like

Leave a Reply

