That girl has opinions!

I love the Internet, yes I do. You can connect with all KINDS of people, even people who might not WANT to connect with you. Or at least they might not realize they don’t want to connect with you until, say, THEY COME TO YOUR BLOG and discover you are one MOTHER OF AN EX-MORMON.

That recently happened to me with an old high school classmate. Right about now he has decided I am Beelzebub, even though he admitted he had a crush on me in high school. Hey, I was a leeeeeeetle different then. At least on the outside.

And do I take offense at this? Nope. What’s the point? He has his opinions, and he’s entitled to them, and he has very vocally voiced them, and I have opinions, too. WHAT? Yup, that’s me. The girl with the opinions. Of course, growing up, a Mormon girl was welcome to have opinions, just as long as she checked with her priesthood leader FIRST to make sure her opinions were the correct ones. And don’t tell me this is not true because you ALL know it is.

Mormonism is ALL about patriarchy and priesthood, and manhood, and some other hoods, I’m sure. Hoodwinked and head-covered-with-a-hood immediately come to mind. But that’s the way it is, and it didn’t set well with me.

If I was going to get to heaven, by God, it would be because I was worthy, not because some guy remembered my secret temple name, the same name everybody ELSE got in the temple that day. I see a whole MASS of confusion on judgment day, yesirree. Or A whole lot of happy men. Don’t like the Deborah who came through the veil when you called her name? Throw her back and holler out for a new one! One who is less likely to question your priesthood authority and who is a better cook.

(FYI, I just used that named, Deborah, as an example. I know a lot of people who went through the temple and got that name. No offense intended to any temple Deborahs who might be reading this. It was random. I promise.)

So, anyway, I understand why this old high school classmate is just SO SO SCANDALIZED. I’d like to tell him a few stories about some of other classmates, but that wouldn’t be nice, and I don’t out other people or share their scandalous secrets, unless they are really stupid and already did it themselves.

But Bubble World makes some people happy, and that’s where they choose to live.

I suppose I should be upset that I have made this old classmate so angry. But I’m not. I mean, I was just honest. Why can’t I be honest? Is honest a bad thing in Bubble World?

Maybe.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to That girl has opinions!

  1. Moon says:

    Female! Honest! With Opinions! Yep you are the debil incarnate! At least according to Mormonism. Keep it up! We love you for who you are, not what you can be to some holier-than-thou priesthood holder. (And yes, I did use too many exclamation points.)

    Like

  2. K*tty says:

    Way to go Natalie. You are still a nice girl, just not stuuuuuupid!

    Like

  3. nerdycellist says:

    “Of course, growing up, a Mormon girl was welcome to have opinions, just as long as she checked with her priesthood leader FIRST to make sure her opinions were the correct ones.”

    Ha! Thanks for the trip down memory lane! I was a particularly sensitive Mormon teen, and also a vegetarian. I remeber being on some youth outing when someone (don’t remember if it was a boy or girl) started telling me that being a vegetarian was antithetical to being mormon. Well, “antithetical” wasn’t the word being used, but s/he was trying to think of a nice way to call me a heretic. Now I wasn’t a preachy vegetarian, but I defended myself against the accusation by stating that the WoW said that meat should be eaten sparingly. All of a sudden a fine adult Priesthood holder put his hand on my shoulder and condescendingly told me that I should leave the theology to those in the Priesthood who could best interpret the word of god.

    Being a nice mormon girl, I backed off. After all, this was a man in authority! But it really irked me, and continues to irk my current bacon-loving carnivorous self; While priests, reverend and rabbis in other faiths have studied their holy books for years, all a mormon needs to do to be a theologian is have a penis.

    Like

  4. Cele says:

    Oh mi gosh, this whole thing is too funny. Despite being born a Deborah, I refuse to answer to the name. So many men will be thankful I won’t be answering the call later on.

    Theologian = Penis, Nerdy you made my day.

    Like

  5. Tania says:

    But Natalie,
    You know the old saying. The reason that the men have the priesthood is because women have the power of motherhood. They can have babies. That is thier apologist attitude. Sure sad for those of us women unable to have babies. So glad I left that fairy tale land.

    Like

  6. Natalie… I’m sorry if I startled you by posting yesterday. I’ve been catching up on your blog for weeks, just fascinated by your perspective on mormon culture and life in general. I feel like I’ve been getting reacquainted with YOU for some time. I supposed that’s an unintended consequence of being a paperback writing celebrity.

    But, now what am I supposed to do? I post one teenie-weenie comment on your last posting, and now I feel an overwhelming obligation to defend myself.

    Okay, for what it’s worth, here goes…

    1) I’m not old, unless you’re old, and then we’re both old. I still say I’m not old!

    2) The thought of you being Beelzebub never occurred to me. I hate the devil. I feel a certain kinship with you; probably because of fond (at least for me) common high school experiences.

    3) About that crush… it was fleeting. Besides, I’m sure we’re not compatible. But, can we still be friends?

    4) So So Scandalized? Angry? Where’d that come from? Must be my writing style. I’ve got to work on that.

    Whew… I feel much better!

    Oh, and for the record, not that it REALLY matters now, YOU were the one who found me. There I was, in my bubble, hanging with my teen-aged kids and their friends, feeling pretty smug about my tech savvy, thinking life is good — dang good; when BLAM here comes this friend request from you on Facebook. Okay, it wasn’t really a BLAM. It was more of a “ding”, but you get the point.

    I just stumbled onto your MOTHER OF AN EX-MORMON blog while trying to figure out who you were and how you knew me. Then, my inner conspiracy-theorist started thinking that it was your INTENTION for me to stumble into your anti-mormon rhetoric, much like a black widow spider sets a web to catch unsuspecting pests so that she can inject her poison. But then I figured, naw… it’s just Natalie releasing herself creatively the best she knows how. I’m not a big believer in conspiracy theories.

    Love,
    Todd

    Like

  7. azteclady says:

    Nerdy, I have suddenly developed a totally platonic girl crush on you.

    Todd, you gotta work on something aside your writing tone.

    Wanna know what?

    You gotta work on leaving off the words “antimormon rethoric” when discussing Natalie’s posts. Because her posting about her life and her opinions in her blog ain’t no more antiwhatever than your posting about your own point of views at your own place is anti-anyonewhoain’tmormon.

    Savvy?

    Like

  8. Elaine says:

    Interesting, Natalie, that where you were, girls got to have opinions as long as they passed priesthood muster.

    My experience was not so good, I’m afraid. I’ve been told more than once, and not just by Mormons, that females have no business having opinions, especially if those opinions are about politics. Fortunately, I was raised to know better than that.

    Oh, and then there was the Mormon that time who informed me that I shouldn’t be taking college classes because I was taking up space that could have gone to a man. Of course, I suspect that he would have been an idiot even if he hadn’t been Mormon.

    Like

  9. WendyP says:

    This year is my 20 year high school reunion and I’m actually surprised how many people are still LDS. I was happy to be LDS, until the age of 20, when I started thinking for myself. This sounds condescending and maybe it is, but hasn’t anyone else been thinking for themselves? I keep wondering why so many people I knew growing up ARE STILL MORMON. Boggles the mind.

    Like

  10. greenkat says:

    I looooooove your writing! Natalie, if you wrote the phone book I would read it because you are honest in the face of the culture of lies in bubble world. Yes, honest IS a bad thing in Bubble World. If we are honest about the cult, we are evil and cannot be trusted. If we are in the cult, we must lie to keep our family relationships, so we lie about lying.

    Like

  11. Kris says:

    Wow what a turn the comments have taken in the last few posts!

    I would like to add that I have never felt that I couldn’t have opinions (being a woman and a mormon). Ever. I wasn’t raised LDS but I was raised to know that I could have whatever opinion or say what ever I wanted because everyone has that right and if anyone tells me different to tell them to shove it up their…well you know. Belong to a religious organization or don’t but have a brain and don’t let people tell you what (or what not) to think or believe. I thought everyone thought that way. Perhaps it’s just me. Feel free to have a go at my comment, whatever. *wink*

    K.

    Like

  12. Renee says:

    I think everyone’s got their issues. Kris has a point. I have a very good (now) LDS classmate who was the love of my high school life. He tries to speak to me now and then via e-mail but he gets shot down at ever talking to me. This, I honestly believe, has nothing to do with me not being LDS, it has to do with me being the high school girlfriend.

    That said, the fact his dad, the bishop would not speak to me when we dated was all about that crap. LDS, racist, whatever religion or belief. I agree too, that it is not simply limited to the LDS church.

    But when you live in Utah, that’s what hits you over the head. So that’s what you know.

    Like

  13. tex841 says:

    nerdy, you rock. Loved it. Will repeat it….constantly.

    Like

  14. Natalie says:

    Todd,

    1. Are we old? I don’t know. Some days I feel it. Some days I don’t. Some days i feel like I’ve EARNED IT, and by God, if I don’t admit my age, people will think I’m younger and just LOOK older. How’s that for confusing?

    2. Are you sure you weren’t the TEENIEST bit convinced I was Beelzebub? The AntiChrist? Come on, admit it, it entered your mind.

    3. Yeah, I know. Fleeting. High school is like that.

    4. Actually, I’m not angry. I thought it was kind of funny. Thus, I blogged it. But I know a lot of people don’t get my sense of humor. Especially Mormon people.

    And I fully admit I saw “Mormontown High Graduates” on Facebook and thought, “Hey, I know him!” (I have censored what I originally wrote here, just to omit specifics about where I live.)

    So, yeah, if you could just put aside the “anti-Mormon” poison comments we might have some fun reminiscing. Truth is, I’m not anti-Mormon. I think it’s silly, and all that, but I’m not anti. Some of my best friends are Mormon.

    And truly, you are living in a different world now. Utah Mormons are, as they always say, quite different from “other” Mormons. Just the way it is. Anytime you have too many of ANY group ANYWHERE it happens.

    Like

  15. Natalie says:

    I just realized I ADMITTED where I went to High School. Stalkers, please ignore that part. PLEASE. I think I will omit it from the comments. You’ll understand, right Trappees? I know I don’t censor, but there was that whole crazy incident with the schizophrenic kidnapper…..

    Like

  16. Natalie says:

    And Kris, might I say, GLAD to see you back and commenting! How is the baby? Probably not very baby anymore.

    Like

  17. Kris says:

    Aw Natalie, THANKS! The babe is doing great…we had some hard times for a while there but everything is on the upswing now. I am glad to be back. Hope things are good on your end!

    K.

    Like

  18. Natalie says:

    Similar. Some hard times, but things are on the upswing now. I like that this blog has a solid voice of the “other side.” A rational, reasonable voice. So I miss you when you disappear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

