It's Sunday…..

Guess what happened TODAY? Stormy the Wonder Dog thinks the home teachers that come to visit the parental units are here for him. Remember, EVERYONE that comes to the door is here for him. He is convinced of it. It has not yet ever been for him, but I admire his optimism. I should borrow some of it sometime. So, we had to fight to keep him downstairs, as he cried, whined, and pawed at the door, trying to get upstairs and get him some BOOK OF MORMON learning. He probably thinks we are trying to keep him from his proper status as a Celestial Dog. I’m sorry, Stormy. You were adopted by an APOSTATE family.

A little later, the folks were sitting out on the front porch, enjoying the weather and waving to all the other Mormons driving and walking by, most of whom were out and about doing their church duties, like home and visiting teaching. Pretty soon, Grandma Collins stuck her head in the door and yelled for Chatter Child. It was the MUTUAL leader, or whatever the heck she is. Coming by to see if CC was interested in going to Girls Camp. Chatter Child is not. She shares my love of camping. If you have a nice trailer to go to, after you are out in the dirt and muck all day, and you can shower all that dirt and muck off, camping is good. If you don’t have to get up at night and pee on a bush, praying no snake is going to jump out and bite your butt, then we are IN. Camp away. Otherwise, count me out.

So, if say the Mutual Leader showed up and invited her to the Girls Five-Star Hotel Pedi and Mani Weekend, I’m sure she would have been saying yes. Girls Camp? I think not.

But they keep on coming.

Sundays are fun.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It's Sunday…..

  1. Renee says:

    Natalie, technical question. Firstborn son (who went to school here for 9th grade but not 10th this year was asked to “Youth Conference” this summer when he was here last weekend by our neighbor’s daughter, his good friend (and I like her and her family much).

    Thinking this requires being away from home (which I will not permit, since we only have him for the summer unless he comes back for school, and I’m not trading my time with just about anyone). Plus we’re not LDS, have a different confirmed religion and that doesn’t mean he shouldn’t be exposed to something different but I just don’t know what to expect.

    What does this mean? What should I say? He thinks it means overnight away and then probably doesn’t want to go in that case, though he wouldn’t mind hanging with his friends if it’s a day thing (and I think it would be enlightening for him, unless you say to run for the hills).

    Many thanks for continuing to educate me. I really like a lot of my neighbors…and seeing this post made me think to ask you though it relates but peripherally to your post.

    Me and Stormy think everyone’s here for us.

    Thanks!

    Like

  2. K*tty says:

    Natalie, I remember when my youngest daughter got talked into going to girl’s camp. I was in Mormon denial then and had even spent time at girl’s camp as a counselor. I tried to tell her how the camp was; make shift showers, camp toilets up the hill that stank to high heavens after a day, sleeping on the ground in your sleeping bag, dirt out your nostrils when you blew your nose. She seemed undaunted. I said you could only bring what you could carry in and it is quite a hike. They frown on junk food, but if you were smart, you would hide some in your stuff anyway. Somewhere I think I took some delight that she would actually go. I remember my first time and I tried to contrast it to when my son went to boy scout camp. When he was telling of his camping experience, all I could say was, You got to have hot showers? You got to sit at a table? You did not prepare the food? You put your sleeping bag on a bed? You stayed in a cabin? You had flushing toilets? What gives here? You can bet I complained big time. Why was the girl’s camp so inferior to the boys? To make a long story short, my daughter came home from camp the very next day. I could not stop laughing.

    Like

  3. WendyP says:

    We had a Suit stop by our house yesterday as well. It was obvious we were home (garage open, cars inside, noise from house) but we didn’t get the door. If I had opened the door, I’d probably of said something about not wanting to get back on THAT hamster wheel ever again. Sundays are my favorite day of the week, since leaving the church. I hated Sundays as a member.

    Like

  4. kd says:

    You seem interested in matters related to the animal Celestial Kingdom …

    Anyway, My dog Coco recently told me something quite profound. She told me: “dog heaven and cat hell are the same place.”

    I haven’t figured out all of the ramifications of this revelation, but I think she might be right.

    Like

  5. Elaine says:

    I love Sundays and take the thing about it being a day of rest very, very seriously (unlike the Mormons, who do way, way too much on that day, very little of which seems to me to be restful). Most Sundays I spend most of the day lounging and doing the things I enjoy…reading, knitting, watching a good movie.

    This Sunday, however, I went out for an early shopping trip (before it got too hot), which included a special trip to Barnes & Noble to see if I could find a copy of “Pointe & Shoot”. Not only did I find it, it was on their special “new in mysteries” shelf where I could find it without trouble. Nice of them, wasn’t it?

    So, Natalie, I’m over half-way through the book (I’m not so much a slow reader as I haven’t had that much time to read lately), and I have to say that you’ve outdone yourself. Wonderful book. 🙂

    Like

  6. Natalie says:

    Wow, Elaine. Thanks for the kind words. I REALLY Needed to hear that today. 🙂

    Like

  7. Tracy says:

    I’m sorry Natalie, but Stormy the Wonder Dog cannot be a Celestial Dog, that position has been filled by Ole’ Joe Smith…OUCH! That was harsh, I know, but Stormy needs to know the cold, hard truth. he’ll thank me later. : )

    Like

  8. Renee says:

    Oh well, I guess I will never know the answer to my question…someone needs to start a website for transplants to Utah to translate MoSpeak. Two years in and I’m still having a hard time.

    Like

  9. K*tty says:

    Renee, It is most likely that the Youth Conference might include at least one or two over nights. From my experience these are intense spiritual, yet fun retreats. I would say if he doesn’t want to go because it is over night, consider yourself lucky, because he has decided, and you get to stay out of it. That would be some heavy indoctrination if it is in fact on the weekend. He would most likely have to endure testimony meeting, and that is a subject all together. Trust me when I say, your neighbor’s daughter is not going to give up on him and if he doesn’t go to the conference, she has other plans up her sleeve:)

    Like

  10. K*tty says:

    P.S. Renee, have your son ask your neighbor if she will go with him to his church.
    From my experience, this usually does not go over well. When my daughter would have her friend come to church and then the following week she would go to her friend’s church, I always got the stare of disbelief when I had to account for why my daughter was not there. ( just one of my many fond memories)

    Like

  11. Renee says:

    K*tty, thanks for the info – the good news is that his friend’s mom knows we’re pretty devoted to our own beliefs, so I think that she would help me out with backing off if it gets to that – plus my son knows enough about LDS theology that he just rolls his eyes when it comes up. I think that these kids are just so used to having all their friends in the same ward that she thinks it would be cool for him to come, too. He can whatever he wants when he’s 18, but until then…my house, my rules.

    Good idea on her coming with us to our church. If he ends up attending anything this summer, that will be my requirement, that he invite her to ours (of course, she doesn’t have to go…but…).

    Like

  12. Stephen says:

    Who has the authority to baptise a dog so it can go too the Celestial Doggie world? Can I get someone baptized for my pooch that passed away after 14 exciting years? When you baptize for a dead dog, do you baptize another dog, or a human?

    Like

  13. We had a Suit stop by our house yesterday as well. It was obvious we were home (garage open, cars inside, noise from house) but we didn’t get the door. If I had opened the door, I’d probably of said something about not wanting to get back on THAT hamster wheel ever again. Sundays are my favorite day of the week, since leaving the church. I hated Sundays as a member.

    Like

Leave a Reply

