It's Sunday… What fun thing will happen TODAY?

I like Sundays, because they are usually good for a plethora of happenings to blog about, but this one has been a real dud.

Last Sunday, the mutual leaders showed up at our door with a tacky looking fake cardboard Olympic flame dealie, and a note encouraging them to sign up for the “Eternalympics,” which we then had to “pass on” to the next girl on the list. Since Dancing Daughter NEVER goes to Mutual, or whatever the heck they are calling it these days, and Chatter Child rarely goes, unless she is bored, this is a blatant attempt at getting them to JOIN IN the indoctrination.

I was tempted to keep the tacky thing, and really throw a wrench in the works, but I was afraid the leaders would tattle on me, and I would HATE to deprive some other girl of her opportunity to join in the “Eternalympics,” because as the good old FLDS Debacle has shown, barefoot, pregnant, and wearing ugly clothing–hanging with all your SisterWives, each sporting the polygamist poof hairdo–is such a great IDEAL.

Anyway, we didn’t keep the torch.

And today has been torchless. All in all, the doorbell has not rang ONCE, not even for Stormy the Wonder Dog (of course, he thinks that EVERY TIME it rings it’s for him).

So far today, nothing. Maybe I’ll go door to door introducing myself as a representative of Hare Krishna, just to stir things up. Nah.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It's Sunday… What fun thing will happen TODAY?

  1. Kitty says:

    I forgot today was the fast offering Sunday. They come, they knock and I ignore. I use to feel guilty about not giving an offering because after all it is for “the poor.” But I have come to realize that if it was that important to the church, they would give more to help others than they do. They have a heck of a lot more money than I do to make a difference. I love my Sundays so much more than I use to.

    Like

  2. Elaine says:

    Nah. That’s too much effort for a Sunday.

    I take the whole “day of rest” thing very seriously (unlike the Mormons, who don’t seem to ever rest on Sunday). I sleep late (late being 9 am or so, since I have to get up by 7 am during the week). I take a nap. I play on the internet. I read. I usually don’t cook much…meals are either cold or are taken in a restaurant.

    Oh, and since I live right across the street from the local university’s LDS Institute, where the student ward meets, I often sit here at my desk, usually still in my nightgown, and watch out the window as all those poor, dressed-up Mormon kids show up for their three-hour block starting at 11 a.m. No doubt I’m much more comfortable than they are. 🙂

    Like

  3. Cele says:

    Well at least you passed the torch. Now go sell a book, or five hundred. 🙂

    Like

  4. Renee says:

    I think I finally got the neighbors middle-age school son, who repeatedly knocked on the door for a fast offering, to leave us the bloody hell alone. I felt for him, but he KNOWS we’re not LDS (pretty darned sure) and he wouldn’t quit knocking. So, the last time he knocked, I pointedly stated we weren’t LDS (for at least the fourth time in several months, but not as nicely as I have in the past). It’s pretty quiet now on that front, and the people at my son’s Pack meeting at the Ward still speak to us, so I don’t think I was condemned for it.

    For heaven’s sake, I don’t knock on your door and invite you to give to my church, or go to my church (though if you wanted to do either I’d be happy to help you out). Please return the favor. Reesh.

    Like

  5. Renee says:

    I should say middle-school age son. Heavens.

    Like

Leave a Reply

