I woke up this morning and what did I see???

Nope. NOT Popcorn popping on the Apricot tree. F*%$#ng snow…. Gotta love spring in Utah.

For those of you not raised in the LDS Church, you may not recognize this reference. We grew up singing this song, which, it turns out, was written by the mother of a man I worked with for years. I remember him telling me his mother wrote the venerable tune, and I was damned impressed. Even in my youthful apostacy.

The song goes like this:

I looked out the window and what did I see?
Popcorn popping on the apricot tree!
Spring has brought me such a nice surprise
Blossoms popping right before my eyes
I could take an armful and make a treat
A popcorn ball that would be so sweet
It wasn’t really so, but it seemed to be
Popcorn popping on the apricot tree!

You can listen to it here on Rhapsody! You know you want to…..

Stupid snow.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I woke up this morning and what did I see???

  1. Renee says:

    Noooo…I don’t want to listen to it. Any more than I wanted that damn snow to be falling this morning on my lawn.

    Will this stinkin’ winter ever end?

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    The answer is… NO. Hee hee.

    Like

  3. Cele says:

    Even we are getting the snow in Oregon.

    Like

  4. Theorris says:

    Oh come on, Natalie: it was beautiful and you know it. Snow in March is truly a gift of beauty–you know it is not going to stick, so you get to watch the big lovely flakes fall and settle the world into peace.

    Like

  5. Natalie says:

    Snow is only beautiful in November and December. There’s a law somewhere that says that….

    Like

  6. I still sing that song in the spring to my kids. I think it’s a loverly celebration of nature. And there’s no mention of Jeebus in it.

    Like

  7. Renee says:

    I agree with Natalie. There must be a law. Somewhere.

    I like some songs with Jeebus in them but Primary songs give me the willies. Probably because the one time I went with a friend my mom yelled at me.

    Like

  8. Caryn says:

    That really stinks. My brother lives not too far from you, and I didn’t dare ask him about the weather when I talked to him this morning; I knew I wouldn’t get a very pleasant response.

    Like

Leave a Reply

