I wanna be a cowboy….and you can be my cowgirl….

In my never-ending quest to reinvent myself (i.e., find a daytime job with benefits that I don’t despise), I ran across THIS listing. I am SOOOO intrigued.

Horse Wrangler

QUALIFICATIONS REQUIRED:

OPM Job Qualifications System for Trades and Labor Occupations will
be used in determining applicants’ qualifications. There is no
specific length of training or experience required; however, you
must be able to demonstrate through experience shown in your written
resume materials and the on-line questionnaire that you have the
ability to do the work of the position without more than normal
supervision.

EDUCATION:
There is no subsitution of education for experience in this position.

REQUIREMENTS: Specific length of training and experience is not
required, but applicants must show evidence of experience of
sufficient scope and quality and ability to do the work of the
position.

I wrangle unhappy Mormons nearly every day. Will that count for experience? Just curious.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I wanna be a cowboy….and you can be my cowgirl….

  1. Renee says:

    Yeah, I think it counts. But if I can get to it first and get away from all the Mormons I wrangle, I’m taking it. I call dibs!

    Like

  2. azteclady says:

    I’m confused… why on earth not say, “if you haven’t done it before, don’t bother applying”?

    *grumble*

    Never mind me, I’m old and cranky

    *grumble*

    Like

  3. Elaine says:

    I’ve wrangled rats before.

    Seriously. We had rats for several years in The Nutcracker. I was props handler. They were considered props.

    Poor rats. They were always so sweet at the beginning of the production (usually five performances over three days). By the end, the were usually psychotic. I think it was the Party Kids, who would just not leave them alone.

    I used to name them. One year they were Scully and Mulder. Another they were Lucy and Ricky. Yet another they were George and Gracie. No matter what their actual gender, there was a female name and a male name. Could have traumatized them.

    At least I never named any of them Sue. 😛

    And, yes, it’s been a long day. 🙂

    Like

  4. Cele says:

    I’ve got the spurs and with your ATV ability … or lack there of… you’re a shuuuue-in

    Like

  5. Janet says:

    aztec lady – that would be because it is an OPM posting = office of personnel management = federal government….and anyone who lives in the dc area as I do knows that means a lot of blah blah blah just to say – hey if you have any experience that you can convince us relates to this job, go ahead give it a a try. But good luck with that!
    It is intruguing though -why does the federal government need a horse wrangler anyway?

    Like

Leave a Reply

