Hide the valuables

We are snuggled on the bed, Stormy the Wonderdog and I, me working on the laptop, he curled close to my legs. Sound asleep. SNORING, even. And the doorbell rings. And he IMMEDIATELY jumps up to attention and runs to the door, pawing to get out of the bedroom so he can get to the front door AND ANSWER IT DAMMIT.

As of yet, the front door has never been for him, so I am perplexed as to his incredible desire to ANSWER THE DOOR. He is worse than a teenage girl waiting for that special boy to call. The teenage girl might have a chance. Stormy? I really don’t think that anytime soon I’ll be answering the door to a cadre of dog friends who want him to come out and play “Sniff my butt.”

He has also turned into a FEROCIOUS protector of all things Collins. The house. The children. The dog treats. Aha, I think I sense a trend. If Stormy could talk, he would say, THEY ARE AFTER THE TREATS. THE DOG TREATS. HIDE THE TREATS. He doesn’t run to the door expecting that poodle from across the road to be there. No. He thinks that EVERYONE who comes to the door is after the DOG TREATS.

That’s all I can figure.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hide the valuables

  1. Renee says:

    Dog Treats are very important. Stormy KNOWS.

    Like

  2. Cele says:

    That, or he’s looking for the gum.

    Like

  3. Caryn says:

    Hilarious! I can totally picture him doing that. Our cats all behave differently. Echo, who is old, remains his poised and dignified self, barely blinking at whoever comes through the door. Rosemary the flirt flings herself on the floor in front of the door, then scoots across the floor on her back, meowing coquettishly and purring whenever the object of her come-hither tactics glances in her direction. And The Basil growls low in his throat and makes for a good hiding place. Ah, pets are wonderful, aren’t they?

    Like

  4. Erin says:

    Play sniff my butt…LMAO!!! I always said dogs sniffing everything while on a walk was like us checking our e-mail…they just wanted to see who had left them a message!

    Like

  5. Dogs are our secret masters, never forget that. Just wanted to drop a comment here. I have been reading for quite a while and appreciate the insiders view on things that you bring to the Nonmormons out here.

    tv

    Like

  6. Cele says:

    You have been tagged to play…

    Life in six words or less…

    Here’s how this one works:
    1. Write your own six-word memoir.
    2. Post it on your blog and include a visual illustration if you’d like.
    3. Link to the person that tagged you in your post and to this original post if possible so we can track it as it travels across the blogosphere.
    4. Tag five more blogs with links.
    5. And don’t forget to leave a comment on the tagged blogs with an invitation to play. (This last step is optional.)

    Like

  7. Natalie says:

    Renee, you are so right. He’s turned into a CIRCUS animal for these treats!

    CELE, ROFL about the gum. Kinda. Man, that dog likes sweets….

    Caryn, your cats sound great! Pets definitely make our lives brighter.

    Erin, I like the email comparison. Funny stuff.

    TV, glad you are reading–and now commenting! Stormy definitely runs our household!

    Cele, TAGGED??? WHAT? LOL. Can you give me until Sunday?

    Like

  8. Becca says:

    I love it when my dog does this because if there is someone unexpected at my door its usually someone trying to sell me something or trying to ensure my salvation and his bark scares them away. They don’t know he’d jump up for a kiss if I opened the door, so I just leave it shut and wait for them to leave.

    Like

  9. azteclady says:

    Dogs have owners, cats have staff.

    And in this house I have two of the former and THREE of the later–plus a ferret and the kidlets.

    What was I thinking? Wait… was I thinking?

    Like

  10. Stormy sounds like a dog after my own heart 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

