Miss Scarlett, I don’t know nothing about birthing no babies!

Especially black babies. Dark, ugly things.

Ah, I love life behind the Zion Curtain. So…. The question of the week here in Utah (and everywhere ELSE in the nation, thanks to one of our legislature’s finest) is:

Is Sen. Chris Buttars, from West Jordan, a racist bigot? Hmm. Interesting question. There is little doubt he is not a well-spoken man. In fact, I imagine right about now he’d do better with his mouth sewn shut and forced to use charades to get his point across… Or maybe not. Consider this:

The brouhaha started when Buttars, speaking about a bill he opposed, said: “This baby is black . . . It’s a dark, ugly thing.”

Can you say YIKES? I certainly can. Let’s face it, Buttars just probably blurted that out, not even THINKING of the racist connotations it had, because let’s face it, he’s a white man here in White Man’s Mecca, aka Utah. He probably didn’t really intend it as an insult, but usually, if one sticks one’s FOOT in one’s MOUTH, one attempts to at least remove the offensive appendage and wash away that nasty taste.

Not Buttars. He likes the taste of stinky foot. The stinkier, the better. After the whole “black baby comment,” he refused to attend a meeting with the NAACP because the media might be there. He compared his treatment to that of a “lynch mob,” and then, for the pièce de résistance (at least in my eyes), uttered one of our FAVORITE phrases here at Trapped: a form of YOU PEOPLE. Buttars said:

“Lynch mob is a Western term. You wouldn’t find one person in 10,000 in Utah that thinks that’s a racist term,” Buttars said in a phone interview this evening. “That’s not a racial term in my opinion. How do I know what words I’m supposed to use in front of those people?”

Did this guy even GO to school? How the hell did he get elected? He doesn’t even know the difference between racist and racial. The words you are supposed to USE, Chris? How about “I’m sorry.”

That would go a long way to healing this… I don’t see that happening. If he would JUST shut up, he might have a hope, but he won’t, and whether or not he meant the words offensively, his big stinky feet are smelling up the atmosphere around here.

You had a chance to make amends, Rep. Buttars, and you screwed it up. I believe the call for his resignation, at this time, is correct. Even our governor is not standing behind him.

We all say the wrong thing sometimes, and when the story first broke, I felt like Buttars was a victim of his own illiteracy and lack of education. But you can only excuse stupidity so far. He’s gone over the edge.

As Wonkette so aptly and humorously put it:

The unflappable Chris Buttars defended the racist comment that he used to defend his racist comment with yet another racist comment:

He said he spent years working with troubled teens at Utah Boys Ranch. “I’ve dealt with black kids, red kids, brown kids at the Boys Ranch more than half of my adult life, and I’ve never been accused of racial anything. I see a kid in trouble,” he said Monday.

Don’t you wish you lived here in Utah? Come on, I know you do… Oh wait, you do? My sincerest condolences…. My suggestion for bearing out the legislative session is going to bed, pulling the covers over your head and praying until the whole damn thing is over.

(By the way, you HAVE to read the comments on the Wonkette post. Freaking hilarious.)

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Miss Scarlett, I don’t know nothing about birthing no babies!

  1. David L. Black says:

    I lost my job yesterday because my superivsor head me giving my name to a customer.

    I made it all through life without a problem but now i will probably lose my home because of your politically correct complaining. Yeah, you really care about the working man.

    Thanks a lot,

    David Lynch Black
    Moab

    Like

  2. azteclady says:

    *ahem*

    Like

  3. Renee says:

    David posted the same thing on Fiddley Gomme. WTF?

    Buttar-ball is one of the prime reasons I would flee Utah screaming if I could. Except for there’s some people in Idaho like him, and frankly, I don’t think people like him should be in existence, much less in government, anywhere.

    Like

  4. “Those people?” Yikes. Oh, hey, Nat, wazzup, girl? 🙂 Long time, no talkie….

    Like

  5. sleepyinsaudi says:

    I love that you read Wonkette! I think Utah is a beautiful stat, but this guy’s as thick as a brick.

    Like

  6. Melanie Haight Black says:

    Now I’m startng to get it, ……..yeah..okay.

    The deviant sex practitioners conspired with their media allies (with a wink from local dems) to attack Buttars on any trumped up pretext in order derail the deviant sex marriage bill.

    Good one…fake up a claim of racism…after all that is the kiss of death. That would scare anyone. The deviant sex media types and their supporters start using the big lie technique developed by the german nazis.

    I t doesn’t matter that Buttars didn”t say anything improper…..because a carefully orchestrted media distortion op will keep the dumb masses in a state of congitive dissonace.

    But here is the bad part: Some of the public are not quite so stupid. They might even be making a list of the cooperative media outfits for future reference. What if they find out about our “free” (free from anticompetive regulation championed by Theodore Rossevelt) media is not so free after all?

    After all, the controlled media is going down the tubes financially just through lack of quality and intelligence by staff.

    Like

  7. Melanie Haight Black says:

    A MEDIA DIS-INFO OP. HOW CLEVER, Now I’m startng to get it, ……..yeah..okay.

    The deviant sex practitioners conspired with their media allies (with a wink from local dems) to attack Buttars on any trumped up pretext in order derail the deviant sex marriage bill.

    Good one…fake up a claim of racism…after all that is the kiss of death. That would scare anyone. The deviant sex media types and their supporters start using the big lie technique developed by the german nazis.

    I t doesn’t matter that Buttars didn”t say anything improper…..because a carefully orchestrted media distortion op will keep the dumb masses in a state of congitive dissonace.

    But here is the bad part: Some of the public are not quite so stupid. They might even be making a list of the cooperative media outfits for future reference. What if they find out about our “free” (free from anticompetive regulation championed by Theodore Rossevelt) media is not so free after all?

    After all, the controlled media is going down the tubes financially just through lack of quality and intelligence by staff.

    Like

  8. Renee says:

    Hey Melanie, learn how to spell, capitalize and use your apostrophes if you’re going to insult people.

    He’s said so many “improper” things, it is ridiculous.

    ‘Nuff said.

    Like

  9. Renee says:

    And, Melanie double posts. Bad form.

    Like

  10. Natalie says:

    Melanie HATE Black and David LYNCH Black? Oh brother. Someone is being stupid.

    Like

  11. Natalie says:

    PLEASE NOTE: “David” and “Melanie” are the same person. I am strongly considering removing BOTH comments, but I have not yet reached that decision. I mean, really, being stupid is an inalienable right, correct?

    Like

  12. Renee says:

    I don’t know…having this stupidity speak for itself by leaving it there is pretty helpful as to why we should all have nothing to do with Buttars and his ilk. Your blog though, your decision!

    Doesn’t surprise me they are the same person. Sheesh.

    Like

  13. azteclady says:

    The stupidity level leads me to believe that this entity thinks it is being ‘clever’ and ‘funny’

    Like

  14. Tracy says:

    azteclady, Molly the Mormon is cleaver and funny, the entity above is…I can’t say in public, I don’t want to lower myself to it’s level.

    Like

  15. Alexis says:

    Wow, I was already pretending I don’t live in Arizona. I thought out pols were the biggets idiots, but yours are giving them a run for their money

    Like

  16. J Griff says:

    I don’t care if it is a racist term. It’s a free country you weasel. You think blacks sit around worried about what might offend whitey, you ignorant horse’s ass?

    Like

Leave a Reply

