I'm dark, how 'bout you?

So, I’m writing this new book for St. Martin’s (that’s my dad you hear in the background, keening and wailing because YES there are Mormons in this book! Good Mormons, bad Mormons, and Mormons who need to take a bath! Not really. I made that part up.). And it’s of the dark Mormon suspense tradition that I started with WIVES AND SISTERS. You know, the one that has people so pissed off at me, because I don’t portray Utah as one big happy-slappy STEPFORD village of idiots. Oh wait. That’s my interpretation.

But my Mormons are real people, and some of them are good, and some of them are pretty fucking stupid, which makes people irritable, because once you have the gospel, your brains are supposed to be enhanced, instead of boiled like soup.

But hey, I tell it like it is. Back to my story. I am writing this book, which is dark suspense, and in the midst of it comes–are you ready for this?–the copy edits of POINTE AND SHOOT, the third book in the Jenny T. Partridge Dance Mystery Series.

Well, howdy. So I have to seesaw between Natalie R. Collins, dark, angry “axe to grind” suspense author and Natalie M. Roberts, defender of dance, dance teachers, and the right to shake your booty–as long as it’s done with great technique. (The secret? Ballet, folks. Lots of ballet.)

Any minute now I’m going to start speaking with a British accent.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I'm dark, how 'bout you?

  1. Cele says:

    And aren’t we coming up on Sundance mania too?

    Like

  2. Caryn says:

    Oh, that sounds tough! So I’m really curious…how will you balance them out? Finish one, and then the other? Rotate days? One in the morning and one in the afternoon? Or go with whichever one you’re in the mood to work on at the moment? (Can you tell i haven’t been in this situation before?)

    Like

  3. Natalie says:

    Yeah, but my part of Sundance is done. This year I’m not playing with the celebs and I have a new job so I can’t do much movie-going…. Darn it.

    Caryn, it’s not as easy as I once thought. I REALLY have to separate them. I am finishing up my four day allotment of writing on the suspense, and then picking up the manuscript. I will read until it’s done, then kick some puppies* and read the Deseret News until I am back in dark Mormon suspense mode…..

    *Please note: These are METAPHORICAL puppies. There will be no REAL puppy kicking. Stormy the Wonder Dog would object….

    Like

  4. Caryn says:

    LOL! I can see how the transition would be hard. I would enjoy the cozy mysteries, but I don’t think I’d want to live in the darker world for so long. It’s why I can read dark books, but can’t write them. I admire people who can, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

