My Crystal Ball

A while back, I correctly predicted that Mitt Romney was not really a viable candidate for President of the United States, and suggested that no one should get their panties in a bunch over the possibility of him getting elected.

Yeah, yeah, I know, the election isn’t even CLOSE to being over, but recent important caucuses in which Romney has trailed are a pretty telling sign. We aren’t counting that Wyoming one, because, well, PLEASE, it was Wyoming. I love that state, I do, but it’s WYOMING. I have been there, and I’m telling you, the eight people that live there aren’t going to make a difference in his campaign.

I’ve noticed that cowboys and Southern Baptists don’t seem to mix. Maybe it’s just me, but the cowboy way of life doesn’t jibe with the “in-your-face-loudly” tactics of evangelism. I can’t see any of them taking to Mike Huckabee, and I can understand how they would relate to a “good old boy” like Romney. That said, the places where Mitt is the most popular are NOT the most populated. He ain’t gonna win, and thus, my crystal ball prediction proved true.

In all reality, I believe he was a viable candidate who was done in by his religious beliefs. I won’t predict that there will NEVER be a Mormon president, but I DO believe he was the closest they will get for many, many years.

Now, when he gets elected, I will have to EAT my crystal ball. Can I have a side order of glass with that?

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Crystal Ball

  1. sleepyinsaudi says:

    Cowboys and Southern Babtists doesn’t mix? Boy howdy Natalie, you must have never been to Texas.
    The huge mega Babtist -healthclub-starbucks-daycare-eldercare-beautyparlor-Churhes are thick with cowboys. Huckabee is their guy, unfortunately. And it’s a BIG electoral state. Don’t wish Huckabee in so Romney will drop out. Wish BOTH of them out please.

    Huckabee believes the earth is 6000 years old, creationism should be taught in Biology classes, Noah’s ark was a literal true story, the dinosaurs drowned during the flood, Lot’s wife turned into a pillar of salt, water was turned into wine(non-alchoholic of course, “cause Jesus was a Southern Babtist”).

    How’s that for qualified to run the most powerful nation on earth in these highly competitive times?

    Oh, and he thinks this nation shoul be a Chistian nation. HIS kind of Christian.
    So he’s probably highly suspicious of Mitt…….

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    Well, I HAVE been to Texas, but it was fleeting trip… LOL. Perhaps I should have said Cowboys from the WEST. That would have been more appropriate….

    And believe me, Huckabee is NOT on my presidential wish list… All of the things you cited above figure into that….

    Like

Leave a Reply

