Just so you don't think I heart Huckabee…

My comments about Mitt Romney’s win in Wyoming were NOT an endorsement of Mike Huckabee, and I wanted to make that clear. I’m just NOT all about the evangelists. Sorry. Fundamentalism in any form gives me the heebie jeebies, almost as bad as when Tom Cruise opens his mouth and spiders come crawling out. If your mantra is “My God is better than your God,” please don’t stop here at Trapped. We are busy putting away our Christmas presents and making New Year’s resolutions, and we don’t have time for all that bullshit.

Just to make sure you know I don’t “heart’ Huckabee, check this story out.

Even editorialists and columnists at the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, the state’s dominant (and Republican-friendly) daily paper, use words like “petty” and “thin-skinned” to describe Huckabee. Then again, he’s compared hard-hitting (and accurate) news reporters for the Democrat-Gazette to the press fabulists Jayson Blair and Janet Cooke. He called liberal columnist John Brummett of Stephens Media “constipated” when that early admirer commenced some gentle criticism. His administration paid $15,000 to settle a suit filed by Roby Brock, the host of a public TV news show whom Huckabee’s people tried to force off the air for his critical commentary.

Then there’s me. I’m the editor of an alternative weekly, but I began covering Huckabee when I was a columnist for the now-defunct daily Arkansas Gazette in 1991, and Mike and I have been on the outs pretty much ever since. He once called me and the Memphis Commercial Appeal bureau chief “junkyard journalists” for our reporting. He also compared me, in print, to serial killer Jeffrey Dahmer and, I’ve been told on good authority, has wished aloud for my early and violent demise.

Holy crap. Uh, Mike? If you can’t take the PROVERBIAL heat, get the hell out of the kitchen!

The presidential race always brings to mind the saying, “The lesser of two evils.” Who the hell wants to pick a lesser evil? I hate politics.

(I’m just going to go on record here to say that if I HAD to pick the lesser of two evils, the lesser evil WOULD be Romney. Let’s see how many people, pro and anti-Mormon alike, that can anger! Not to mention the SoBaps…..

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Just so you don't think I heart Huckabee…

  1. Erin says:

    I’m a nevermo and a neverSoBap, and I agree that Romney is definitely the choice if the choices are only he & Huckleberry! I’m an Arkansan, so I lived through Huckabee’s regime here. During the People’s Choice awards they were giving movie titles to politicians, and Huckabee’s was Jackass 3! LOL!!! You’re absolutely right about fundamentalism. If someone can be so narrow minded, how can they run an entire country?

    Like

  2. Caryn says:

    Yeah, he just exudes follower-of-Christ vibes. I don’t understand why many of those to purport to be disciples of a man who preached forgiveness, love, and inclusion can be so hateful.

    Like

  3. Renee says:

    Given the two, if I had to pick either one of them I’d move to Canada instead. Sheesh.

    Like

  4. Cele says:

    Thank heavens you can write in your choice and not have to give your vote to the lessor of many evils.

    Like

  5. Tracy says:

    If I have to pick the lesser of two evils, I pick Spongebob.

    Like

  6. Del says:

    I agree with you Natalie,
    Before I became an Ex-Mormon, I used to start all kinds of weeping and wailing and nashing of teeth from some of the Christian Fundamentalists I worked with by saying that the worst thing that could happen to our country would be to elect a far left anti-God person or a far right religious fundamentalist for President.
    Cheers,
    Del

    Like

  7. Glo says:

    I love the democratic system, but this election I don’t even know what i will do. I am startting to agree more and more that off all the evils avalible this time around the lesser of them is romney. and that bothers me a little.

    Like

  8. sleepyinsaudi says:

    I think Romney is the lesser of two evils because he wants to just blend in with the crowd when it comes to religion. On the other hand, either of them, if they win the nomination, will certianly feel that they were specially anointed by God to lead this nation to what ends I don’t even want to think about.

    Throw both of the bums out.

    Like

  9. Elaine says:

    I would have to agree at this point that Romney is the lesser of two evils. At least, I haven’t heard him proposing that it is necessary to amend the Constitution to be in harmony with “God’s standards”, as Huckabee did the other day.

    With that statement, in my opinion, Huckabee demonstrated a) that he has not grasp of what it means to live an a pluralistic society, b) that he has no respect for the foundational document of our nation, and c) that he’s not just odd, but actually dangerous.

    Then again, I’m the oddball who thinks it is insane that we live in a country where many people go ballistic when the idea of burning an American flag comes up, but most folks don’t think it would be any big deal at all to burn a copy of the Constitution.

    Like

Leave a Reply

