Happy New Year

This year has been a tough one for me, not professionally, but personally. As I look back at the events, I realize that through change comes growth, and it was time to get out of that damn box anyway. I was becoming very square.

And so, I have decided I shall move to Islamorada and become a fly fishing instructor. Except I don’t know how to fly fish, so maybe I shall have to find gainful employment as a professional beachcomber…. Maybe I could braid hair… I’ve done my share of that with two girls…. Do they do that in Florida? Or is that only when you leave the United States?

At any rate, my children do not approve of this plan, so I’m sorry to announce (for all you Mormons who were cheering) that it will be a few years yet before I start my new job in my new locale.

Until then, you are stuck with me.

Happy New Year!

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. azteclady says:

    May the new year bring you joy and success–and contentment.

    Bring it on! *hugs*

    Like

  2. Cele says:

    I am gladly stuck with you and am too old for braids. Happy New Year my dear friend. and all that stuff Aztec said…because she’s so smart that way πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Elaine says:

    Happy New Year to you, Natalie. Here’s hoping it is a good one on all fronts. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Caryn says:

    Sorry this year did not go as well as you would have hoped. Of course, if it’s Islamadora where you want to live, you could always become a dive instructor. Or run a cabana rental shop.

    Like

  5. Natalie says:

    Yes! Yes, good idea Caryn. Cabana rental shop….

    Like

  6. sleepyinsaudi says:

    Ahh, Natalie we spent our honeymoon in Islamorada, in 1980. I remember we rented a hobiecat, and sailed around for an hour. Then I went swimming in the ocean and got hives! Was it nerves, or was it little critters? I’ll never know. At the time, my husband was a dive instructor, And I painted handbags for the Key West Handprint Company. We lived in Key Largo .Can you paint hibiscus and pelicans?

    Like

  7. Cele says:

    Oh now Caryn has an idea, can you imagine how much you could get for those Cabana boys?

    Like

  8. mlbower says:

    Natalie, I’m sorry but if you are planning on winning that dream home, I already have plans for it. haha!

    Like

  9. Renee says:

    Happy New Year Natalie! If I have to be trapped here too, it’s made easier by reading your blog. πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. kd says:

    Natalie,

    You might consider moving to Provo. The Provo.com shows beautiful beaches. You could become a scuba instructor or guide whale watching tours.

    Like

  11. Natalie says:

    kd, now that is MY kind of Provo. That one wouldn’t even give me the heebie jeebies, although I would probably have residual effects every time I heard the name. That would ease over time, though…..

    Like

  12. Natalie says:

    Renee, so glad being Trapped is made easier by SOMETHING, even if it’s this blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

