The things a child will do to fit in…

We’re staying in Salt Lake, in a hotel, right now. The reason for this, you see, is I am working a job that is in crunch right now, and I have to be close to our graphic designer’s office, to do proofs and other things. And then there is Dancing Daughter, who is performing with Ballet West’s The Nutcracker. With the yucky weather, and all the above things combined, a hotel room seemed the best plan.

Plus the girls think it’s great fun.

So tonight, as DD was dozing off, she said, “I think I’ll take seminary next year.” Now, this child has informed me, MORE THAN ONCE, that she knows that even IF I had been a believing Mormon, and raised her to think it is the ONLY TRUE THING, like my parents did, she still wouldn’t believe. I know, I know, she’s obviously my daughter. But seminary?

“Uh, why?”

“Because it’s an easy credit.”

“It’s not a credit. You don’t get anything except bored.”

Well, fine, there goes that plan down the drain….

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The things a child will do to fit in…

  1. Cele says:

    Oh my dear friend. I’d laugh, but I love you too much.

    I took world religions in high school and adored it. Insightful, compelling, provocative. This isn’t helping, right?

    Like

  2. Mavis says:

    I took comparative religions in college. I was bored to tears.

    Like

  3. CW says:

    But seminary won’t teach you about any religion except theirs. No appreciation of diversity or awareness of a world outside mormonism to be found in there.

    Like

  4. Angie says:

    Natalie~

    That was a hilariously-good read! I could totally see her face when you burst her bubble by telling her it’s a “no credit, waste of time” sort of thing. Damn!

    And, I am appreciating that I am looking at your Google Ads to the right of where I am entering this comment and they are all “pro” LDS stuff. How ironically funny!

    ~Angie

    Like

Leave a Reply

