The letter

Name Removal Letter

Above, is the letter, received in 1998, which confirms that my name and my husband’s name were removed from the records of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

The pertinent information, such as addresses, the bishop’s name, the stake president’s name and address, have been smudged out to PROTECT THEM. It did not scan very well, probably because it’s an old letter.

The Church letterhead does not show up AT ALL. I’ll work on getting a better scan of it. But here it is.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The letter

  1. Natalie says:

    I have never posted on The Mormon Curtain, so as to whether or not they would lie, DEAR, I do not know. Those posts were taken from the Exmormon.org forums, and that was a very tongue in cheek post. Did I SAY ONCE that in 2005 she was STILL doing this? Hmm, Mark? How interesting you are trying to question me and degrade my professional ethics and credibility, when the post you are talking about is not even close to indicting. Even IF my mother were to constantly resend my records, surely the Church hierarchy works well enough to know that I have requested name removal? Is the Church that disorganized? Would they just ACCEPT someone sending your records in time and time again? Surely they would verify.

    Why would I NOT protect the bishop and stake president? They didn’t give me permission to post their names and addresses on the Internet. As for the letter, I will try to figure out how to get it to scan so it is more readable, but I don’t think the letter head, a light silver, will ever show.

    Like

  2. PmP says:

    You letter read fine in my rss reader, but it was a larger image. Maybe just have a link to an enlarged picture?

    As for the letter, it is a standard form letter, I got the same one. First I got the “Due to the eternal consequences of your actions…” letter. Then it stated I had to take it up with my local ward, which I did not have, but 30 days after I got the first letter, I got my final letter. I think the only difference was that it was signed by Gregory Dodge.

    Why are you questioning her, Mark? If she said she had her name removed from the church records then she did. What does she gain by lying? I do find it weird that a person actually has to jump through these hoops just to be left alone. Simply stating that you are not interested should be enough for anyone, but unfortunately it isn’t. Personally, I had my name removed because my records were transferred to the town I moved to (courtesy of a family member). I had not been to church in 17 years, (from the moment I left home) but I still got visiting/home teachers, bishops, missionaries, and mission presidents calling me all the time. The missionaries even came to our door once to speak to our (at the time infant) daughter. Now that I am no longer being “fellowshipped” to come back into the church, I am able to have happy, healthy relationships with Mormons in my area.

    Like

  3. Natalie says:

    That is NOT what the letter says, Mark. It says, “This letter is to inform you that your names have been removed from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This action is recorded as a name removal, not an excommunication.

    This action may be rescinded if you send a written request within 30 days to President XXX XXXXXXXX at XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. If you are satisfied with this action, no further correspondence is needed.”

    PLEASE NOTE: IF YOU ARE SATISFIED WITH THIS ACTION, NO FURTHER CORRESPONDENCE IS NEEDED. The only reason the letter is hard to read is because it is from 1998, not because I am trying to hide anything.

    As for you saying that Mormons are rational, MY POINT WAS, to BELIEVE in Mormonism, you are NOT TOLD TO STUDY, OR RESEARCH, or any of that. You are TOLD TO PRAY. That is not rational behavior, Mark. Sorry.

    Like

  4. azteclady says:

    Aside: why can’t I see the comments this Mark person keeps posting?

    Like

  5. Natalie says:

    WEIRD. Let me check.

    Like

  6. Natalie says:

    Okay, Mark’s comments were caught in my spam folder. Not sure why. I have restored them.

    Like

  7. Natalie says:

    Mark, The Mormon Curtain is NOT where I posted the comments. I am not denying that I said them. But I posted them on exmormon.org. I am not sure why they are listed at the Mormon Curtain.

    Like

  8. azteclady says:

    Ah I can see it now, thank you, Natalie.

    And with it, I see the same old, same old. Which, paraphrasing and summarizing, goes something like this:

    “Your experiences do not match what we have been taught to believe, therefore you are LYING!! Which is the only thing that can be expected of someone who wants to leave the church–you are one bitter lying liar!”

    And they say it’s not a cult-like atmosphere!

    Like

  9. Kane says:

    My letter has never come. I wrote my letter and expected they would to the right thing and fulfill my request. I guess I am trapped forever.

    Like

  10. Paulina says:

    that was what my dad’s letter looked like

    Like

  11. miye says:

    I love the very truly yours!!! haa haa haa

    Like

  12. Renee says:

    Maybe some other Natalie Collins wrote them within 30 days about her letter and they popped you both back on! j/k.

    🙂

    Like

  13. Johnny says:

    I can’t see Marks comments either.???????

    “That is NOT what the letter says, Mark.” ?????????

    And Azteclady: ““Your experiences do not match what we have been taught to believe, therefore you are LYING!! Which is the only thing that can be expected of someone who wants to leave the church–you are one bitter lying liar!””

    I don’t think mormons claim that (although I can’t see Marks comments yet).

    I think the point is that its all just a small admin mistake that could be fixed if one is willing to do the fixing. Natalie is suggesting a neo-conspiracy to keep members on the membership directories for ever no matter what. But nothing like that happens in real mormon life.

    There is no conspiracy and those who want to leave can do so. But off course the proceedure to get this done could be simpler on our side of things and if I could change it I would. But we aren’t that fanantical nor that desperate to keep the Natalies of this world in this church. She can leave whenever she wants to by writing to her Bishop….etc….etc.

    -This letter posted up here isn’t the final one sent out anyway so you are still a member because the proceedure hasn’t being entirely done or fully completed-

    Like

  14. Mark’s comments have disappeared again, most likely because he is using a fake email. Johnny is using SOMEONE else’s email, and this person has no idea who I am. If you want to comment here, you must register a real email address or go away. I will pay Johnny no more attention until he antes up with a real email. It’s the only way to avoid spam.

    Talk about honesty, eh? Is this a new example of Lying for the Lord? Jason also posted with fake emails and under fake identities. I’m not going to GIVE YOUR EMAILS OUT, but you MUST REGISTER with a genuine email. End of story.

    Like

  15. aerin says:

    I’m pretty sure that’s what the final copy of the letter looks like. That’s why I received. Mine was addressed to “Sister (my last name) ” and talked about the eternal consequences, but it was the same letter.

    Note – it should be the final action because the 30 day waiting period is if the person changes their mind. After thirty days the name(s) should be removed -without any further action on the person’s part.

    Like

  16. azteclady says:

    Johnny–or whomever–you insist that Natalie must not have done it properly. You insist that *IF* she did it properly, then it’s a “small” administrative error. You insist that “nothing like that happens in real mormon life.”

    Are you perhaps witness to each and every mormon experience, so that you can make such claims?

    Because in the credibility scale, I’m much more willing to believe Natalie than people (like yourself) who keep changing email addresses in order to hammer the same old, same old. ‘Cause, frankly, it’s not as if she’s knocking on my door once a week–or stopping me on my way to or from the grocery store–to try and convert me, the way mormon missionaries (and other proselytizing people) do.

    Like

  17. Cele says:

    Some thing that has struck me in both Mark and Johnny’s comments. They are arguing too hard against reason, fact, and proof. I am thinking these are two people (or maybe really just one person) who are fighting their own reality and loosing the battle to believe a book of crap that they have been fed since birth.

    Like

  18. Natalie says:

    I asked my friends over at http://www.exmormon.org, and many of them tell me they received two letters. I received two letters. However, many of them said their second letter was signed by Greg Dodge. My letter was signed by the bishop, but said no further correspondence was necessary. Who knows.

    Like

  19. Johnny says:

    -Azteclady: That’s ridiculus!!!!

    I insist that a small administrative mistake has being made somewhere, on our side of things!; Natalie did what she had to by writing the first letter asking to be removed from the rolls.

    But a mistake has being made and can be fixed with another letter/copy of this one.

    -By the way this is my yahoo address, not my office one so junk mail goes there: its joseraul205@yahoo.com should anyone want to email separately. Nothing to hide here. (I use a different one, web one, for all the junk stuff out there and office one for work only; This isn’t so unnormal of people to do so.)

    -Also I’ve seen hundreds of final letters and this one is the one written by the bishop at last stage of Bishops intervention in the name removal process only. Not final church one.

    -Also I’ve noticed that there’s an entire page on http://www.mormoncurtain.com/topic_nataliercollins.html

    Is it you, Natalie? cause there you blame your mother in 2005 for moving your records to a new ward?

    Like

  20. azteclady says:

    Johnny: your “side” makes an error, therefore Natalie should continue trying to fix it? Gee.

    Like

  21. Johnny says:

    azteclady:

    Is, my side made an error.

    Point is that none of us, the rank & file who do the paperwork, can fix this without another letter from Natalie. Just how it is, reality. No write=nothing done.

    But better still, now that this has become tedious, DON”T WRITE ANYTHING. AND HAVE HOME TEACHERS VISIT YOU WEEKLY, AND THE MISSIONARIES, AND VISITING TEACHERS, AND THE BISHOP, AND QUORUM PRESIDENT, AND THE CLERKS. shit, the whole friking church can visit you from now on becuase you haven’t writen a letter, all, what, 3 million active members???

    Ahhhhh, this is friking pointless now!!!

    Like

  22. azteclady says:

    Johnny, this has been beyond tedious to Natalie, for far longer than you’ve been around her blog.

    After all, she followed the steps almost ten years ago, and received the proper response assuring her she would be left alone.

    Yelling doesn’t accomplish anything. Well, other than a partial venting of your frustration.

    A better way to do that? Humour.

    Which Natalie has used in a very very entertaining way.

    A shame you apparently can’t get it.

    Like

  23. Johnny,

    You and Mark and either the same person, or pals. He noted the same thing, and I as EXPLAINED quite clearly, I have never posted on THE MORMON CURTAIN. Those posts were made on ExMormon.org, and they were very tongue in cheek. For the first years of my life, my mother did very kindly send my records wherever I went. However, I have lived in the same place for the past 16 years. I filed my letter in 1998. There was no need to forward my records anywhere else. I haven’t moved. They know where I am.

    I use humor as an outlet. You should try it. If you are really trying to help me, take note. I decided to call Mr. Gregory Dodge and question him as to the process of church resignation. I shall return and report. See? All your good work did help!

    Like

  24. Pingback: Trapped by the Mormons » Blog Archive » The “LET ME OUT OF THIS CHURCH” Saga….

Leave a Reply

