True Church, True Church, Who has the True Church?

Trappee Sierra pointed out to me that in the past few days, the Catholic Church has apparently, through the Pope, claimed to have the ONLY TRUE THING. Great. Now Hinckley and the Pope are going to have to have a Holy Smackdown and prove once and for all just WHO HAS THE ONLY TRUE THING, because GOD KNOWS, having the ONLY TRUE THING is the most important concept ever evented.

I am telling you, it’s pretty obvious to me that these are both churches that are run by men, because if WOMEN were running the Catholic and Mormon Churches, they wouldn’t be making this public proclamations.

Instead, they would be spreading rumors behind the backs of both leaders. “Did you hear about Hinckley? That whole cancer thing was just a cover for the fact he got butt cheek implants.” “I heard Pope Benedict is really named Benny, and in fourth grade they called him stinky because he farted a lot.”

And then the two church leaders would be trying to outdress each other, but I think Pope Benedict has the distinct advantage because he gets those fancy white robes, and President Hinckley is stuck with suits. Maybe even suits from Mr. Mac. But hey, he could always commission Armani and that might be rather neat to see.

Hmm. I got sidetracked, yet again.

Here’s the story I found on it, and I’m sure more will follow.

Vatican to stress Catholic Church only true Church–reports”

(AFP, July 6, 2007)

Vatican City – The Vatican is about to reaffirm its claim to be the only legitimate representative of Jesus Christ on Earth, a bid likely to again draw criticism from other Christian churches, press reports said Friday.

I-Media agency which specializes in reports on the Vatican said a document outlining the Vatican position, drawn up by the Congregation of the Doctrine of the Faith, would be published on Tuesday.

Il Giornale newspaper said it would make clear that the Roman Catholic Church was the only and true Church of Christ.

The reaffirmation, seven years after a similar statement issued under then pope John Paul II during the Catholic Holy Year angered other Christian churches, is to fight “ecclesiological relativism” which has been condemned by his successor Benedict XVI.

Under this concept Christian churches all pertain to the same truth or are only in possession of parts of it.

At the time still cardinal Joseph Ratzinger, Benedict XVI had headed the Congregation of the Doctrine of the Faith which published the 2000 “Dominus Iesus” declaration.

“Dominus Iesus” had called the Protestant churches mere “ecclesial communities”.

Il Giornale said the new Vatican document would clarify a sentence of the 1962-65 Second Vatican Council which claimed that Christ’s only church lives on in the Roman Catholic Church.

All of this ONLY TRUE THING shit let me to think about a few things.

*Is it not possible to just go into a church, and praise God, without worrying if THIS PARTICULAR CHURCH has every single detail right?

*Is it possible to look at a baby’s tiny hands and not feel like somewhere, someone is doing SOMETHING right, and yet not be pressed to find out WHERE that something is being done?

*If you don’t lie, cheat, steal, murder, or covet, is it not possible to get into the Kingdom of Heaven without knowing the secret handshake?

I feel scammed by all this SHILLING that the Catholics and the Mormons are doing. Frankly, I feel scammed by religion. The biggest thing I ever got from hearing about Jesus and religion was the word LOVE. Am I the only one who picked up that message? When Jesus was washing the feet of his disciples, or hanging with the hookers, or blessing the little children, you just KNEW he loved everyone.

Where did that message get lost? I think I’ll stick to my belief that God is love, and love is God, and that is the most important tenet.

You can have your ONLY TRUE THING. I don’t need it. I have a baby niece, and I can gaze at her miraculous little fingers anytime I want.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to True Church, True Church, Who has the True Church?

  1. Tracy says:

    Let them have a smackdown, we can worship God.

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    I have commented before and with some anger at the way Mormons treat non members. Having been raised a Catholic my whole life I always felt persecuted living in Utah. I read the Pope’s comments in todays SL tribune and just about crapped down both sides of my legs.

    You see. Simply Catholics are taught that there is no true church (Until know). Further more like Mormonism, Greek Orthodox, et al, Catholisism is simply a practice of one version of faith.

    The Catholic church is big – largest christian faith in the world. Does that make us the true church? At any given time the Catholic church is researching 250 – 300 unexplained events. Examples of this are people who have been prayed for and awake from a coma or in my own case being at deaths door, been prayed for, and the next day showing improvement. Does this make the Catholic church the only true church? How about this. There is a Catholic church in former East Block. The eucerist is held as the body of christ buy our church. It is a symbol. At this church the host as it is refered to bleeds real human blood. Happens almost daily. Does that make the Catholic church the only true church? And one final example is Father Padre Pio. His life can befollowed on the internet and there are still people alive who knew him. He was blessed with the stigmata. The stigmata are the wounds that christ had when he was on the cross. There are several photos of Pio that show his hands bleeding. He lived with this condition for the last 50 years of his life. A note here:he lost approx 1 cup of blood per 24 hour period and he never, never developed an infection. O ye and he was a Catholic Preist. Now please understand that there are other people with the stigmata and If I am not mistaken they are Catholic. (If you find otherwise please let us know.) Now i ask you does this make my church the Only true church. My answer to all these questions is no it does not.

    Personally as a Catholic I believe that if a person has a faith in god that simply means they believe in one god. I also believe that if a person forgives those who have sinned against that person, acknowledge one god, and believe in eternal life in christ shall also be considered christian.

    I hope that my Catholic Brothers and Sisters in Christ don’t let this recent statement from the Pontif to become a montra. Here in Utah no one talks to anyone unless they are in same ward.

    Like

  3. azteclady says:

    And this is yet another reason why organized religion of any stripe is nothing but a heaping pile of stinking BS.

    There is NO ONE TRUE anything, people.

    Why? Because people come in all flavors, sizes, colors, preferences, habits, and tastes. And there ain’t no way in God’s green earth that ONE THING can fit all.

    Get on with the program, already.

    /rant

    Sorry, Natalie–I’ve been fuming since I read the news.

    Like

  4. Cele says:

    He’s a man, he’s just a man, and the Pope to booth, but he’s still an everyday human man who doesn’t have only ear God whispers into. Churches put men above God, people who worship in those churches, pay their tithes like good little boys and girls and then go out and sin all they want put everything above God and the message of love too.

    Like

  5. JulieAnn says:

    Me! Me! I do! I have the One and only True Church! And I’m not sharing what it is with anyone. (Look what happened to Joseph Smith when HE told everyone about his church…)

    Like

  6. PBR says:

    Well said, Natalie. Keep up the great work. I enjoy your posts! Give ’em hell!

    Like

  7. Elaine says:

    Oh, for Pete’s sake. They all act like a bunch of kindergarteners on the playground, taunting each other with “My dad can beat up your dad.” Or, “Neener, neener, neener…I know something you don’t know.”

    If god does indeed exist (I’ve got my doubts, but that’s just me), it is a sure sign of his/her/its sense of humor that all these guys haven’t gotten their lighting bolt hits by now. Or maybe that’s just what I think because I know I’d be plenty pissed off if people were always claiming to know my will and speak in my name.

    Like

  8. azteclady says:

    Ooooooohhh!!! Beautifully put, Elaine! Can I quote you? *grin*

    Like

  9. INTJ_Mom says:

    LOL, I just put a post on the exmo board about GBH and the Pope duking it out, guess I should have come here first. It would make a great political cartoon though. Does Steve Benson still do those?

    Like

  10. INTJ_Mom says:

    Meant to add, Forbes had a bit more info in their story:
    http://www.forbes.com/feeds/ap/2007/07/10/ap3900380.html

    Like

  11. Elaine says:

    Any time you want, azteclady. 🙂

    Like

  12. Hey, INTJ_Mom, GMTA.

    Like

  13. Tracy says:

    Wayne, I’m not sure what the article has to do with the blog, but it was very decent of the MTC to go to the child to sing to her.

    Like

  14. Natalie says:

    I’m with Tracy. It has nothing to do with the blog. And it would appear, Wayne, that you want to spotlight Mormons doing good things, which is fine. I have never said that Mormons are bad people. Most Mormons are not. The religion itself–well, that’s a whole nuther story.

    Like

  15. Renee says:

    Ye gads, things haven’t changed much in some ways since Martin Luther was nailin’ stuff on gates. Just sayin….

    Like

  16. Sideon says:

    It’s totally a man thing. It’s the equivalent of a pissing contest (or taking out the tape measure). “My God/weenis is bigger than your God!”

    God needs to smack Hinster’s and the Nazi Pope’s asses and then make them kiss and make up (as in reconcile, not to wear make up, no).

    Be well, Natalie. It’s a two-Frodka night.

    Like

  17. Natalie says:

    Sideon, so glad you are Frodka-ing. Me, too. Wow. what a crazy world we live in. When did COMMON sense become obscure?

    Like

  18. Francis says:

    I’ve been reading this blog for a while now and this is the first time I’ve felt compelled to post. I’m a little confused about the tone of the posts against the Pope coming out and stating that his religion is the one true religion. He’s the Pope what do you expect him to say? “I’ve been thinking and we all have this wrong so stop giving us your money and go genuflect at the church across the street.” I would expect that as much as I would expect Bill Gates to own a Mac or to see Neville Isdell drinking a Pepsi. I’m just not getting the shock considering the source. Now if the congregation was out on the street corner or knocking on doors I’d be right there with you being annoyed.

    Like

  19. azteclady says:

    And yet…

    As much as I disagreed with Pope John Paul II on many, many issues, I always admired his willingness to reach out to ALL other religions. And gee, he was also the Pope.

    Going back to Latin mass and explicitly, loudly, unnecessarily decrying that there is ONLY ONE TRUE CHURCH AND THAT IS THE ROMAN CATHOLIC APOSTOLIC CHURCH is like spitting in the eye of a huge chunk of the world. Just like Mormons, and Jehova’s Witnesses, and a bunch others do.

    Being inclusive can only benefit the Catholic (or any other) church.

    Not that my opinion counts for much, as I’m a recovering Catholic and not a fan of ANY organized religion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

