Slouching Towards Bethlehem

I’m wondering if anyone can watch this and not sense some chaos coming in the days ahead. Whether Mitt Romney, or Big Love, or Warren Jeffs brought this about, the eye of the country, and world is on Mormonism, and it is not necessarily a good thing.

This video, honestly, gave me a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach. These missionaries are just boys. They don’t know the Bible. They don’t have the knowledge to fight this. How long before one of them is killed, because the truth is, there is no shield. Those garments are not protecting them. THEY ARE STILL TEENAGERS.

Jesus Guy may know his Bible, but his companion is anger, and wrongdoing, and the desire to SET THESE BOYS straight. He is guided by the same sense of I HAVE THE ONLY TRUE THING. I know where this comes from, but this disturbs me greatly. I sense a tide turning, and it’s not a good tide.

I am concerned.

I refer to one of my favorite poems, and leave you to interpret what you may.

Slouching towards Bethlehem
W.B Yeats

Turning and turning in the widening gyre
The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
The best lack all conviction, while the worst
Are full of passionate intensity.
Surely some revelation is at hand;
Surely the Second Coming is at hand.
The Second Coming! Hardly are those words out
When a vast image out of Spritus Mundi
Troubles my sight: somewhere in the sands of the desert.

A shape with lion body and the head of a man,
A gaze blank and pitiless as the sun,
Is moving its slow thighs, while all about it
Reel shadows of the indignant desert birds.
The darkness drops again; but now I know
That twenty centuries of stony sleep
were vexed to nightmare by a rocking cradle,
And what rough beast, its hour come round at last,
Slouches towards Bethlehem to be born?

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Slouching Towards Bethlehem

  1. Jennifer says:

    That man doesn’t sound like a Christian. He was so prideful and mocking

    Like

  2. Pingback: University Update - Mitt Romney - Slouching Towards Bethlehem

  3. azteclady says:

    After this news from Texas (http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/19332252/)…

    Well, let’s say I’m not surprised by this guy’s reaction. Humanity is angry at itself.

    Like

  4. Cele says:

    Honest reaction.

    At first I responded by thinking, whoa, this guy knows his Bible, his arguements are spot on. My moment of impress was followed by, saddeness to consider that they set this up so they could triumph over the unprepared, unknowledgable, way too young missionaries. The ephiany of the whole video boils down to this, the rigtheous are arrogant in their knowledge and the way they wield their knowledge like a club to beat others up. Religious battle in white shirts.

    So very sad. There was no discussion there, only verbal warfare.

    Like

  5. Cele says:

    Oh so incredibly sorry. Natalie great poem.

    Like

  6. you know… I watch this, and I’m torn too… I feel bad for the boys (that’s what they are). It’s difficult seeing anyone called to task and watching them squirm.

    The man didn’t seem rude until the end, when he wouldn’t shake the boys hand and the “white boy comment” – that wasn’t done in love.

    But at the same time, I sat watching and praying that those boys WOULD hear what he was saying (beyond the touch of righteousness this man was displaying) and hear the TRUTH.

    But alas… who knows…

    Blessings,
    Karla

    Like

  7. Renee says:

    I used to make fun of missionaries (like the ones who, coming to my ex in-laws house when I was 23-24 asked if my parents were home – ok, I had no makeup on and looked 12, so it was an easy out for me – nope, they arent, close the door) – but now I just feel really sorry for them. Moving to Utah made me understand much more what they sacrifice and have to PAY to go on this mission, some of them are not fed or housed well I understand….and they are in trouble if they can’t make the two years (for guys) or if they don’t go at all. It’s just too bad.

    Like

  8. George says:

    Hello everybody!
    Sorry for what I said last time to WAyne and Sorry Natalie I know you don’t want people fighting on your blog…
    Here’s something interesting relating to missionaries! http://www.deseretnews.com/dn/view/0,1249,680194052,00.html …I don’t know how to make a link…:(
    Peace

    Like

  9. trisha says:

    I don’t know how you can say you feel sorry for the missionaries. If the tables were turned (as they probably are most of the time) and they encountered someone who wasn’t aware of scripture…..they would be the ones using a condesending tone and “holier than thou” attititute. It’s what they are trained to do when serving a mission. Twist, turn, confuse and state that they have the TRUE gospel. What goes around…..comes around. I feel no pity for them.

    Like

  10. azteclady says:

    You know, trisha, I do feel pity for them. Perhaps because I have a son pretty much their age, and I see how different his life is from what they have been allowed to experience… Poor kids, really.

    Like

  11. Hal says:

    I’m sorry. I must disagree with your apologetic approach to these poor young missionaries. They approached this man on the street. Obviously, this guy was prepared for these missionaries to pass through. It was probably a setup. BUT, the point here is that the black man in this video needs to defend what he interprets as Christ’s message. For most bible believers, Joseph Smith is nothing more than a false prophet. HE was compelled to shut these boys down. So, his style is not as meek and humble as you would like. BUT I think he wanted to help these boys and all he could do is shut them down because they are so damned persistent about the Joseph SMith nonsense. A FALSE PROPHET!!

    YOu’re worried about him saying white boy when the church history and documents are littered with racism? C’MON!! people.

    The missionaries walked into a situation. It was brave for sure. But, they were rebuked. One can only hope they learned something valuable.

    And you want him to listen quietly and humbly to these missionaries when obviously he has learned enough to know that this Book of Mormon he is supposed to investigate states that the color of his skin is a curse for the wickedness of his ancestors!! I’m siding with the black man all the way on this one. YOu people can assume him to be arrogant. But he was defending his and most Christian’s interpretation of Christ’s message.

    Like

  12. Natalie says:

    Actually, Hal, I certainly don’t expect him to sit and listen quietly to the missionaries. I don’t. But I do think there is arrogance going on BOTH sides here. If you were reading closely, you will note that one of my big concerns is the fact that the Mormon Church even SENDS these young boys out where they will face these situations. The problem starts there. Anyone who believes they have the “only true thing” is going to come up arrogant. There just isn’t any way around it. Of course, in the Mormon World, that arrogance is what they call a “testimony.”

    Like

  13. Allen says:

    HERE HERE Natalie.

    And here is why I say this:

    Last month, during my parenting time, I had a brief one on one moment with my 12 year old son. Both my sons live with there now Mormon believing mother and stepfather(which is making ever effort to replace, no remove me from their lives, but that’s another story).

    So I very casually ask my son, “What is the latest thing you’ve been taught lately about the Bible?

    My son looking at our campfire said, “I don’t like being interrogated”.

    Shocked, surprised, and a certain amount of anger(not towards my son) came through me. It wasn’t until the next morning that I received the proper way to correct my sons understanding.

    The last time I saw my 16 year old son he told me, “I’m going to be a priest”.
    When I asked him “why?” , his answer was, “that’s my calling”. Then I asked, “How do you know this, what was it that brought you to this decision”? My son responded with, “That’s what all boys my age do, but I don’t have to.”

    This is only a fraction of what Mormonism is doing to my sons, including the statement their mother made to me, “Your not going to win”.

    As Natalie has said, “I’m not making this up”.

    Like

  14. Hal says:

    I agree with the point you made, Natalie. I haven’t even read your books, so I will try not to go over the top in my posts. I do feel strongly about my position though. Thanks.

    Hal

    Like

Leave a Reply

