Comment, comment, who has the comment?

Every once in a while I like to address comments on the main blog. Since I found a few interesting ones, today is that day.

Our new friend Barry says:

Joseph Smith and Brigham Young did not use force or fear to get young girls to marry older men. I guess you could make a good arguement for deception. All of those men and women that entered into polygamy did so after being told to get their own answer from God. If they really didn’t want to they didn’t have to, and they were still considered members in good standing. It’s too bad that things get to be so twisted and taken out of context over the years. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is true. If you really want to find out for yourselves all you have to do is ask God. But you need to be sincere.

I beg to differ, Barry. Brigham Young was a tyrannical leader, and he was known to browbeat his followers.

This is just one of his choice little dictates. (Not taken out of context. Just quoted.)

“Now if any of you will deny the plurality of wives, and continue to do so, I promise that you will be damned.” (Journal of Discourses, Vol. 3, p. 266). Also, “The only men who become Gods, even the Sons of God, are those who enter into polygamy.” (Journal of Discourses, Vol. 11, page 269).

That’s not using FEAR, Barry? Are you freaking kidding me? “YOU WILL BE DAMNED.” Sounds like fear tactics to me. Have you EVEN studied your Mormon history? The only twisting and “taking out of context,” comes from the Mormon Spin Cycle. You cannot deny what Brigham Young did and said.

I do kind of agree with you on Joseph Smith, though. He was not really a dictator, but a smooth talker. I think HE used deception.

As for your statement:

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is true. If you really want to find out for yourselves all you have to do is ask God. But you need to be sincere.

Wow, talk about giving yourself an out. If anyone DOESN’T believe, you can just say they weren’t sincere. You are relying on “faith and heartburn.” I prefer my life with a healthy dose of “facts.” Not that I totally refute all things I can’t prove. I have never yet proven the grivel that lives in my laundry room is eating socks, but I can’t figure out any other answer to all the mismatched socks we have.

I also can’t prove that FrankenTom Cruise has sucked the brain out of Katie Holmes, and replaced it with Molly the Mormon’s, but I’m working on that theory. Hugs and kisses and a shoutout to Molly.

Our other new friend, Kevin, says:

I truely feel sorry for those of you who must spend their time atacking other faiths. With the atoning sacrifice of our Lord Jesus Christ all who acept him are saved. By your own beleif the Mormons (having accepted Christ) are saved. Please remember the love that he taught and not the bitterness of religious competition.

Um, Kevin? I hate to break it to you, but there isn’t a respected Christian Church on the face of the earth that TRULY believes Mormons are Christians. I do believe that many are TRYING to put on a nice public face. They don’t want to attack the Mormons. You can understand that. Rather, they wish to SAVE the Mormons. They don’t accept Mormonism as Christianity. Sorry. Try again. As far as religious competition, I believe I have pointed out before that THERE IS NO CHURCH OF NATALIE. I am merely pointing out that I believe Mormonism to be patently false, just as Mormons claim it is the only truth. Doncha love America?

And our other new friend, Roland, says:

And yet today most other religions have a much higher ratio of members living a polygamous lifestyle (i.e. more than one sex partner in a lifetime) than mainstream Mormonism.

Hoo boy. What are you trying to say here, Roland? That more than one sex partner in a lifetime means you are polygamous? I’ve never heard that particular view, before, I gotta admit.

Also, please remember that mainstream Mormons do NOT practice physical polygamy. They leave that to the fundamentalist sects. They are ONLY guilty of SPIRITUAL polygamy….right now, anyway.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Comment, comment, who has the comment?

  1. anna says:

    Did you notice that the Molly site you linked calls your site, Tripped by the Mormons? Can you just see those Mormons sticking out their legs and making you fall?

    Like

  2. LOL. Yup. Love Molly!!

    Like

  3. Cele says:

    I have to laugh, I have to. Roland I am not a polygamist, I am a slut…er was a slut. And somewhat proud of it. I only want my men, one at a time.

    Ha ha didn’t use force? Barry you try being a 14 or 15 year old girl and telling both your dad and the leader of the church “I don’t want to marry that crusty, sexpot, old man, ooyew, gross!” Just try it.

    Kevin, your religion has been telling me I’m not a true believer, and unasked they have come to my door and made this pronouncement. Unasked, unwanted, and thank you, unheeded.

    Like

  4. Tracy says:

    I find it interesting, when a Mormon gets their panties in a twist over someone saying, less than flattering things about LDS, they go on the attack themselves about other Christian faiths to justify their position.

    Like

  5. Annette says:

    Is the Molly site for real? I couldn’t tell by a quick look if she was being funny or serious. I was mildly disturbed until I saw a snarky comment by the sacred sister. She is hilarious and postmormon so?

    Like

  6. Natalie says:

    Hey Annette, I’m fairly certain that Molly is parody. I almost hate saying that. In fact, I wish I felt better being cagey, but since I don’t really have any facts, or a clue about who “Molly” is, I guess I’m in the clear.

    Like

  7. Poem says:

    So what is the deal with Molly’s site? After reading a few posts, as well as the comments, I can’t imagine that she is serious. I don’t think anyone can actually be that ignorant. At least I would hope not. I’m just not buying that she is for real.

    Love your site girl.

    Like

Leave a Reply

