The Simpsons in Utah

Today, for your viewing pleasure, a little clip that entertained me highly. I’ve always enjoyed the Simpsons, but the other night, my favorite Halloween episode was on. The one where they answer the door to aliens, and Homer says, “Oh great. It’s the Mormons.” Heh. Unfortunately, this is not that clip, but it does reference Utah’s unique atmosphere and rather “lax” marriage laws. Funny stuff.

http://www.youtube.com/v/1zXHR3sL-0g

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Simpsons in Utah

  1. Cele says:

    Wow, I thought Bart was only 8. I guess that shows I don’t watch the Simpsons. But the Utah and Mormon digs were funny (thank heavens they heavens they don’t look at Oregon.)

    Like

  2. WendyP says:

    “America’s most powerful weirdos!” lmao

    In other Mormon news, I’m sitting on the fence long enough to get my youngest daughter baptized (her choice). It’s been interesting. I’ll be glad when it’s over and I can become my authentic heathen self again.

    I saw Judy reading your book the other day! I’m sure you know which book, because she WOULDN’T read any of your others. ;-D

    Like

  3. I had a laugh here too. When I was fourteen, I met a classmate that was married (she was 14 too) and on her third child. I couldn’t believe it. But, she wasn’t mormon… She was catholic and in Utah.

    Like

  4. Wayne says:

    Hello everyone:
    I survived the girl’s camp at Heber City and had a very wonderful time. Although the snow cut things short and we had to leave Thursday instead of Friday.
    I checked out the special needs basketball camp that Scott Goold said he co-directs. http://www.infoimagination.org/ps/hoopcamp/index.php
    What a wonderful and uplifting experience it was just seeing and reading about what they do there. I just wish I lived closer, as I think it would be wonderful being part of such a moving project. I was even privileged to get to know Scott and his wife a little, as there is an article telling about them and what they do at the camp. There are also pictures of many of the physically and mentally challenged participants at the camp. Thanks Scott for people like you and the uplift you give to others. Not only to the ‘challenged’ in the world but also to people like me, so we can experience just a little of what it must be like to be a little closer to the heights I think the Savior would want us all to arise to.

    Like

  5. George says:

    Snow? Wayne you’re offtopic!

    Like

  6. Wayne says:

    George:
    I wasn’t aware that there was a strict ‘on topic’ rule. What I was doing was following up on a former ‘on topic’ conversation.
    Even though it was ‘off topic’ to you; did you go to the web-site and find out what Scott Goold does with his time? I found it to be a very positive experience.

    Like

  7. Tracy says:

    Wayne, if you can help the special needs kids, then go man, go…they need all the love and support anyone can give them. Good on ya.

    Like

  8. Wayne, I don’t even know who George is, so ignore it. I appreciated your comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

