Trapped by the Mormons, irritating Saints one post at a time

Lately, there has been an influx of commenters with an interesting outlook on my blog. Yes, they are ALL faithful Mormons, and yes they are ALL offended. One compared me to Hitler. That was funny. Another called my blog “a nightmare.” That was amusing, too. Another one (shout out to my bud Wayne here) has repeatedly tried to proselyte his beliefs and religion on this blog, and yet denounced my doing the same thing at every turn. (Disclaimer: I am only sharing what I believe, as far as Mormonism. I don’t care to push my religious beliefs on anyone, and thus do not share them. This, of course, makes Wayne very suspicious of me. You’ll see that further down.)

I’ve had Mormon “object” lessons, scathing dismissals, and one woman who steadfastly refused to hear anything I said because her “testimony” told her it was true. “That is what a *testimony* is,” she said. Okay. Who needs common sense and reason?

I’ve heard from Mormon apologists, some nice (Jeff Lindsay), some not so nice (Stanley Barker). I’ve had readers threaten to burn my book, one reader who claimed to have shred my book and sent it to the dump (but only after she finished it, thank goodness), and a few people who told me I needed to “get back to Church.”

Along the way, I also have heard from thousands of people who read and liked the books, and related to them. Many of these people claimed I wrote their story. Many of them thanked me.

There are two sides to every story. Two viewpoints. In my case, living in the land of Zion, I am the Ain’t. You have your Mormon viewpoint. That viewpoint is spoken loud and clear, and from the rooftops every day, in almost every country. I hear it every day from the people who email me and write me.

There is no doubt what that viewpoint is. Then you have the opposing viewpoint. That one you get here on Trapped, and on other ex-Mo blogs. Both sides have the right to speak their mind.

I do not post lies here. I do not twist facts. When I quote stories or news items, I also source them and whenever possible include a link. In short, this stuff WRITES itself, and I just report it the way I see it. Just like the Mormons tell us about the world the way THEY see it. I’m sure they are not lying, either. They just see it a different way.

If you are looking for the pro-Mormon viewpoint, you’ve come to the wrong spot. I’m happy to point you in the right direction. First off, stop at Jeff Lindsay’s blog, Mormanity.

You are welcome here even if you don’t agree with my viewpoint, but know a few things:

**I am not a follower. My friend Wayne assumes because I have referenced Richard Packham’s Web site in the past, that I am his “follower.” I, quite obviously, by Wayne’s reasoning, must be an atheist. Interesting logic. I’ve referenced lots of other Web sites in the past, too, including the Deseret News and The Salt Lake Tribune. Does that mean I am a Newspaperite? Or when I referenced the Mother Jones blog, does that mean I am a Motherite?

**Trapped by the Mormons is a very tongue-in-cheek title, inspired by the campy old silent movie. When I wrote my resignation letter, sent it in, got the official notice I was out, then found myself back in three years later, as two completely different people, well, I considered that the title fit. You can read the whole story here. I know that I am not “physically” trapped here. You don’t need to explain that to me. Neither do I need directions for leaving. I’ve lived here all my life. It’s my home. I have no intention of leaving.

**Bitter is not my middle name. While I willingly admit that ex-Mormons are some of the angriest people I know, that is a relatively NEW stage that most get past fairly quickly. Sure you are angry and bitter when you discover all the lies, cover-ups, and whitewashing that has been done by the Church claiming to be the ONLY TRUE CHURCH in the world. But after a while, you move on. I’m not only not bitter, I think this stuff is FUNNY! Much of it is freaking hilarious. I don’t much like bottom dwellers like Warren Jeffs, and am open about that, but I mess with him, too. You have to laugh, people. Stop taking yourself so seriously. Somehow, at least one person a week MISSES that basic true of Natalie-ism. My mantra is “get over yourself.” Think you’re the biggest fish in the pond? I take my wisdom from George Lucas and Star Wars. There is ALWAYS a bigger fish.

**The bottom line is I like Mormons, and I think there are many, many good Mormons. I do not, however, believe Mormonism to be true, and in fact, believe that the secretive nature of much of their doings, and the emphasis on patriarchy, is abusive and dangerous. It is a closed society, that does not welcome criticism. Everyone knows what happens when there is no system of critique and measure. Now THERE is where you might use a Hitler comparison.

So there you have it. Another bee in the bonnet of the Mormons. I guess it’s my job.

One of the mantras of writing is “Write what you know.” I know Mormons and Mormonism. I was raised Mormon, and have lived here all my life. In addition, I have extensively researched it, and I write about it, and am very careful to be factual and accurate. I’m sure I make mistakes. I’m human. I don’t write about Catholics, because although I know a few Catholics, I have never been one myself. I don’t write about other religions for the same reason, although if I see injustice in any religion, I will cite it.

And if you don’t want to read it? Just a click and it’s gone. Ain’t the Internet great?

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Trapped by the Mormons, irritating Saints one post at a time

  1. Elaine says:

    Thanks for that, Natalie.

    I think it is really fascinating how Mormons are obsessed with the idea that nearly everyone who leaves the church does so because they were offended, and they waste no time in explaining that “being offended” is just wrong. Yet, they go from zero to offended themselves in about a second and a half when they encounter anything that they perceive as being negative toward the church. Not saying every Mormon does that…I know, in person and on the internet, a whole lot of lovely, open-minded Mormons (they’re the ones who are either secure in their testimonies, or comfortable with the fact that they have questions and doubts, rather than being threatened by that)…but, as some of the responses you’ve been getting attest, it happens.

    Oh, and I’ve been meaning to tell you…I read “Tutu Deadly” a couple of weeks ago. I loved it, and I’m waiting in great anticipation for the next book in the series. Probably has something to do with the fact that I don’t always play well with other adults either. 🙂

    Like

  2. summer says:

    I heard Glenn Beck the other day talking about Mormonism and how to become informed about it. He said its like if you want to know about a Chevy you won’t go to a Ford dealer.
    I agree with that theory but it has one flaw. In order to learn all about a Chevy, one should go talk to former Chevy owners too.

    You are the ‘former Chevy owner’ and your info is great! I’m not buying a Chevy, thats for sure.

    Like

  3. INTJ_Mom says:

    Great post, very eloquently stated, I wholeheartedly agree. I’ve only read one of your books thus far, BCD, but I too could relate to many of the issues you brought up within that story. IMO, it’s always nice to know that other people can relate to things you’ve gone through yourself and even better when they can help you move past the anger of being disaffected to being able to get a chuckle out of things.

    Like

  4. azteclady says:

    You may be an Ain’t in the land of the Saints, but you have patience enough to apply for beatification, Natalie!

    Like

  5. Natalie says:

    Hey Elaine, so glad you liked TUTU DEADLY! It was so much fun to write. The darker suspense books are more draining, and harder to write. Jenny is just plain fun.

    summer, thanks for the kudos! I like your analogy.

    INTJ_Mom, Glad you could relate to BCD. I think WIVES AND SISTERS is a better book, quite honestly, and more heart wrenching.

    And azteclady, thanks for the kind words! I doubt Utah’s Saints would agree…..

    Like

  6. I come here for the amusement factor. 🙂

    Thanks Natalie

    Like

  7. Bot says:

    The Church of Jesus Christ (LDS) is often misunderstood . . Some accuse the Church of not believing in Christ and, therefore, not being a Christian religion . . This article helps to clarify such misconceptions

    · Baptism: .

    Early Christian churches, practiced baptism of youth (not infants) by immersion by the father of the family. The local congregation had a lay ministry. An early Christian Church has been re-constructed at the Israel Museum, and the above can be verified. http://www.imj.org.il/eng/exhibitions/2000/christianity/ancientchurch/structure/index.html
    The Church of Jesus Christ (LDS) continues baptism and a lay ministry as taught by Jesus’ Apostles. . Early Christians were persecuted for keeping their practices sacred, and not allowing non-Christians to witness them

    · The Trinity: .

    A literal reading of the New Testament points to God and Jesus Christ , His Son , being separate , divine beings , united in purpose. . To whom was Jesus praying in Gethsemane, and Who was speaking to Him and his apostles on the Mount of Transfiguration?

    The Nicene Creed”s definition of the Trinity was influenced by scribes translating the Greek manuscripts into Latin. . The scribes embellished on a passage explaining the Trinity , which is the Catholic and Protestant belief that God is Father, Son and Holy Spirit. . The oldest versions of the epistle of 1 John, read: “There are three that bear witness: the Spirit, the water and the blood and these three are one.”

    Scribes later added “the Father, the Word and the Spirit,” and it remained in the epistle when it was translated into English for the King James Version, according to Dr. Bart Ehrman, Chairman of the Religion Department at UNC- Chapel Hill. . . .He no longer believes in the Nicene Trinity. .

    Scholars agree that Early Christians believed in an embodied God; it was neo-Platonist influences that later turned Him into a disembodied Spirit. . Divinization, narrowing the space between God and humans, was also part of Early Christian belief. . The Church of Jesus Christ (LDS) views the Trinity as three separate divine beings , in accord with the earliest Greek New Testament manuscripts.

    · The Cross: .

    The Cross became popular as a Christian symbol in the Fifth Century A.D. . Members of the Church of Jesus Christ (LDS) believe the proper Christian symbol is Christ’s resurrection , not his crucifixion on the Cross. Many Mormon chapels feature paintings of the resurrected Christ or His Second Coming.

    · Christ’s Atonement: .

    But Mormons don”t term Catholics and Protestants “non-Christian”. . They believe Christ’s atonement in Gethsemane and on the Cross applies to all mankind. . The dictionary definition of a Christian is “of, pertaining to, believing in, or belonging to a religion based on the teachings of Jesus Christ”: . All of the above denominations are followers of Christ, and consider him divine, and the Messiah foretold in the Old Testament. They all worship the one and only true God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, and address Him in prayer as prescribed in The Lord’s Prayer.

    It”s important to understand the difference between Reformation and Restoration when we consider who might be authentic Christians. If members of the Church of Jesus Christ (LDS) embrace early Christian theology , they are likely more “Christian” than their detractors.

    * * *

    · Christ-Like Lives: . . .The 2005 National Study of Youth and Religion published by UNC-Chapel Hill found that Church of Jesus Christ (LDS) youth (ages 13 to 17) were more likely to exhibit these Christian characteristics than Evangelicals (the next most observant group):
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . LDS Evangelical
    Attend Religious Services weekly . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 71% . . . . 55%
    Importance of Religious Faith in shaping daily life –
    extremely important .. 52. . . . . . . 28
    Believes in life after death . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 76 . . . . . . 62
    Believes in psychics or fortune-tellers . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 0 . . . . . . 5
    Has taught religious education classes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 42 . . . . . . 28
    Has fasted or denied something as spiritual discipline . . . . . . . . . . . . . 68 . . . . . . 22
    Sabbath Observance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 67 . . . . . . 40
    Shared religious faith with someone not of their faith . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 72 . . . . . . 56
    Family talks about God, scriptures, prayer daily . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 50 . . . . . . 19
    Supportiveness of church for parent in trying to raise teen
    (very supportive) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .65 . . . . . . 26
    Church congregation has done an excellent job in helping
    Teens better understand their own sexuality and sexual morality . . . . . 84 . . . . . . 35

    Like

Leave a Reply

