LDS Church Bans Google….

Nah, not really. But if they they knew how many Mormons end up at Trapped by the Mormons, most via search engines, I’m thinking they’d be creating a Mormon-appropriate search engine from whence I would be banned. There might already be one, but I’m too lazy to look. The search engine, not the “banned.” Well, maybe the banned. Anyway….

So just to make a few things clear–and to cut down on all that pesky and annoying hate mail trying to set me straight–let me explain.

Trapped by the Mormons is a blog. As many of you know, a BLOG is basically a Web log, or an online journal. A journal is a collection of my thoughts, experiences, opinions, beliefs, etc. The difference between this blog and those journals I was hounded to keep as a young Mormon is YOU get to read it. Aren’t ya lucky? (Trust me, you would not want to read those journals. Good little Mormon girls do NOT have interesting lives. Safe, maybe, but interesting? No.)

Coming here? Totally your choice. You don’t have to read a word I say. However, be warned that if you incessantly comment on my blog about how you are not reading a word I say and that you will never again darken the doorway of this, er, blog, then I pretty much know you ARE reading it. I understand. It’s like a car wreck. Hard to look away from the carnage.

And if you call me a “you people?” Same same. I know what the YP term means. It’s a generic term for BIG FAT ANTI-MORMON. And I don’t agree. At least about the anti-Mormon part.

This is not an “anti-Mormon” site. I am a Mormon. Not by choice, of course. I was born into the Church, had some serious disagreements with the theology of the church, attempted to get my name removed, only to find it BACK ON a few years later–twice. At that point, I realized how very funny it all was. Why fight it? This is my culture, and I get to blog and talk about it.

I like Mormons. I don’t always agree with their actions. They don’t always agree with mine, either.

That’s cool. But please know this:

1. Calling me names and accusing me of hatred only make YOU look stupid to non-Mormons, who are, of course, the people you are most desperate to impress. It’s sort of like high school. Everybody’s looking for validation. It’s why our Trapped friend Wayne cites FPRs about baptisms going up when anti-Mormons meet. Validation is needed here. Of course, above statement is patently false, and really rather silly, but it’s Mormon nature. I know you want to think that people are inspired by your devotion and faith, but they really aren’t. If you’re a good person, they are inspired by that. They really don’t care that you wear special underwear. That, mostly, creeps them out.

In short, you are NOT doing yourself any favors.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to LDS Church Bans Google….

  1. JulieAnn says:

    Thank you. I’m getting a little sick of all of the hate mail on mine, too. It’s a bizarre thing when people search out stuff to rile them. I guess that’s the price you pay for leading a boring life, huh? LOL Maybe if some of these people drank COFFEE or something, the’d stay away from your blog?

    :0P

    Like

  2. aerin says:

    I still don’t understand how your name got back on the rolls after all this time.

    I, for one, hope you will continue blogging.

    It’s unfortunate that the people who disagree with your books or your blog can’t just let it go.

    Like

  3. azteclady says:

    The underwear thing? Extremely creepy, as far as I’m concerned. [Do I really want every person I meet on the street to know what I’m wearing under my street clothes????? eeeeeeeekkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk *shudder*]

    Like

  4. Cele says:

    Or not wearing 🙂

    Like

  5. Kane says:

    I had an interesting conversation yesterday with my former apartment manager. I moved out over a week ago and we needed to meet yesterday to do the final inspection and return the keys. When she called me to confirm the time I was coming over she mentioned she was at the mormon church. I couldn’t believe what I had heard.

    I waited until I met with her in person before asking more. At the end of the inspection I blurted out, “How long have you been going to the mormon church?” She replied “Since the end of December”. I mentioned that I was raised in the church and that my family was still extremely active. Her mother was recently converted and she went to the meetings because she was curious. We had a lengthy discussion about the LDS church, the bible and religion in general. I told her she needed to do independent research including non-approved reading material. I was sure to warn her to find out as much as possible and to really think about it hard before jumping into it. I hope she makes the right choice.

    CTR!! Peace.

    Like

  6. geneticerror says:

    Natalie, you are not too far off the mark when you say they’ve banned google. I saw on another board where they were encouraging internet searches through onlymormon.com. It searches only mormon approved sites. Very strange.

    Like

  7. Cele says:

    Oh mi gosh, Genetic, it is so google looking too.

    Like

  8. Alicia says:

    Oh my. This blog is apparently not mormon approved 😉 Just checked under both your name and the blog’s name and all I get is listings at BYU and movie reviews. Not much of a surprise, but it’s pretty damn funny.

    Like

  9. Elaine says:

    I’ve always believed that if a church…or government or political party or company, for that matter…is afraid of its members or associates hearing all sides of any issue, there is something seriously wrong with that organization and they are trying to hide something.

    Like

  10. Natalie says:

    LOLOl. I was SO totally kidding about the search engine thing. I SHOULD have known better. And I’m sure I don’t show up there!

    Like

  11. Pingback: Trapped by the Mormons » Blog Archive » Slap a Quarter in my Hand and Call Me Madame Zelda….

  12. Tracy says:

    Natalie, you have stated over and over again what your blog is all about, and people still yell at you.

    I understand your post, but I’m sure as it goes down the page, you will set someone else off with another post that they didn’t read. Maybe you should stick it at the top as a warning.

    Like

  13. Carrie says:

    The following quote from your blog is absolutely brilliant… it’s what I’ve been trying to put into words for years:

    “I know you want to think that people are inspired by your devotion and faith, but they really aren’t. If you’re a good person, they are inspired by that. They really don’t care that you wear special underwear. That, mostly, creeps them out.”

    Thank You.

    Like

  14. Janet says:

    in my experience – whatever the religion, people will be converted by the way its people live their lives. If you have a joyful, holy, faith filled spirit, people around you will want to expereince it too. However if you spout your faith indiscriminately and then live a hypocritical lifestyle, people will see it and get turned off. This is true of all faiths. And in my opinion, people will generally stay in a faith based on their loved ones more than the teachings of the religion- if they happen to have doubts about those teachings.

    natalie- I just found your blog and have been reading through the archives slowly but surely – I’ve finally made it to 2007! yeah!
    I apologize in advance for any grammar or typing errors that may be experienced!

    Like

Leave a Reply

