More Jesus Jammies Up the Flagpole

I believe that I have made my position clear, in the past. What position you might ask? Ah, that I do not agree with protesters or “Street Preachers” standing outside Mormon places of worship and screaming at the faithful.

In my opinion, this is nothing more than bullying, such as in the case of the Street Preacher waving a pair of garments, Mormon sacred underwear, aka Jesus Jammies at an LDS General Conference. I understand why the faithful take issue with this. Hell, I take issue with this, and I do NOT agree with Mormon theology.

While I personally find the idea of sacred underwear pretty darn silly, I’m not going to start waving it around, either. Especially in front of a Mormon building. If you want to come to my little spot on the web, and talk about it, we can, but you are GOING TO HAVE to search me out. I refuse to go to someone else’s place of worship and taunt them with their underwear. That’s so junior high.

The newest case of evangelistic Street Preachers came to a head in Arizona, when a preacher and a faithful Mormon woman, in a wheelchair no less, had a confrontation.

From the Arizona Republic:

Anne Carlisle just wanted to get to the Easter pageant at the Mormon temple Tuesday night in Mesa.

Lonnie Pursifull just wanted to save Mormons from what he believes is eternal damnation.

But when their paths crossed, neither backed down, and Carlisle won.

Pursifull ended up with a bruised shin, courtesy of Carlisle’s electric wheelchair. But she didn’t get out of it unscathed: The 64-year-old Carlisle was cited for disorderly conduct for fighting.

Evangelical STREET PREACHERS, how in the hell can you think SCREAMING at someone and telling them they are going to HELL is going to “SAVE” them? Jesus NEVER resorted to these tactics. NEVER. Even more, he sure as hell never went to THEIR place of worship and heckled the faithful. How did some (and I emphasize some) evangelical Christianity get so far off base?

I realize that Mormons send out missionaries in droves, and they show up at houses and even wait in shopping mall parking lots to pounce on unsuspecting “prospects.”

For the most part, however, these missionaries are nice and polite, and really all they want to do is baptize you before you can realize you’ve been snookered.

Hmmm. That doesn’t make them sound so nice. But remember, they are POLITE and they are not yelling, and for the most part, if you ask nicely, they will go away. They don’t carry signs telling you that you are going to hell. And they wouldn’t dream of waving your underwear for the world to see.

Even though THEY want to save YOU, too.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to More Jesus Jammies Up the Flagpole

  1. Tracy says:

    Mormons may not wave signs telling people they are going to hell, but when my mother was first married, she had a missionary come to the house once a week, so she and my dad could hear what Mormons believed, so they could have a better understanding of LDS.

    One week he brought another elder, a older man, I don’t know what his title was, anyway, this older man told my folks, because they were not married in the Mormon church, they were living in sin and will go to hell. My mom looked at my dad and said, “well honey, ain’t we having fun.”

    Needless to say the missionaries left immediately , although the young Mormon did come back the next week. At the end of the sessions, my mom almost had the young missionary convinced to leave LDS, but she never found out if he did or not.

    Like

  2. Natalie, I think you’re forgetting about the incident with Jesus and the moneychangers in the temple, so let’s not say he *didn’t* resort to similar tactics…

    Like

  3. Cele says:

    I think the “Jesus vs Moneychangers” was a totally different situation. Heck it was in a temple, if Jesus was going to chase the ill gotten from some place wouldn’t it be in his father’s house?

    I find it appalling that Ms. Carlisle was charged – but I wasn’t there so I dont’ know how many times she drove around the parking lot to run over him – but it is wrong to scream hell and damnation from anywhere.

    Like

  4. INTJ_Mom says:

    I grew up down in Mesa, that Easter pageant is a really big deal to the LDS there. I’m suspecting she was probably cited because she didn’t have to run down the preacher in order to get past him. We may think his tactics were in poor taste, but they are still protected by the 1st amendment.

    In other news it appears Mitt Romney is starting to pull some “Paul H. Dunn’s”. He was claiming that he’s a life long hunter. Apparently upon background checking he’s never held a hunting license and he’s actually only been hunting with someone else a few times. The more I read about this guy the more he is starting to come across as more flip-floppy than John Kerry. Apparently he’s not as good of a spin doctor as LDS, inc. I wonder if Gordon B. might rent the church’s PR factory to Romney.

    Like

  5. summer says:

    INTJ, what Romney doesn’t seem to understand is that the average voter is a lot smarter that the average Mormon or ardent churchgoer, in the way that we don’t just take his word as gospel truth. We check up on his claims. His word isn’t good enough. There is real truth and then there in invented truth.

    I suspect that is part of Romney’s problem. He seems to have this odd idea that people will believe that all of a sudden he is conservative. He said he was a lifelong hunter, well golly thats got to be true!

    Like

  6. Wayne says:

    About the LDS Garments: Every religion has their (what they consider sacred) symbols of their faith. Some wear very extravagant and brightly colored robes, and crown like caps (worn on the outside). Others wear crosses around their necks to show the world how much their faith in Jesus means to them. There are many symbolic items every believer uses to express to others their faith. It also helps remind the wearer (or bearer) of their faith and their God. Question: Why are the “Mormons” singled out for doing the same thing, but choosing not to flaunt them before the world? Though it may seem strange to others, they (the Garments) remind us of our obligation to serve God too.

    I went to an anti-Mormon meeting here is SLC years ago. The expert on the fallacies of Mormonism (Richard Bear) told the congregation: “I can’t understand it, but it is a well know fact that when we are in the area, the Mormons have an increase in conversions”.

    So all I can say to the “street preachers” is: “BRING IT ON”, we appreciate the help!

    Like

  7. Elaine says:

    I think a lot of the fascination with, and the problem some people have with, garments is that telling people what kind of underwear to wear is of a completely different magnitude than most things that most religions expect as a symbol of faith. Underwear is personal and it is intimate. Many people belive that it is not something that some outside entity should be deciding for the individual.

    Maybe some people don’t mind outsiders regulating every decision they make. That’s fine for them. I prefer to make my own decisions, thanks.

    Like

  8. INTJ_Mom says:

    Wayne, how many of those “conversions” are still active after 2 years? That’s the real question. When I was active Mormon and people talked about brainwashing and over controlling in the Mormon church, I didn’t see it. You’re brainwashed to think that as long as you keep baptizing people, things must be good. The fact that most converts leave after a short while is just ignored and swept under the carpet because it isn’t “faith promoting.” When the truth isn’t faith promoting, that should be a great big huge red flag! But because of the “brainwashing” people are trained and threatened into not questioning what their church leaders tell them. With Utah being the most Mormon place on earth it’s no wonder at all that Utah is the anti-depressant capital in the US, the MLM (scam) capital, and also the fraud capital. More people are scammed out of their life savings here by fraudulent sweepstakes and business schemes than anywhere else. And they aren’t all old senile people either. They are primarily TBMs!

    I agree with Elaine. I find any organization trying to regulate everything about a person’s life suspicious and offensive. BYU was where I started getting extremely suspicious of the LDS church. They go out of their way to seriously regulate a person’s life and I kept wondering why do they treat their students and church members which such disrespect? Why is there no trust? Why do they assume everyone is going to fornicate unless they impose all these very strict rules and regulations about where people can live, etc. I found it to be an atomosphere that was very insulting to my own personal integrity and intelligence. I am amazed that there are so many “sheep” in the world that will put up with that kind of crap.

    Like

  9. JulieAnn says:

    I think respect is the operative word here. Just because Mormons seem invasive to many, doesn’t mean we need to be disrespectful of them and their garments. The street preachers always give me the willy’s. You can’t fight fear with fear…

    Like

  10. summer says:

    Oh Wayne, you are a bit mistaken. I sometimes wear a cross necklace. I don’t think that cross is sacred and secret and that I don’t want to talk about it. Name one religion where the robes are considered sacred. They wear robes yes, but the robes in themselves are not sacred.
    You claiming that your underwear is sacred is what the fuss is all about. That your underwear is sacred is about as likely as the person at Mass actually partaking of the body of Christ.

    And look up the word sacred in the dictionary. It doesn’t mean secret.

    P.s. Molly the Mormon has brought forth another ‘blessing!’

    Like

  11. Wayne says:

    Summer:
    You don’t consider the ‘Cross’ sacred? I was under the impression that all Christians thought the cross was sacred. I guess I stand corrected. That is until I check it out with some of my Christian friends. One of my mother’s favorite songs was “The Old Rugged Cross”. She is now 93 years old and a very strong Born-again Christian. I am almost sure it would break her heart to hear someone say the cross is not “sacred”

    I think I found this in about 30 seconds.

    http://www.rc.net/wcc/cross12.htm

    On the same site I found the words to this song, so I copied and pasted them for your pleasure.

    (an early church hymn)

    Oh, the Cross, the Savior dying,
    Wounded sore, and faint, and sighing,
    Bowed beneath the burden lying
    On His spotless soul.
    ‘Tis thy load He falters under;
    Speaks not heav’n in wrathful thunder?
    Earth! behold the sight, and wonder,
    Love has borne the rod.
    Love has borne the rod.
    Canst thou love the sin that bound Him,
    Threw the robe of scorn around Him,
    Mocking bowed the knee, and crowned Him
    With the cruel thorn?
    Jesus, at Thy feet relenting,
    Bring I all my guilt repenting,
    All my cruel sin lamenting;
    Christ, my sin forgive!
    Christ, my sin forgive!

    Like

  12. Wayne says:

    Elaine:
    Thanks for your comments on April 12th!

    Like

  13. Wayne says:

    Natalie:
    As to our discussion on ‘Biblical scholars’ that reinforced the position of the LDS Church in regards to the subject of polygamy: See my response…..

    http://www.nataliercollins.com/weblog/2007/02/15/the-worst-massacre-in-utah-history/#comment-44714

    Like

  14. summer says:

    Wayne, I mean as in the cross that I am wearing is not sacred. If it falls of and I lose it, its not a big deal. What the cross represents is what is sacred.

    Like

Leave a Reply

