Miffed Mormons and the Dreaded C-Word

Everybody knows the MoMos don’t like coffee. Well, that’s not ENTIRELY true. The mainstream church SHUNS coffee as a violation of the Word of Wisdom. Frankly, for me, this is a BIG stretch, because HERE is what the WoW actually says:

9 And again, hot drinks are not for the body or belly.

No mention of coffee or tea. Sure as hell no mention of the dreaded CAFFEINE, a substance so vile that many a believing Mormon has put their OWN EYES OUT rather than be forced to consume the evil C-word. And hordes more drink it daily, but that’s another post. I feel a “faith promoting rumor” coming on.

Back to the matter at hand. If, in fact, one were to take Joseph Smith at his word, the hot cocoa routinely consumed in GIGANTIC proportions at many ward and church functions is actually VERBOTEN. Hot, remember. HOT! I wonder, however, if this should not extend itself to hot soup and broth? I mean, they are HOT. And where the heck did CAFFEINE end up coming out of that? Give me a break.

What was I talking about? Oh yeah. I spotted THIS story on the local news. And then I found a link to a CNN story with a GREAT headline.

Mormons miffed over coffee-swilling angel image

Says the story:

TAYLORSVILLE, Utah (AP) — For a coffee shop, T-shirts of a Mormon angel with java flowing into his trumpet are selling well. But they don’t have the blessing of religious leaders.

The shirts have upset the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Not only is the angel Moroni a revered figure — Mormons believe he appeared to church founder Joseph Smith — but church members are discouraged from drinking coffee.

Can I just be the first one here to say that it is not HARD to Miff the Mormons? Miffed Mormons are a centegral part of daily life here at Chez Collins.

We get a lot of mileage out of Miffed Mormons.

That said, the actual BIGWIGS up at CHURCH HEADQUARTERS are having their say in the Miffed Mormons Mess.

Says the story:

The church informed Beazer that the angel’s image is a registered trademark.

Registered TRADEMARK? Are you freaking kidding me? If you ever NEEDED proof that this is a business first, and a “religion” remotely further down the corporate tree, here it is.

If this was a RELIGION, they would have appealed to the owner to respect their religious icon. Not the Mormons, though. Oh no. They just threaten to sue for their registered TRADEMARK.

What’s next? A patent for Jesus Jammies? You can keep that, my friend….

I suspect next they will try to trademark Jesus. The Catholics and Christians will NOT be buying that one….

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Miffed Mormons and the Dreaded C-Word

  1. WendyP says:

    Hey Natalie. I talked to Suzy today and she said your daughter had a scary incident recently. When she was describing your daughter’s symptoms, it sounded a lot like something I had happen to me a couple times, called a Complex Migraine. http://www.intelihealth.com/IH/ihtIH/WSIHW000/20933/8480/443246.html

    Anyway, just thought I’d throw that out there, even though you probably already have it diagnosed and have moved on. Feel free to delete this comment, as it doesn’t really relate to the topic.

    Like

  2. Tracy says:

    “9 And again, hot drinks are not for the body or belly.”

    As I’m not a Mormon and not up to speed on all Mormon scripture, is the belly not part of the body? *Scratching head*

    Just wondering.

    Like

  3. summer says:

    I have noticed that when people are promoting Mitt Romney they tend to throw in the -doesn’t even drink coffee- line. Is that supposed to be a good thing? Do Mormons look down on people who do drink coffee?

    Mitt and his refusal to drink coffee lessens his stature in my book.

    What do Mormon women drink when they get together for umm coffee or whatever they drink?

    Like

  4. Natalie says:

    summer,

    Mormon women drink water. LOL. Or Diet Coke. Here’s the thing. Mormons don’t “DO coffee.” It’s just not acceptable to even say it, whether or not you are actually going to drink it. I had a roommate who told me that unless I got rid of my coffeemaker, she was going to have to move out. Sayonara, baby.

    Like

  5. Natalie says:

    Pat, you are confused. I do not HATE Mormons. I am no anti-Momite, no I am not. What YOU are not considering is that I have some valid points here. Do I think that YOU also have some valid points? Yes.

    Now pick yourself up off the floor and consider this. YOU belong to a religion that sends thousands of missionaries out every day to try to convince other people that they have the ONLY TRUE THING. No one else has it. Not ONE OTHER RELIGION can make this claim. At least according to Mormonism.

    Guess what? As long as Mormons make these claims, ex- and non-Mormons have the right to say WHY they don’t believe it is so. The day YOU stop harassing other people to convince them of your superiority is the day that I stop writing this blog. If Mormonism left me alone, I would thusly leave IT alone. That has not yet, nor will it EVER happen.

    And YOU, as a believing Mormon, should understand WHY this is true. You know very well what lengths relatives and church members go to to BRING an errant member back in. THERE IS NO RESPECT. You give it to me, and you’ll get it back.

    And comparing me to an anti-Semite IS NOT a way to earn my respect.

    And don’t tell me that it is easy to leave Mormonism. That’s a blatant and very false lie. No one is allowed to get away. To leave, or make a clean break. NO ONE GETS to just walk away. You are ridiculed, “love-bombed,” spoken of with hushed tones and derision. You do not get to CONTROL your destiny or outlook, because someone else thinks this is the WRONG answer for you.

    I have chosen to write about this culture, warts and all. That doesn’t make people like you happy. Well, Mormonism and its many falsehoods doesn’t make ME happy, so there, we are even.

    And you had better explain your “hurting people,” comment, because there is ABSOLUTELY no proof of that. Who am I hurting? Someone who thinks they have the ONLY TRUE THING, and is pissed off that I don’t agree?

    You also have not adequately explained the ban on coffee, thing. If you are GOING to get your panties in a twist over it, back it up. Give me reasons WHY.

    If you can come up with ANY valid points instead of just being offended, I will GLADLY listen. But I suspect that is not YOUR goal.

    Like

  6. Natalie says:

    How did I hurt you? Be more specific. You are HURT because I don’t believe you have the only true thing? This was NOT a personal attack on you, unlike your “anti-Semite” accusations against me.

    I believe Mormonism to be PATENTLY false. I do not, however, believe individual Mormons are patently false. I think they are mostly kind, loving human beings who TRULY BELIEVE what they are trying to live. Most of them. Well, a lot of them. Unfortunately, belief that you have THE ONLY TRUE THING leads to arrogance and condescension. Is this endemic only with Mormons. OF COURSE NOT. It just happens to be the society where I live.

    I have no problem with you explaining yourself to me. I have no problem with open dialogue. But your first comment was nothing but pretense. So I removed it. And the email address you leave is also not valid.

    And you are actually QUITE eloquent.

    I’m sorry if my words hurt you, but just as you have the right to tell me you have the only truth, I have the right to tell you that I believe you do not. At least I am willing to back it up with fact and not just slam you with accusations which are not true.

    Like

  7. Cele says:

    There is one more prospective that Pat should consider in your arguments on her charges towards you. She came to YOUR blog. She sought out YOUR blog. To my knowledge you did not go to her blog first, email her first.

    I know several Mormons who drink pop, drink cocoa or hot chocolate, and who drink tea. I have literally witnessed a Mormon mom, berate her child for drinking a coke (actually it was a pepsi,) take it from her, and finish it off herself. There of course is the argument that they are non Utah Mormons.

    I on the other hand have been highly offended when Mormon Missionaries (not in the US but in Germany) knocked on my door, asked what religion I was, and then told me I am not a true believer. I didn’t go looking for them. I asked many times for them not to return. I posted a notice (as did almost everyone in our building) that soliciting regilion was forbidden. But I really used the word Verbotten – because I was in Germany. It didn’t stop them, they did not and do not respect my perspective or wishes or religion.

    Like

  8. Lyndsey says:

    I find it interesting that Mormons avoid coffee and tea like the plague but ignore the rest of the Word of Wisdom. Forgive me I don’t know how to link so I will just quote it.

    “Yea, flesh also of beasts and of the fowls of the air, I the Lord, have ordained for the use of man with thanksgiving; nevertheless they are to be used sparingly; And it is pleasing unto me that they should not be used, only in times of winter, or of cold, or famine.” D&C 89: 12-13

    I know plenty of Mormons and they all eat meat on a daily basis. How did avoiding hot drinks become more important than the rest of the Word of Wisdom? Shouldn’t it all be the same?

    Also, I didn’t know the angel Moroni had a particular look. Does he wear a nametag,like a missionary, “Angel Moroni”? If the coffee company changed their imagine to a “generic” angel would there be less of an uproar?

    Like

  9. summer says:

    Coffee and tea are better for the body than hot chocolate and all is sugary sweetness.

    P.S. I am traveling west and will be going thru Utah this summer. Am I going to have to seach long and hard for restaurants that serve coffee? Do gas stations have coffee?

    Like

  10. T.W. says:

    Tracy, when we say that “hot drinks” aren’t good for the body, we are talking about the likelihood of being severely burned in a McDonald’s drive through. The pouring of hot drinks on to the body is actually the one thing that most Mormon’s manage to do quite well. Avoiding the Starbucks Drive Thru while talking on your cell phone to your visiting teachers is key, however.

    As for the coffee swilling Angel Moroni, a simple disclaimer on the T-shirt that “THIS SHIRT IS INTENDED FOR PARODY PURPOSES. THE ANGEL MORONI DOES NOT REALLY CONDONE DRINKING COFFEE, NOR DOES HE REALLY EXIST.” would probably allow a good First Amendment argument if the Church were to sue.

    And as for the C-word, I love drinking that up.

    Like

  11. i’ve wondered about the hot chocolate thing too; and chocolate in general. Chocolate has caffeine in it. And it also works on endorphines – so it is a stimulant, “mind-altering” food as well.

    it sounds as if, in order to be consistent in the whole line of thinking, they should be promoting a strictly “whole foods” type diet – nothing with added hormones (lots of beef, milk and chicken contain these) and nothing with chemical perservatives… etc.

    interesting discussion…

    blessings,
    karla

    Like

  12. Joe, point taken. Perhaps a few are allowed to leave without ever hearing another word.

    Like

  13. TW, that’s IT! That’s the reason. It’s to avoid burns. Now it all makes sense….

    Like

  14. Alicia says:

    Yeah it’s true there are other crazy people in different religions, but you can’t compare the few to what the entire church is actually saying (at least in the Holy Land) . TrappedinKansas, I don’t think it’s fair to compare Mormonism to other religions because really, it’s a totally different ballpark. Sure, Italy is predominantly Catholic but that doesn’t exactly mean “Catholics have there own country.” Unless the Pope is directly passing laws for the Italian state, your statement doesn’t fly. I think he actually got his little papal panties in a twist a while ago because some politicians weren’t being more Catholic. Mormons are in a different league from other religions from what I’ve seen, their overzealous recruiting techniques are frankly more than a bit scary. Plus, there’s no studying required before you join. Other religions like Catholicism and Judaism require intense studying and you have to prove that you believe what they’re teaching. They need more than a little heartburn to add you to their membership list. Plus, as far as I’m aware, though other religions do help out drug-addicted/homeless/down on their luck people, Mormons are the only ones I’ve noticed actively snatching those people up into their churches at the most unstable emotional events in their lives and baptising them. Most churches just to try to help them, if they decide they want to join that particular religion that’s fine, but Mormons seem to target these people specifically. At least, that’s what I saw when one of my older friend’s basically looked after this drug-addicted teenage girl for a few years, she was so happy when she was finally baptised. Never mind that the kid knew nothing about Mormonism. They did a great thing for her, but with the wrong intentions.
    Oh and, I’ve gained a new appreciation for the patience ex-Mormons have. Recently at my school we’ve been having these religious retreats for seniors only, and every time a group comes back they remind me of the way Mormons try to recruit people. They constantly bring up what a wonderful thing Kairos is, how everybody just HAS to go or they’re basically going to wither away because of course your life is meaningless unless you’ve been, they act like they’re in a secret society that’s better than the unenlightened masses, and they cannot understand just WHY you get mad when they sign you up for the next one after you’ve specifically asked them not to. They think they’re doing it for your own good and you don’t know what’s best for you. They can’t understand why you just don’t feel it’s your thing, it’s great that they enjoyed it but it’s not the same for everyone. (Didn’t help that they sent a guidance counselor after me who called me down in the MIDDLE of class just to ask me why I didn’t want to go and started to totally grill me about it)
    Wow … that was really long … and all rambly o.o On-topic: I doubt highly that they basically banned smoking and coffee for health reasons, it’s just a lucky coinkidinky. And there’s nothing wrong with coffee except it tastes bad. Don’t they also ban alcohol? Hasn’t it been proven if you have a cup of red wine a day, it’s actually good for you? Not so hard to realise they were just randomly outlawing things, it’s a typical technique of most religions – you see people enjoying it, by God you HAVE to ban it. It’s like a commandment or something.

    Like

  15. kd says:

    Damn, I thought that the prohibition was that Mormons weren’t supposed to refill the pot. I thought the coffee thing was like the beer probition: Mormons can drink all the coffee and beer that want. They just aren’t allowed to help make it or pay for it.

    I might just be confusing practices with beliefs.

    Like

  16. Kane says:

    This is an interesting topic. When I was mormon I loved Dr Pepper and my mother would even buy cases of it for me. No one in my family drinks coffee but you should see the amount of soda my brother consumes. No wonder he has so many kidney stones. It’s as if the temperature is the only thing that keeps people from drinking coffee. Maybe they should try an iced caramel frappuccino.

    I used to drink coffee but now I am huge on herbal teas. These are sooo healthy for you. Just google green red or white tea. These teas have lots of anti-oxidants that slow aging, prevent cancer and promote overall good health. Some green and white teas have natural caffeine in them. I personally prefer red tea (rooibos) as it has no caffeine, twice as many anti-oxidants and the best taste. I get all of my tea from http://www.teavana.com

    Like

  17. azteclady says:

    Alicia, I think TrappedinKansas may mean [url=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vatican_City]the Vatican[/url] when s/he talks about ‘Catholic country’

    On the other hand, you are correct that anyone wanting to be baptized Catholic is required to do some serious studying (with the exception of babies born to Catholic parents–but those do have to study as they grow up, and confirm their faith a couple of time down the line).

    And so far I’m not aware of any dead non-Catholics being baptized by any Catholic priest, either.

    Like

  18. Natalie says:

    TrappedinKansas, was this a typo? “Every Christian religion i know of (except strangely enough morons) PAYS it’s spiritual leaders. That sounds like a business paying employees to me.”

    Are you DEFENDING Morons? Hmmm? LOL.

    Like

  19. Natalie says:

    FYI, I find it odd that so many Mormons find this blog and attempt to defend THEIR religion by bashing other religions, as TrappedinKansas did. What is the point? I’m not comparing them, so why do they do this?

    Like

  20. Natalie says:

    Not making fun, Kansas. Just gentle gibing. I typo, too. Usually at the most inopportune times. You have to admit, it was funny.

    I agree with the smoking thing. I think that it really IS just common sense. Plus it stinks.

    I also have to agree that much about your point IS valid. It’s unfortunate that the “business” steps into the “God” part, but it happens in almost any organized religion.

    Like

  21. Natalie says:

    Oh, I also want to point out that I feel PAID clergy is the only way to go. At least this way you can keep them HONEST. They have accountability that volunteers do not. Let’s face it, you are dealing with humans here.

    Like

  22. Natalie says:

    Hmmm. Both TrappedinKansas and Pat’s comments have disappeared. And I did not delete them. Very strange. Anyone have any theories?

    Like

  23. Mary says:

    Re the paid clergy, I also strongly agree that paid clergy are the way to go. The leaders of our churches (I’m Baptist) are required to have advanced training in theology, Biblical exegesis, pastoral counseling, Greek, etc., etc. before they act as any congregation’s spiritual leader or advisor. I would much rather seek guidance from someone who has knowledge and the credentials to prove it than be advised by an amateur with no special training and no accountability. I also prefer to get medical advice from someone with an MD degree rather than my neighbor who read a magazine article or who has garnered respect by making a lot of money in business.

    Like

  24. Cele says:

    I am in disagreement. While the concept of paid clergy boggles my mind on several points. In no perticular order, other than the order inwhich they came to mind…

    1) Too, far too, often the upper echelon of clergy make FAR more than the peons who pay their wages to gain their spiritual guidance and insights, while condesending to the “untouchables.” Using Catholocism as an example, how many everyday Catholics can get an appointment with the Pope.

    2) Why should I pay a middle man to talk with God for me. My religion with God is between me and God.

    3) Why should a Pastor or a Minister feel they need to be paid for their calling? Now if they spent all their time (even 40 hours a week) tending to their “flock” I’d consider it, but how many ministerers take jobs on the side, or spend all their time playing golf? I know many.

    4) In many religions a minister (male or female) who divorces can not minister anymore. Why, to me this makes them more human and more capable of fulfill my needs with their personal insights.

    5) If I feel a person who went to school to be a minister has more of a right to stand by and minister faith than I do, you do, or whom ever does? Doesn’t that say that God and Jesus are out of the reach of the everyday believers?

    6) I get very annoyed people, who when discussing scripture, tell me that isn’t how it was meant/interpreted. Sometimes having gone to Theology School means they over think it. The Bible and its message is straight forward, why do we have to interpret it? Why do we need extra books to understand it? Because without the need, we don’t need paid Clergical hierarchy.

    There are regilions that do not pay their clergy or elders. Two I can think of off hand are the Society of Friends and Jehovah Witnesses. Now these are just my personal beliefs. While I bullet pointed my arguments against paid clergy, I’m not quite as against it as I sound – I do understand that congregations support their ministers and pastors, but I think they support them far too much. The minister often loses the insights of daily life to help their “flocks.”

    Like

  25. Mary says:

    1. Certainly there are upper echelon clergy who are very well compensated and correspondingly unavailable. I am not and would not ever be a member of a church led by such a person. Until enough people vote with their feet, however, there will always be the John Hagees and Ted Haggards of the world. From my point of view, the Pope is irrelevant since Baptists are not a heierarchical organization. (Or even a single organization.)

    2. Who said the clergy talk to God for me? I don’t ascribe any special powers of communication to them.

    3. Every pastor I have known (and I am related to one and know others well) do in fact spend at least 40 hours per week if not more tending to their flocks–hospital visitation, counseling, sermon preparation, and so on. And I assure you they are not getting rich by doing so. If there are clergy spending all their time playing golf, and I don’t doubt there are, then their congregants have the right and the responsibility to vote with their feet, or at least their checkbooks.

    4. Not every church has hard and fast rules about what can or cannot be in a minister’s past, and people have the right and obligation to decide what is important to them. I know there are Baptist churches with very strict rules, for example….I have chosen to be a member of a more tolerant, moderate congregation.

    5. Not sure why having a trained clergy must imply that God is out of reach of the everyday believer? Again, I don’t see ministers as having any special access to God that I don’t have. They just have a different knowledge base. I am a trained, professional musician. Anyone who wants to play the violin can and should be able to play the violin, but they are not necessarily going to be teaching my children.

    6. Ministers, at least good ones, do not tell people how the Bible should be interpreted. They share information and their own opinions, which are based on a different knowledge base than the average layperson’s. That doesn’t mean they have the final say nor does it mean that laypeople don’t have the responsibility to decide for themselves what the Bible is saying to them. I read a lot on many subjects, including theology and church history, and have my own opinions which may or may not be swayed by something I hear in a sermon, but if a question is raised about the original Greek text, I am reliant on people who have made a point of studying such things.

    Like

  26. Mary says:

    Re my comment #3, “does” and “his/her”, not “do” and “their.” Verbs and subjects that don’t agree are one of my pet peeves. Aaargh.

    Like

  27. Cele says:

    Very good arguments Mary thank you for the dialogue. I didn’t say a clergy speaks for every person with God, or you inspecifics, but you can’t deny middle man philosophy is in many religions. As I said I’m not as against paid clergy as it sounds, I am mostly in disagreement with the Upper Echelon/Upper Class division in many religions.

    But I will argue against the “Greek text / interpretation” argument every time. And And to be clear about this, I didn’t point out Baptist based religions, although there are many Upper Echelon abusers the past of Baptist based religions as there are in most religions that give single people too much power, privelege, and compensation.

    Once again Mary thank you for the dialogue, for the exchange of basis and thoughts.

    Like

  28. Mary says:

    Likewise, Cele, thank you for the opportunity to clarify my thoughts on paid clergy. I think we will have to agree to disagree on the “Greek text” argument. Anyone who knows me could assure you that I consider myself to be at least the intellectual equal of any other person including those with doctorates in theology. LOL. But I have chosen to spend my time in studying subjects other than Biblical languages and therefore refer to trusted sources if I have a question.

    Like

  29. Natalie says:

    TrappedinKansas, I have NO idea why, but your comments ended up flagged as spam. I had to seek help to retrieve them from the dreaded spam eater, but they are NOW restored.

    Like

  30. Natalie says:

    summer,

    Coffee is NOT hard to find here. Even good coffee. Starbucks is growing and thriving here, as well as a few local joints like Grounds for Coffee. And all the gas stations carry the evil brew, too. LOL.

    Like

  31. Melissa says:

    Paid clergy… Simply put, whether or not you are in the ministry, one has to be able to provide for their family. Yes, churches can give their pastors a parsonage or a place to live, but that doesn’t buy them clothes for their fmaily, food, or pay for medical expenses, or a vehicle to get around. My mom is in the ministry and is not compensated monetarily. Yes, she is provided a place to live free of charge and they do provide some opprotunities for meals but she is totally dependant on other people’s willingness to give for her other expenses… phone, vehicle, insurance, clothing… And she wouldn’t change what she does for all the money in the world. I do think that peope that are dependant on mission support are more in it becasue they feel “called” to do what they are doing. But let’s face it… even other pastors and leaders (for the most part) in churches who are “paid” aren’t getting rich because they are in the church (at least the one’s that I’ve run across.) They do it because they are called to it, not for the money. Let’s face it, the money’s not that great.

    Like

  32. azteclady says:

    I feel compelled to mention that some small, independent churches do make money for unscrupulous people posing as religious leaders.

    As far as paid clergy goes, I agree with Natalie. Catholic priests, nuns, etc. pretty much are completely dependent on the body of the Church for room, board, medical treatments, etc. Many of them spend way more than 40 hrs a week doing the Church’s work.

    Anecdotal evidence: the priest who administered to my stepfather during his illness visited at home once a week for an hour, around 9PM. He gives two different classes on adult Catechism a week; officiates Mass once a day (in Mexico it’s common to have early morning and late evening Mass every day of the week); he also has a weekly counseling session for grieving families. There are baptisms, confirmations, weddings, funeral masses, visiting the sick in their homes or hospital rooms. And he doesn’t have exclusive use of a car either, but shares with the other two priests in his congregation.

    This of course doesn’t negate the fact that the Vatican, cardinals, bishops, etc. seem to live quite comfortably, but that would be (in my opinion) due to obsolete specific procedures and uses in the system rather than a corrupt one.

    That’s $0.02

    Like

  33. As far as trademark goes, I would like to point out that it appears Moroni is NOT trademarked, at least by the COJCOLDS. Note I say appears…. So their argument was pretty much dishonest, as well as strong-handed.

    Like

  34. Cele says:

    To be clear on my meaning, because I was apparently far from clear. I’m not referring to priest and nuns when I mean paid clergy. I have an aunt who is happily retired on the grounds of Notre Dame after five decades of servitude to the Roman Catholic Church. She has never owned her own home, lived in an apartment off grounds, and as Aztec pointed out she was on call 24 / 7. The stipend she recieved barely covered her femine needs. I do include the upper echelon though.

    What I meant was the Pat Roberts, Oral Roberts, Jimmy Swaggerts, Jim Jones, Jim Bakers, Bagwan Shree Rashnees, Jesse Jacksons, (enter a gross of other names here) and other bottom feeders who live off of the backs of many. They leave a bad taste in my mouth, they give faith a bad name, religion already has a bad name. And to those whose names I left out – yeah I meant you.

    To those of you, who I may have offended I apologize. I dont’ mean to offend, as many of you feel strongly about certain issues so do I. I try to remain calm in my discussions, but some times I get hot headed. Sometimes I am not clear in my intent. And sometimes I just don’t think things through thoroughly – those things I have the ability to change my mine. But being a hot head is not good for arguments and not good for a Quaker. My apologies.

    Like

  35. azteclady says:

    (((Cele)))

    Well, I was trying not to name names myself but let me echo your list there.

    Like

  36. Tania says:

    I get so tired of the Mormons preaching about the don’ts of the Word Of Wisdom and none of them follow the do’s. The state of Utah is number one in anti depressant use and is also top of the list as the fattest state. The Word of Wisdom has a great diet plan and yet there are many obese Mormon women out there in Utah.

    Also, I went into Starbucks and ordered a Pumpkin Spice Frapacinno and they made it with milk not coffee. When I complained about this fact, I was told that I did not order it with coffee and they have been trained in Utah to make it with cream. WTF. I have to specify coffee in a coffee shop. Only in Utah.

    Like

  37. I’m an exmo. (papered and all). My exit was facilitated by my love for coffee and the rath it conjured up with co-workers here in Utah. Short story, I was drinking coffee at work and was told by an friendly mo that I may want to stop making it at work since he witnessed a current bishop/co-worker red-handed maybe modifying the contents of my pot. I quit as advised and pursued a self-study on the history of the beliefs which led to my eye-opening discovery about the truth of the church.

    I also posted a question on FAIRS about the newest scientific study endorsing the benefits of coffee. That was a mistake I was called uninformed, stupid and uneducated, by no less than a medical doctor and another spin-doctor BYU graduate.

    One more point, I was a pre-teen in the late 50’s and was told by my SS teacher that they could no longer mention Coke, Coca-Cola or Pepsi in their WOW sermons because Coke had threatened to cancel their order of sugar from U&I Sugar company. They happened to be the single largest customer.

    Like

  38. Natalie says:

    Okay, WOW Bruce. I never thought about the sugar connection. Just WOW.

    Like

  39. Beazer says:

    We have a new t-shirt. The hand still comes out of the clouds and is still pouring coffee but the image of Moroni is gone. In its place is a caption that reads ” The Lord Giveth and A church taketh Away”. If you want to order one, call “Just Add Coffee” at 801-969-2300.

    Like

  40. Pingback: Trapped by the Mormons » Blog Archive » Just Add Humor….

  41. Pingback: Health Personal Training Body Building

Leave a Reply

