Two Random Tidbits from Behind the Zion Curtain

So, one of Gayle Ruzicka’s children has passed away. She has a lot of them, and I am not privy to her family history, so I have no idea where Josh Ruzicka fell in the mix, but I would like to feel compassion for her. And yet, when she feels no compassion for anyone ELSE, how do I do this? This is a woman who has destroyed lives, all in the name of her GOD and HER idea of morality. How does one empathize with that?

I guess I will do my best. Godspeed, Josh Ruzicka. I don’t know why you died, at such a young age, but I hope you have found peace.

Gayle? This pain you must feel? Remember it. Don’t ever act or opine or try to force others to bend to your moral will, without thinking that perhaps it could have dire consequences. Please.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I heard tonight on the news that Copper Hills High School is giving out a beer stein and a champagne glass as souvenirs for junior prom. Apparently, they have been doing this for years. And a FATHER is up in arms about this, saying it is inappropriate.

I know, I know, you are waiting for me to lambast him, but wait… Beer steins and champagne glasses? I watched this news story, and thought, WHAT? And no one has commented on this until NOW? These are HIGH SCHOOL KIDS. Boys and girls who don’t even have the sense to move out of the road when a CAR is driving toward them. And this is Utah. We don’t even let our children have CLUBS that might even NOD toward acceptance of “alternative” lifestyles (see above note about Ruzicka).

Why has this been going on for years? Why don’t you just HAND these kids a GUN and encourage some Russian roulette? Maybe give them some cyanide and a recipe for Kool-aid? PEOPLE… Kids do NOT need encouragement for destructive behavior, and teenagers do NOT have much luck with self-monitoring or shut off buttons.

Okay, I know that this whole issue is probably silly, and that it IS, after all, just some glassware, but it IS glassware that is used–and identified–expressly with alcohol. If you are going to give a souvenir, give them a chastity belt keyring, or a Friends of Bill T-shirt.

Stay AWAY from the alcohol endorsements. This is UTAH people. You’re known for extreme control. This is a time to use it. Don’t encourage alcohol use in mutants. And these are teenagers. Again, they WALK DOWN THE STREET AND FACE DOWN CARS LIKE RABID BULLS. Mutants. Don’t give them any ammunition. Sheesh.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Two Random Tidbits from Behind the Zion Curtain

  1. Won't Say says:

    Shh…but all is not well in La Casa Ruzika. You should hear the stories about her ne’er-do-well children.

    Like

  2. Cele says:

    I can only imagine what happened with the Mutant Rabid Teens. But you are right, why would anyone think a beer stein an appropriate gift for a teen?

    Like

  3. Tracy says:

    Well geeze Won’t Say, leave us hangin’ why don’t you.

    Like

  4. T.W. says:

    Doing my part to participate in dialogue and be clear and concise, I investigated your links to Ruzika’s sons obituary and found something even more disturbing than the ads I see on the page opposite me right now (LDS Missionary Cookies and .94 cent Beer Mugs and Mormon Ringtones).

    The Newspaper Agency Corporations revolving internet ad policy provided some cosmic (well, OK, electronic) commentary on Gayle’s efforts to squelch anything sexual in the media.

    And finally, what are you doing advertising Beer Mugs on your site? Teenagers might be reading this thing — you have no age filters.

    Like

  5. Oh hell, TW. You are giving me a major headache. Google just DECIDES, based on keywords, I guess, what ads will show. I don’t PICK the ads myself. What the hell did I do to make you so irksome?

    Like

  6. azteclady says:

    Natalie, I don’t think you need to actually do anything for some to be irksome–apparently your gall at being openly not Mormon (egads!) is more than enough. Then you happen to be an articulate and outspoken female…

    On the matter of Google ads *chuckle* T.W. might want to check how that works for the internet as a whole before spewing criticism…

    (… or perhaps s/he was aiming for sarcasm but was too subtle for me to discern *shrug*)

    Like

  7. JulieAnn says:

    Oh HELL people, can’t you see sarcasm when it’s proffered you?

    TW is JOKIING about the ads (I know his style; he comments on my blog all the time)

    And I’m *pretty sure* TW knows about the ads (have you checked out his blog? Anyone who can manage a link to a hyperlink in a COMMENT obviously knows what he’s talking about.

    In terms of this post: I don’t care what Ms. Ruzika has to hurt other people, my heart goes out to any mother who loses a child. I would never connect anything she has done or not done in the past in relation to that. There would be no greater grief; as one human being to another, she gets my full sympathy without any pedantic ironies attached to it.

    My two cents.

    Like

  8. JulieAnn says:

    I re-read my post and it sounds kinda bitchy in regards to TW. I meant to add some “LOL’s” and :0)’s in there! :0)

    Peace

    Like

  9. RobertD-B says:

    Often my views and those of Gayle Ruzicka are diametrically opposed. That said let us be careful with our criticisms at this time. Make sure that you criticize her ideas (or her reasoning) instead of resorting to ad hominem attacks regarding the death of her son. Again, her views are extreme, but her inappropriate oversimplifications (and yours too) of very complex matters are separate from this tragedy. Your caustic, turbid, criticisms should be limited to her ideological assertions. Your post is in very poor taste.

    Like

  10. D says:

    I stumbled upon your blog and I just want to say that your sentiment is likey shared amongst many people viewing the death of Josh Ruzicka, and I must tell you that his death should not be sensationalised upon because of his family’s politcal/religious stance. I would like to confirm that I do not share the same value/moral system of Gayle – But I was a close friend of Josh’s and I can say that no matter what his beliefs were, however conflicting with the majority of his family’s, Gayle is a good mother to her childern and it is pure proof since even though some of her children do not share her beliefs, they still love her like any other would love their mother.
    So, just when you think you’ve got someone else’s life figured out – take a step back and realize that we are all sentient beings on this earth with many different facets of personality. That’s the problem: we need to see people as individuals, not judge them by certain groups they might affiliate themselves with. I know this is the root of the problem of Mormons and other groups that live by extreme standards…they judge people in groups. Gayle loved her son and his friends, even though as a whole, the crowd Josh hung out with would be looked down upon by the church – most of us have tattoos and drink and smoke…. but it doesn’t mean that even someone like Gayle didn’t like us individually. There are serious contradictions and problems with people holding too high of opinions of themself. Get off your high horse – including you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

