Scaring Mormons, one Saint at a time….

# grotesque Says:

March 3rd, 2007 at 4:36 pm

You… so, so sure of yourself… you scare me, Natalie. A lot. I think you’re doing more harm than good here. Do you write like this to seem stronger? I would guess that it points to something else.

Hey, happy to do my part. Pointing directly at the temple, that’s me, with a third and fourth finger pointed at church. (Hey, it’s not a LIE. There is a Mormon church on every other BLOCK here in Utah. Some of them are right across the street from each other!)

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Scaring Mormons, one Saint at a time….

  1. Cele says:

    Wow, you scare someone Natalie. But then I understand that when faced with the truth some people become very scared.

    Like

  2. grotesque says:

    Right back at you, Cele.

    Like

  3. T.W. says:

    All this finger pointing and church talk, got me thinking . . .
    Why do all the temples look like they are flipping me off?

    Must be a sign.

    Like

  4. Melissa says:

    Grotesque,
    shouldnt you be studying your scriptures, visiting less actives or going to mutual? Last time I checked, you shouldnt be associating with people like us – you know, the whole temple interview thing? Or do you lie on that question. i think you should go to your broom closet and repent!

    Like

  5. Del says:

    Natalie,
    Personally, I believe (sounds almost like a testimony doesn’t it!) you are doing a lot more GOOD than harm. Being a fairly recent addition to the folks who will be sent to outer darkness for apostasy from the LDS faith, your blog has helped me sort out the differences between Mormon fact and fiction, magical thinking and fairy tales. Thanks for providing logical, factual posts. The give and take of those who comment on your blog is appreciated as well.
    Also, I just finished your book “Behind Closed Doors.” I thoroughly enjoyed it.
    Del

    Like

  6. Alicia says:

    Nobody should be taking ‘grotesque’ seriously, he is making no point other than Natalie is telling the TRUTH so he can’t argue against it. The best he can come up with is saying Natalie’s sure of herself. Someone *please* call the police, we can’t have a self-assured truth-wielding woman running around! Someone might realise it’s all a sham …. Anyway, I still can’t fathom why people deliberately search Natalie out and then blame her for saying things they don’t want to hear even though they came with an agenda. This is HER blog, don’t like what she says? Don’t read it. She’s not out crusading around town posting her blog address on temple doors. Blogs are like a person’s home: their turf, their rules. You can’t just turn around – after willingly walking in yourself – and say ‘you need to change this. I don’t like what you’re doing.’ Ever heard of freedom of speech? Maybe Natalie should put a “Beware, Truth Inside” sign up, much like the ones you see warning people about dogs.

    Like

  7. TeMpTiNgSeRpEnT says:

    The Mormon religon is proven fraud and fabrication. Of this there is no doubt. Therefore. Why is the church not confronted publicly? I’m new to the SLC valley, and it just seems common sence to me. The church is little more then a Not for Profit- For Profit Business.

    Like

  8. JulieAnn says:

    Sorry…I am looking at your links. ‘Mormon ringtones’? What do they play? Someone sneezing “bullshit!”? Or maybe the Black Eyed Peas? “No, no, no, no, baby no, no, no, don’t liieeeee”. He he couldn’t resist.

    Like

  9. Tracy says:

    TeMpTiNgSeRpEnT , Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh… your spoiling the whole thing…gosh!

    Like

  10. kd says:

    Somehow, I don’t think that the writer of thrillers is going to feel all that bad when someone says their work is scary. I think I will put this one in the list of insults that fell flat.

    BTW, the BoM really scares. People that believe that could be capable of anything. I wouldn’t want to lead my wagon train through a mountain meadow where people are reading and reciting the BoM.

    Like

  11. NotASmith says:

    Scared? That was how I felt my ENTIRE LIFE in the mormon cult!

    Thank God for Natalie and all the other brave speakers of the truth! The truth of how very destructive the cult truly is… that truth has totally SET ME FREE. No longer am I chasing my tail in a tighter, faster, more vicious circle … wondering why I can’t focus on anything the more I try to live the way the cult insisted I should.

    Now, I am finding real peace in my life, even if I don’t go around drinking, cussing and sexing like the cult said I would if I walked away from it. The mormon cult is a living lie – it IS the “great whore of the earth”!

    Like

  12. Stacey Pokorney says:

    Say, kd, I haven’t read the BOM – I am a Christian, not a Mormon – but have you or anyone else here read the fascinating book called “The Spaulding Enigma?”

    Seems someone other than JS wrote the BOM, and the history is VERY interesting…no wonder the LDS church doesn’t want anyone to read it!
    Stacey in Dallas

    Like

  13. Jason Boggs says:

    The whole Spaulding manuscript theory is junk…I mean, anyone on this site that has done research and has actually read the manuscript knows that it doesn’t even parallel with the BOM. Comments like these are rumors presented as doctrine.

    Like

  14. Stacey Pokorney says:

    Not trying to present rumors, I saw the book at Barnes & Noble but haven’t read it. I was asking because I really wanted to know.

    Like

  15. Kellie Vander Veur says:

    Came across your blog today. It’s fantastic. As a forced-to-be-babtized-at-eight Mormon, I have been very seriously exploring having my name removed from the roles. It angers me that they count me as one of their faithful. I am sooo far from that. I know so many intelligent people who are Mormon. I don’t get it! They are all blind to the history of their religion. I’ve been told numerous times that they don’t question their faith. BIG MISTAKE! I look forward to reading more of your blogs.

    Like

  16. temptingserpent says:

    Mitt Romney, when asked if he would go to war with Iran said. He would have to check with his Lawyers..I think we all know that he really meant to say. He would have to check with his Bishop. I would never vote for a presidential candidate that doesnt make decisions based on sound information and his Faith. Yet, when he is asked about his faith..Mr. Romney encourages people to learn about mormonisim on various websites. Unless he made those websites himself, His answer was not an answer at all. I want him to explain his beliefs in his own words…..but in doing so he will surley loose any chance of holding the highest office in the land

    Like

Leave a Reply

