Mormon Teen Ambassadors…Driving all other religions away, one by one

One of the most INTERESTING aspects having a blog like this is the number of people who come on here and comment, and then
say “I am not a Mormon, but don’t you think it must be true?” Uh huh. No.

However, sometimes the “I’m not a Mormon but you suck,” tactics are a little different. Our newest and “goodest” friend “Bob” has this to say about me and all our Trapped denizens. (Note: I find it important to note that Bob, based on his email address, is either in junior high or high school. For that reason, I would ask that anyone commenting on this post NOT use profanity, despite the fact Bob himself was pretty darned profane. (Oh, and he needs to use spellchecker, too. Spellcheck, Bob!)

Name: bob

mormons do not beleive in pologimy. Poligimists beleve in pologimy

Wow. How profound. But you are wrong. Mormons do believe in polygamy, and in fact, it is a tenet that is still taught, although not usually to young Mormons such as yourself. They save that stuff for later, when you are more firmly entrenched with little hope of EVER extricating yourself. The milk before the meat theory.

“Bob” also said:

screw u all for saying mormons are bad. Catholics are racist as heck and molest kids. i wonder if michael is catholic. scientologists r nerdy sci-fi geeks or gay. Babtists are redneck hicks and bang there cousins, as well as other relegion. If u dont want to live in utah the doors aren’t closed. feel free to get the fuck out. I am not a mormon, i just can’t stand ur pregidous shit. infact if u hate mormons, and other relegions leave
thank u bitches

First of all, Bobby, I didn’t say Mormons are bad. I like Mormons. I’ve said it many times. I don’t agree with the tenets of the religion itself, and the abuses that go down in the “name” of that belief system, but Mormons themselves? Most are cool.

As for the rest of your comments… Good God, is this the state of our youth? Is this what we have created? Furthermore, are they TEACHING spelling and grammar in our public school system?

I emailed “Bob’s” school district and provided them the comments and the email address from whence they hailed, not because they made me angry. They did not. They made me sad. I think Bob’s parents need to know what Bob is saying and doing when he is supposed to working on homework or chatting with his friends. Or even worse, using his school computer to disperse the “look over there at them” theory of religion in a particularly disgusting, racist and abusive manner.
~~~~~

FYI, note to commenter Wayne, who wants to be heard. I read your comments, and frankly, don’t feel they deserve to be addressed. This is not the “Christians Rock and Mormons Blow” blog. The argument that so-called Christians are throwing stones is irrelevant and does not fly, because those “Christians” are non-existent. I cited Richard Packham’s information because it was thorough and complete. His personal belief system really has nothing to do with it. On this blog, I do not approach Mormonism from a Christian standpoint.

Richard’s being an atheist is irrelevant.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Mormon Teen Ambassadors…Driving all other religions away, one by one

  1. Elaine says:

    This is something that has always puzzled me. Bob says that what you, Natalie, say about Mormons is a demonstration of prejudice (or, in Bob’s universe, “pregidous”). But according to Bob, apparently, when he says bad things about Catholics, “michael”, Scientologists, nerds, gay individuals, Baptists, hicks, and rednecks, it is not such a demonstration. Sort of “my hate is okay, your hate is not”. I’ve seen this theory quite a bit, actually, but as Robot used to say on “Lost in Space”, that does not compute.

    One thing I do find intersting: Bob can spell “Scientologists”, but “Baptists” seems a little difficult for him. Just sayin’. 🙂

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    ROFL, Elaine. VERY astute point. He he.

    Like

  3. Celebrindal says:

    Kind of in support (yet totally in the dark about the actual truth) Bob’s abhorrent spelling can easily be layed at the feet of a terrible form of teaching and learning. I was raised on SRA, a great system of phonetics w/ memorization. So I am pretty adept at spelling or sounding out, but the best part, my mother taught me to use a DICTIONARY, you should buy one Bob. You are no ee cummings Bob, your name begins with a capital B.

    I was in total dispair when I realized that, while my daughter was adept at punctuation, she couldn’t spell worth a darn. Reading her homework was a struggle for me. Why? Because if it was spelt phonetically, the teacher did not correct spelling errors. Thank heavens, I realized this somewhat early in her education, but think of the other kids in her classes that didn’t have parents who were as vigilant in their child’s education? So sad.

    Now for the rest of Bob’s inaneness – Bob get your head out of the hate bag, because that is firmly where it is incased. Hate begets hate, prejudice begets hate, and religion (oh so unfortunately) often begets hate. Be bigger than your teachings (all the way around) Bob.

    Like

  4. Moon says:

    Natalie youre Prodigious! You lucky gal! He swears at you and then compliments you hehehehehe what a whackjob!

    Like

  5. Pax says:

    I’m guessing by “michael” He meant Michael Jackson.

    Like

  6. Tracy says:

    Are Babtists Barbra Streisand worshipers?

    Just wondering.

    Like

  7. Dawn says:

    This is what I don’t get either. Working with all Mormons, I’ve noticed that the ones I work with are complete hypocrites. They want respect but they refuse to respect any other religion. Boy genius here summed that up.

    Another thing I find interesting you wrote is about how polygamy is teached later on. The young girls are really anti-polygamy but I have noticed the older people aren’t as against it.

    Like

  8. Kimmie says:

    I feel so sorry for “Bob”. What an ignorant viewpoint. It is apparent that this child has received awful input from someone, most likely his parents. That is generally where ignorant, racist , and hate views come from unfortunately. It doesn’t mean that we cannot turn away from and change these views, one just has to work at it. Also it seems a shame to judge people by the religion or denomination one belongs to. A good freind of mine once said to me… “Getting to heaven is like driving to New Orleans. There are many roads to get there, but in the end they all end up in the same place.” I alwys thought it a profound view to be held by an Irish Catholic Priest…but Fr. Tommy was one special guy and very open minded. Bob seems to associate bad things about every denomination or religion based on bad things. THere are good and bad people in this world, one should not judge based on the actions of others, but be open and fair, giving everyone a chance to prove his/her self based on their own actions. I hope this made sense *chuckle* as I’m half asleep but felt I needed to comment. I really like reading your blog because it makes me think.

    Like

  9. Melanie J. says:

    I don’t understand how a modern society , such as we live in today, can still have a “religion” that does not allow women to hold “head of the church” office or whatever they call it.
    How can any modern woman want to join a religion that limits the impact they have in their religion?
    Call me a feminist.. or whatever lable makes you feel better …but I just don’t understand how any woman can go to temple each sunday and not think to herself “why can’ t I do that job?” Why can’t a woman be a prophet? Are we only to get married and push out kids? Is our only purpose on earth to be some man’s helper?
    If a woman can run for president.. a woman should have more power in that “religion”. I will never join a religious group that limits me based on my sex.

    Like

  10. Tovarish says:

    Allo, Natalie
    I should like make comment about little brother bobby, sad it is that one so young
    is to have gone astray early in life. Sad it is but truth, yes, that his family must too follow putfid teaching of anti-Christ as only in family who follow fetid teachings of false prophet would one so young learn to make much hate. Worry, I do much for souls all peoples who follow church will and follow not Fathes will.
    Father converses with all who should listen, all need do is unstop heart so give to ear sound.

    Like

  11. Alexandra Lodico says:

    okay listen you know nothing obviously why are you all over this subject when you have no clue what you’re talking about. Mormans have been given a bad name. We are Christians, poligamy isn’t taught if you heard the news its individual group we DO NOT AGREE WITH IT totally against it I go to The Church Of Jesus Christ Of Latter-Day Saints–yes long name and we like to be known by that because of all of this controversy our men don’t marry more than one women and we certainly as i have already said, DO NOT DO POLIGAMY and i bet none of you have been to the church of Jesus Christ of latter day saints b/c if you have you will notice we’re just like you and why must you make an assumption about a whole when you’ve only had your experiences with individuals. I am sorry if this offends any of you but your critisism and oblivious remarks OFFENDED ME.

    Like

  12. Tracy says:

    “and i bet none of you have been to the church of Jesus Christ of latter day saints”

    Oh, here we go again…Natalie Collins, please pick up the Celestial white phone, Natalie Collins, please pick up the Celestial white phone.

    Like

  13. In reality, no single religion could guarantee us a place in Heaven. In the end, what matters is how we a treat other people.`.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

