Brigham Young–serial killer

Okay, he wasn’t really a serial killer. Serial fornicator, maybe. He found all KINDS of ways around that whole monogamy thing, and personally, I think he was more devoted than Joseph Smith, Jr., himself. I also think he was more uptight and possessed absolutely NO sense of humor.

Maybe I’m wrong. Mormons, feel free to write in droves and tell me how NEGATIVE I am, and how Brigham Young was really just THE HAPPY FAIRY. I can see him in a tutu with a little wand with a heart on the end. He probably used it when he was adopting all those grown men and sealing them to himself in temple ceremonies. I am NOT MAKING THIS UP.

Anyway, there is a new film coming out which ALREADY has Mormons stripping off their garmies and pulling up the big girl panties, because, whoa nelly, is it going to require some big girl panties to tolerate.

September Dawn is the story of the Mountain Meadows Massacre, featuring some serious talent like, oh, Jon Voight, and Terence Stamp as Breed’em Young. I, of course, do not really think this is a coup. Until the day Johnny Depp plays Joseph Smith, Jr., I am just not buying in.

Sorry.

At any rate, September Dawn is not something Mormons are looking forward to, and in fact, it is already getting some negative press in Utah. No surprise.

It portrays what might be the darkest day in LDS History–oddly enough, September 11. But September 11, 1857. More bad timing for Mormons. The Mountain Meadows Massacre saw the death of 120 men, women and children at the hands of Mormons and Paiute Indians.

Many historians believe Brigham Young directed the act. Others deny his culpability, but the bottom line is MORMONS MURDERED. And thus, an apology is really in order here. But one has never been issued. In fact, at a dedication of the site in 1999, President Gordon B. Hinckley said, “All who knew firsthand about what occurred here are long since gone. Let the book of the past be closed. Let peace come into our hearts.”

Gordon? No. COME ON. There really isn’t a lot required here. We are all well aware that you were NOT THERE when this occurred. In fact, no one who WAS THERE is alive. We aren’t expecting a personal apology and an acceptance of guilt. But the facts are pretty basic and honest, and there is NO DENYING Mormons were involved. Even worse, it pretty much looks like Brigham Young, who in my opinion was the HITLER of Mormonism, had a VERY DIRECT INVOLVEMENT.

Whenever I am looking for a quote to prove just how WRONG Mormonism is, guess who obliges? Yup, Brigham. The man was sexist, racist, and a bunch of other “ists” that I have yet to discover.

Breed’ump had JSJR (Joseph Smith, Jr.) disease, otherwise known as foot-in-mouth as opposed to FOOT and MOUTH. Of course he didn’t realize this, because he was CONVINCED of his divinity.

“I am here to answer. I shall be on hand to answer when I am called upon, for all the counsel and for all the instruction that I have given to this people. If there is an Elder here, or any member of this Church, called the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, who can bring up the first idea, the first sentence that I have delivered to the people as counsel that is wrong, I really wish they would do it; but they cannot do it, for the simple reason that I have never given counsel that is wrong; this is the reason.” (Journal of Discourses, Vol. 16, page 161.)

“I know just as well what to teach this people and just what to say to them and what to do in order to bring them into the celestial kingdom…I have never yet preached a sermon and sent it out to the children of men, that they may not call Scripture. Let me have the privilege of correcting a sermon, and it is as good Scripture as they deserve. The people have the oracles of God continually.” (Journal of Discourses, Vol. 13, p. 95.)

An apology would be so simple. An acknowledgment that people diied, at the hand of “Saints,” and that is was wrong. Instead, we have the constant revisions and rewriting of history and denials.

This does not heal. And the scab, never healed, will be torn off by this movie.

Should be interesting. Let the “negative” and “bitter” comments and emails commence.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Brigham Young–serial killer

  1. T.W. says:

    I have to tell you about my trip to the Mountain Meadow site. Awhile back the “Church” paid for a monument to be placed there and brought ancestors of the victims from Arkansas out to Cedar City and made a big production about “healing the past.”

    So I go out to the site thinking I’ll see something indicating that John D. Lee and gang came out and slaughtered this wagon train. Well, the best I can say for the plaque is that it didn’t blame it on the Indians. The plaque didn’t identify who was responsible. I was incredulous.

    I’m pretty certain nothing has changed since 1999 out at the site. Every cultural Mormon and active one for that matter ought to visit the site with its natural desert beauty and historical horror. A dose of humility is good for any culture.

    Like

  2. Cele says:

    Those who need to make apologies, rarily do. The rest of us usually make them when we don’t need to….er or more often than we need to, unfortunately it doesn’t balance out in the universe. Joy is the self-righteous for they are in a world all by themselves.

    Like

  3. WendyP says:

    Until the day Johnny Depp plays Joseph Smith, Jr., I am just not buying in.

    WORD! But I do find it amusing that Dean Cain is playing Joseph. I hope this movie doesn’t suck. I’d love for the word to get out more about how INSANE so much of Mormonism was in those early days of Utah theocracy under Brigham Young.

    I still sometimes have guilt when I speak badly about Gordon B. Hinkley. He just seems so earnest and cute, but he is one of the most intellectually dishonest people I know of. He lives in la la land, where kitties and lollipops reign supreme and you should only think positively and any negatives are to be forgotten and wiped from your brain, lest they sully it. No accountablitiy–just “that’s in the past, let’s move beyond all the icky stuff”. How does anyone learn or heal from that kind of mindset? DENIAL, thy name is Gordon Hinkley.

    Also, I can’t help laughing when people call him “President Wrinkley”. For that I hang my head in shame.

    Like

  4. kd says:

    It looks like my underwear choices are getting difficult. Should I wear daipers and race across on a chase of the astronaut of my dreams or should I pony up and put on the big girl panties?

    Life is so difficult.

    I took some pictures of the Mountain Meadows Massacre Memorial. The memorial has two sections. The overlook was built by the state, and there is a rock pile thing built by the powers that be (and they be powerful).

    As for the movie, I am not sure if I will watch it. From the trailer, it looks like the producers really hate the people they are portraying in the film. I just don’t think you can do good writing or make a good film when you hate the subject. You have to have some empathy for the villians.

    BTW, I always suspected that Brigham Young and Joseph Smith had a rather wicked sense of humor. How else can you pull a con like they pulled without a wicked sense of humor. I suspect that the dour faces on Mormon pioneers came about from the unfortunate fact that they adhered to an ideology that kept driving them into abject poverty.

    Like

  5. Kane says:

    I had never heard of this until you posted it. Ya I think this movie may slant the mormon religion a little. But heck, who am I to say anything cause the history of this church has been so blurred over time. I will definitely go see this. Mormons will have yet another public item that will cloud their “perfect” religion and certainly wont like it.

    Like

  6. mlbower says:

    The clip was pulled from youtube, but there are discussions and links on IMDB. I followed the link to the trailer and that was quite powerful and very sad.

    Like

  7. T.W. says:

    Uhh, Natalie, not to be crass to the dead or anything, but how come no one can think of the Mountain Meadow Massacare as being the worst random act of violent shooting in Utah, rather than an obviously demented Bosnian refugee teenager with a shotgun in a mall? Just wondering . . .

    Like

  8. Lee Ann says:

    I am looking at leaving mormanism – my husband and family are having a cow – I just do not believe any more. can you offer any help me – I am suffering from depression, I just do not want to belong anymore!!! Not sure what to do!!! Are there any support groups!!! Concerned about being alone!!!!

    Like

  9. Natalie says:

    Hi Lee Ann,

    There is an email group and also a bulletin board that can offer help, as well as face to face support groups. I’ll email you privately. There is support out there.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Trapped by the Mormons » Blog Archive » The Worst Massacre in Utah History

  11. Tracy says:

    I don’t mind Johnny Depp playing Joseph Smith, just as long as he looks like Jack Sparrow.

    Like

  12. Wayne says:

    Hi Natalie:
    Just wondering: I responded to some of your articles about the Mountain Meadow Massacre. It was posted for awhile, and then it was gone. It was titled “ Hypocrisy on display—-,”
    What ever happened to it?
    Wayne

    Like

  13. Sideon says:

    Someone more weasely looking would have to play Joseph Smith. Nicolas Cage is quirky enough to pull it off.

    Then again, I wouldn’t mind seeing Johnny Depp do anything.

    Cheers to you, Natalie – every time I have a frodka, I salute you and toast in your honor for such a great beverage.

    Like

  14. Melanie J. says:

    Reason #23987324983274 I will never be a mormon.. Brigham Young!

    Like

  15. Natalie says:

    Hey Sideon,

    Glad you are enjoying the Frodkas! They are the BEST.

    Like

  16. alex says:

    Add to my Bookmarks 🙂

    Like

  17. cj says:

    “Whenever I am looking for a quote to prove just how WRONG Mormonism is, guess who obliges? Yup, Brigham. The man was sexist, racist, and a bunch of other “ists” that I have yet to discover”

    I agree at you. Mormonism is WRONG. And about Brigham Y. was a murderer. He was also racist, there is not doubt.

    The LDS is racist and there are many distinctions between its members. Wow, somehow they got smart and a few years ago they allowed their members (African descendant LDS) to participate of the bread and wine since they were outcast/forbidden to participate of the bread and wine because of their skin colour.

    All the high places will fall (Judg. 6:25-25)

    “I would rather undertake to convert 5000 Lamanites than to convert one of those poor miserable creatures whose fathers killed the Saviour, and who say “amen to the deed” to this day. Yeah, i would rather undertake to convert the devil himself, if it were possible. Brigham Young

    Like

  18. Rick says:

    Yeah but…remember that what WAS said back then even by God’s mouthpiece at the time, is deemed null and void by “modern revelation.” You know, “line upon line”…or really “this line replaces that incorrect line…”

    Except for certain things, like the things Joseph said that make you wanna join the church today, like “I saw God in the grove, and he said all the other churches were wrong…”

    …but, not the thing he said, like, “exhaltation requires plural marriage in this life…” That one’s deemed wrong now.

    My head is still spinning.

    ~Rick

    Like

  19. Carl says:

    Suggestion for you Todd,

    Leave other peoples relatives (mothers, daughters etc.) out of these discussions. You were severely reprimanded for it in the past, but just can’t seem to help yourself. If you don’t, we’ll start mentioning the pictures of your matronly wife and inbred kids that you post all over your little web page.

    Like

  20. Chris says:

    Are you sure BY wasn’t a “serial killer”? I mean he seemed to assign all of his dirty deeds…inlcuding “killing for the lord”, something he learned was ok from the BOM, to his henchmen. I can see no difference between BY and Charles Manson. BY just had his followers or henchmen murder, by his direction, on a much larger scale than Charlie. I am sure a very good life analogy could be drawn between BY and Charles Manson. Maybe in the form of a book, or pamphlet to be delivered to all those who attend the University that bears his murderous and dispicable name.

    Like

Leave a Reply

