Biggest Bonehead Statement of the Day… Possibly the week… Maybe the month….

Speaking of Mary Cheney’s pregnancy (Okay, we weren’t, but now we are), I have to say, the Christian Right is pretty damned stupid. (Please know that I have a lot of respect for REAL Christians. Just not the Faux Christians who are nothing more than posers with a right-wing agenda that involves a lot of homophobia.)

FYI, Mary Cheney is the lesbian daughter of United States Vice President Dick Cheney. If you do not KNOW this, perhaps the time has come to buy a NEWSPAPER. The Christian right, or at least the numbskulls at Focus on the Family, said this:

Carrie Gordon Earll, a policy analyst for the conservative Christian ministry Focus on the Family, expressed empathy for the Cheney family but depicted the newly announced pregnancy as unwise.

“Just because you can conceive a child outside a one-woman, one-man marriage doesn’t mean it’s a good idea,” Earll said. “Love can’t replace a mother and a father.”

Warning, warning, warning. Cursing follows. Read no further if you don’t care for profanity.

What the fuck? “Just because you can conceive a child OUTSIDE a one-woman, one-man marriage doesn’t mean it’s a good idea?” Just because you can conceive a child INSIDE a one-woman, one-man marriage doesn’t mean it’s a good idea! Those things should come with a warning label, but they don’t!

I just spent the day substitute teaching, and I am telling you, SIXTH GRADE BOYS ARE MUTANT ALIENS. You’d have a hard time convincing me they weren’t ALL huge mistakes. Good thing they have parents that love them.

My friend Robin taught me a long time ago, no matter HOW annoying a child is, they are ALL someone’s baby. And it doesn’t matter whether that baby has two mommys, or two daddys, or Tom Cruise as a parent–oh wait… that might be an issue (poor Suri), but COME ON. Every child is someone’s baby. Usually, however, you hear of HETEROSEXUAL couples abusing their babies. Or selling them. Or driving them into lakes and drowning them. The homosexuals? Not so much. Yes, that could be because they are currently treated like HITLER ON CRACK if they propose raising or having a child, but still…..

Children are BORN every day into heterosexual unions that are among the most dangerous unions ever to exist. Children die EVERY DAMN DAY at the hands of heterosexual parents. But should a homosexual propose having and raising a healthy child, the nutjobs come out of the woodwork. The truth is, love is love. It’s really no different from being Mormon. There are good Mormons, and bad Mormons, and Mormons that should be institutionalized. There are good heterosexuals, and bad hetero… Well, you get the idea. People are people. Love is love.

I remember watching a Maury Povich show a few years back, before he started a DNA campaign to put every toothless expectant slutty mother on his show and expose them as tramps (and occasionally THE WINNER of the DNA lottery). Two gay men had adopted countless children who had AIDS and were considered un-adoptable, and raised them. AND THERE WERE PEOPLE PROTESTING THIS, because apparently, it is better for a child to die unloved and alone in an orphanage than to die LOVED AND CARED FOR by two gay men.

What kind of stupid shit is that?

This is no different. I say blessings to Mary Cheney and her partner. And the baby. I suspect this baby will not go hungry at night. I suspect this baby will not be burned with an iron or sold for crack money. I suspect this baby will also have hard times, mostly because people are judgmental, and silly, and unable to reason properly. But most of all, I suspect this baby will be loved.

And what more can you ask?

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Biggest Bonehead Statement of the Day… Possibly the week… Maybe the month….

  1. Elaine says:

    Amen to all that, Natalie.

    However, I would like to suggest that when the child gets a bit older, it might be wise not to let it go hunting with Grandpa Cheney. That could get a bit dangerous. 🙂

    I’m not a big fan of either Dick or his wife, but at least they put out a statement that they are “looking forward with great anticipation”, I think the phrase was, to the birth of their grandchild. Considering the reactions they could have had, this makes me feel just slightly better about them. Not much (truth told, I’m half-convinced that Dick is the anti-Christ), but a bit.

    Like

  2. Jack-in-Jill says:

    Your absolutely correct. Every child is someones “baby”. Raising kids can’t be easy.
    Other than screwing up potential human beings, I’m really not too afraid to give it a whirl. …I might add that I’m flying solo. ….and I’m not having children. 😀

    Hey, who took H. Clinton’s title away from her? 😉

    Like

  3. aerin says:

    I agree!

    I also get upset when g_ay parents are not allowed to be foster parents or to adopt. It seems to me, for some of those children, here is a loving family, a chance they might not have had. There aren’t enough foster parents as it is!

    Like

  4. Cele says:

    The one unbelievable comment that just totally stupefies me from the Focus on the Family statement is this.

    “Love can’t replace a mother and a father.”

    WTF, so we can be married, one man, one woman hate our children, make their lives hell on earth, abuse them, beat them, torment them and that is better than the love of a single mother, a single father, or two loving partners of the same sex – because it’s NOT ABOUT LOVE, it’s all about the FAMILY.

    It reminds me of an arguement I had with the Baptist minister who kicked my daughter out of Sunday school. When I asked him, “Isn’t God a loving and forgiving God?”

    He replied, “Where does it say that in the Bible.”

    Like

  5. WendyP says:

    Yay for rants against ignorance! Honestly, isn’t it time we all took the blinders off. I find discrimination and injustice against gay people nauseating and unbecoming of the human race. It’s 2006–this isn’t the middle ages people.

    Speaking of substituting, I subbed in the 5th grade on Tuesday and I’m still recovering. I really hate to discriminate against 5th (and 6th) grade boys, but you’re right…they are mutant aliens 😉 (except for this one boy, Chandler, whom I absolutely adored).

    Like

  6. NoLihoma says:

    AMEN! Case in point was this wonderful story in yesterday’s SL Tribune:

    http://www.sltrib.com/news/ci_4787104

    That was one of the most difficult things I’ve read in ages. What are we supposed to say, “Well, at least she was lucky enough to have a mommy and a daddy”? Thanks for your comments.

    Like

  7. Cheryle Pruett says:

    I just looked up “family” in the 9th Webster Collegiate Dictionary and no where does it mention anything about a mother and a father. So – there! I’m happy for the mothers-to-be and for the grandparents also. Please keep writing Natalie – You are a major high in my day. – Mommy Six

    Like

  8. Kris says:

    WOW…I TOTALLY AGREE wholeheartedly. That’s all I can say, you said it so well.

    K.

    Like

  9. I’m not sure anymore who is obsessed with the so-called traditional family Mormons or fundamentalists. It is interesting, of course, that Mormons are so obsessed with it given their less-than-traditional family history.

    Like

  10. C.L. Hanson says:

    Re: “SIXTH GRADE BOYS ARE MUTANT ALIENS. You’d have a hard time convincing me they weren’t ALL huge mistakes. Good thing they have parents that love them.”

    LOL!!! We adore our two little guys to pieces, but I have to admit I’m secretly happy when I hear about other peoples’ kids misbehaving so I can think “See? It’s not just us…”

    Re: “Love can’t replace a mother and a father.”

    Did Focus on the Family really say that? So having exactly one parent of each gender is more important than whether your parents/guardians love you? I don’t even know where to begin with that….

    Like

  11. Dawn says:

    Want to hear another bonehead comment? I’m the sole non-LDS on my job so I’m about as popular as a good bout of the clap. Because I’m a feminist and this does sometimes come out and I have made numerous comments that its impolite and against the law to give sermons on the job, there is an older gent and a young girl that hate me with a passion. I walked away and realized I forgot something and heard them talking about gays. The old gent says “well, we have one in our department.” Of course, the homosexual in question was evidently me. Well, I confronted him, told him I was straight and that I didn’t appreciate the accusation though I have many gay friends, he told me that “you have gay ideas.”

    Gay ideas!!!!!!

    Gay ideas that women deserve rights, that its sad so many girls that are still in high school are being bred for marriage in this community, etc. I guess supporting human rights for all people is a gay notion. Who would have thunk it????

    He said the reason that I have such an aversion to Mormonism is that people like me “like all the bad things”. I’m this “lost soul that is so satanistic and that Mormonism is threatening”. Is “satanistic” even a word?

    Boss sat there with a glazed smile on her face. She didn’t scold the guy or nothing. However, I was once scolded for talking about “bad movies”. You know anything that isn’t a cartoon or rated G. Nice, huh?

    Like

Leave a Reply

