Around the Blogosphere in a MormonMobile….

Interesting things happening in the Mormon News Arena, that I wanted to share.

Andrew Sullivan at the Daily Dish is taking some hits from the TBMs because he posted pictures of the Mormon Garments, or Jesus Jammies, as we like to call them.

Now, Andrew just found a picture that was already online (you KNOW who you are!) and posted it, so it’s not like he went out and took a picture, and scanned it, etc. But still, the Mobots are up in arms, particularly on THIS site.

What I found most amusing about the Common Consent site is they apparently make hilarious fun of the Scientology beliefs over and over again… And yet cannot see the hypocrisy, because the sun is so blinding on Kolob….. (FYI, here’s a fun little site where you can figure out your age in Kolob time. I’m 61.919999999999995 minutes old. )

~~~~~~~~~~~
And in other news, I saw this video a week or so ago, but have been too busy to share it. Since Sullivan was getting attacked, he figured he didn’t have too much to lose, so he posted it on his site. This is a fairly amusing rant by an Australian atheist who turns the tables on the Mormon missionary program.

~~~~~~~~~~~

I also found this site (kudos to Dej for the heads up), run by Jesus’ General, a former Mormon. Using the name JC Christian… Of course.. Very funny stuff. (Warning: the site is called satire. S.A.T.I.R.E. No use in getting your panties in a twist if you don’t like the content.)

The kerfuffle over Andrew Sullivan’s post on Mitt Romney’s magical underwear inspired me to do a weekly series of posts on Mitt’s Mormon beliefs. As the great great grandson of a Mormon prophet, Willford Woodruff, a holder of the Aaronic Priesthood, and an LDS Seminary Bowl champion, I think I’m more than qualified to do so.

~~~~~~

It’s almost December, and I can hardly wait for the Jesus Smith festivities to start. How about you?

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Around the Blogosphere in a MormonMobile….

  1. HP says:

    Actually, Natalie, you are misreading the site. We are aware of the hypocrisy. That’s kind of why we keep bringing Scientology up. Just so you know.

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    Geez, how do you guys DO that?!? Your starting to freak me out. Priesthood clairvoyance? LOL. HP, feel free to enlighten me. I’ll happily give time to opposing or not-so-opposing viewpoints.

    Like

  3. thinkingman says:

    Every worthy LDS church member that has been a member longer than 1 year most likely wears them. You are offending a lot of people.
    –An email sent to Sullivan

    wow. do active members of the LDS faith actually think that (nearly) all members with 1 year plus under their belt also have garments under their belt?

    Like

  4. Cele says:

    Is it just me or is there something just weird about the phrase…

    LDS Seminary Bowl champion

    I get this really ugly, swirling mental image

    Like

  5. *shrug* I don’t think Mormons realize that people are fascinated by Mormon beliefs because they are so bizarre in places, but people get a grip — it’s just underwear and ugly underwear at that.

    However, if you want a pair of tye-dyed garments, I’ll ask my sister how the process works since she did it to a pair of my father’s holy garments.

    Like

  6. Melissa says:

    Kolob time… wtf???? I am amazed at how smart, intelligent people can believe this stuff! I’ve talked to many Mormons that don’t even know what the chruch teaches. I always get a, “Well, why don’t I have a missionary stop by your house and share with you. I haven’t been taught how to respond to that question.”

    Like

  7. mlbower says:

    That is one of the funniest things that I have seen in a while. I nearly fell off my chair watching the clip.

    I don’t think that every LDS member who has been in over a year wears the Jesus Jammies. I managed to get away without owning a pair for a long time. Of course, I can’t get away too far. It was a little shocking when I moved away from home and a visiting teacher found me.

    Melissa, when they ask/tell you that a missionary can stop by to teach you, get excited and offer to brew a fresh pot of coffee for the visit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

