If I WERE to go to Grandma's House, Here is How I Would Get There….

Over the river and through the woods, to grandmother’s house we go….

It’s Thanksgiving tomorrow. We don’t really have to go through any woods to get to Grandma’s house. I thought I should clarify that upfront. You know how misleading things can be these days.

Perhaps I could tell you HOW I am going to GET to Grandma’s house, IF I was going to go there, which of course I would never, ever do.

Or I could just be honest. That, however, does not appear to be one of my most endearing qualities, at least if you ask the regular commenters on my blog.

Nonetheless, I was overjoyed to see the OJ book canceled, although the truth is, it doesn’t HURT HIM. He still got paid. It’s “blood money,” as he readily acknowledged. As he proclaims his “innocence,” claiming he only agreed to write the book to secure his children’s futures, I have to ask, “Gee, would you also like to own up to being Jack the Ripper? I believe they are still looking for THAT guy.” And perhaps a few others. Could we sign you up for those, OJ?

But on to Thanksgiving. I really am going to Grandma’s house for the dinner.

My mom lives in the same town where we reside, and so does Mr. Collins’s mom. Both, about five minutes away, although in different directions.

I always get asked to bring vegetables. Raw vegetables. Why could that be? You can’t ruin those….

Today, Dancing Daughter had her first Nutcracker performance, a matinee for special needs students, and it went very well.

The holiday season is getting off to a great start.

And I am wishing EACH AND EVERY Trapped denizen a joy-filled, lovely, Thanksgiving Day. And if you are not a United States citizen, I still wish you a wonderful day.

Uh, or IF I was a soft-hearted, warm, caring person, this is what I would tell you:

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to If I WERE to go to Grandma's House, Here is How I Would Get There….

  1. Cele says:

    I wish you a joyous day filled with good food, family, friends, and a lot of red wine….er white wine…and homemade cranberry relish with Grand Marnier.
    Sith

    Like

  2. wendy says:

    A Happy Thanks Giving to you too. I’m one of those overseas people who don’t celebrate but was pleasantly surprised to get a mention.
    I’m also an “exmo”. Well, technically still one of them as they have failed to reply to my request to be removed from their records.
    I’m loving your blog, do you mind if I put a link to it from my blog???
    Cheers
    Wendy

    Like

  3. Hi Wendy,

    Would love a link! Thank you.

    Cele, as always, I send the best wishes your way…. You rock, girl.

    Like

  4. Tracy says:

    Happy Thanksgiving.

    Like

  5. Kris says:

    Happy Thanksgiving from the house of two turkeys (three come Christmas)…hehe…we celebrated in Ocotober too for the Canadian side of things. This is our first in the US. YAY!

    K.

    Like

  6. WendyP says:

    Looks like we have two “Wendys”, so I’ll go by WendyP now.

    I’ll look for your daughter Friday night, when I’m at The Nutcracker seeing Alexx and Samm dance. What part is she playing?

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

  7. Hey Wendy,

    She is a Party Girl like Samm. In fact, both she and Samm get to dance with Clara at one part. Samm is on one side, and Cambre on the other.

    Like

  8. Pete Dunn says:

    We went the other way and had EVERYONE at our house ALL DAMN Thanksgiving day. The house is a wreck and Sister Dunn is out shopping with her sisters and mother. She just can’t seem to get enough of them.

    Like

  9. Hey Pete, just checked out your blog. LOVE it! Adding it to my Outer Blogness links. The shopping thing… I don’t get it. My nutty dance mom friends called me LAST NIGHT to tell me they were headed for Valley Fair Mall at 12:15 a.m.! (Yes, Wendy, that Jenni was the ONE!) I don’t get it….

    Kris, so you’ve joined us in the US, huh? Very cool!

    Like

  10. WendyP says:

    I just got back from watching Dancing Daughter. So good! Those little gals practice so hard and it really shows. They were fun to watch. Tell her “Well done!”, from Samm and Alexx’s auntie.

    Like

  11. WendyP says:

    P.S. Jenni is crazy. ;-D

    Like

  12. I don’t get the shopping fever either. YUCK.. women snatching things from each other’s hands. Golly

    Like

  13. Natalie says:

    Thanks, Wendy! We just got back from the matinee. It is fun to see them. I’ll tell DD what you said.

    AND YES, Jenni is crazy! LOL. Guess that’s why we get along so well…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

