A post in which I do not say the "M" word even once

I know, I know, this blog is “Trapped by the…” Oops, almost did it. But I’m NOT saying it today. No I am not.

Mostly because I am TIRED of IT. Right now, my life is pretty quiet as far as IT goes. I am busy finishing book deadlines, revisions, and doing a new proposal for my new series, The Jenny T. Partridge Mystery series. The local, uh, ITS, are living me alone. My parents are only going to them temple TWICE a week, instead of serving yet another mission (that’s an M word I can say. That’s NOT the one I mean.)

All of this means that until next Thursday, Thanksgiving Day, when conversation at my Mom’s (another M word I can say today) house turns to IT, I can pretend IT does not affect my life.

I’ve been pretty well rooted, lately, in my new series, Jenny T. Partridge Dance Mysteries, and I have to tell you, these books are funny, cathartic, and so enjoyable to write.

In Jenny’s world, they are Mo…eh, er, ITS, Catholics, dancers, psycho dance moms, and lots of hot cops, and it’s refreshing not to have to take life so DAMNED seriously.

I hope a few other people agree.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A post in which I do not say the "M" word even once

  1. Wendy says:

    I’m looking forward to this (didn’t know it was a series)! Should be a lot of fun and YES, it is nice to not think about the “M” word 24/7, even when it’s mostly in your face 24/7.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Wendy! I think you’ll definitely RELATE, or at least know of what I speak. LOLOL. Yes, it’s a three book series. I hope more, because I sure don’t run out of MATERIAL.

    Like

  3. Cele says:

    Natalie run out of material…ha ha, girl you’re a card. Life is fodder for Natalie, Jenny, and the whole puppy kaboodle!

    Like

  4. Tracy says:

    If you need to think about a “M” word, how about M&M’s, Mars bar, Milky Way, Marshmellows…yeah, it’s all about the chocolate. Mmmmmmm…

    Like

  5. I don’t get what your big deal with the Mennonites is. They bathe, they use modern technology, and most importantly use deodorant. I think you’re getting them confused with the Amish. It’s a common mistake.

    Note: Only two of the things mentioned in the above paragraph about the Amish are true. Unless you live in an are where there are a lot of them, you’ll have to guess for yourself.

    Like

  6. I am looking forward to your new series.

    Like

  7. The Kiwi says:

    Hi Natalie. Just wanted to let you know that the term ‘root’, ‘rooted’; and ‘rooting for’ have completely different connotations outside of the US.
    🙂

    Like

  8. Hmmm, Kiwi. Are they naughty? Wouldn’t that be just like me? Being unintentionally bad?

    Thanks Cynthia. I hope you enjoy them!

    Sinister, Uh, the Amish don’t use modern technology, right?

    Like

  9. Technically the Amish do use certain types of modern technology — the drawing line is if it comes into their homes, but for the most part they don’t. (Although you can count on their farms having the best possible equipment that’s allowed to them.)

    They don’t wear deodorant…

    Like

  10. Kris says:

    I am looking forward to your new books too…I have enjoyed your others immensely. Actually, one is out on “loan” right now to my girlfriend…sheesh…I wonder when I am going to get that back. Hehe.
    K.

    Like

Leave a Reply

