Anti-Bigfoot

Jeff Lindsay, over at the Mormanity blog, is a pretty cool dude. He is a very faithful, believing Mormon, and he is ardent and vocal in his defense of the Church. HOWEVER, and this is a big however, he has always been able to find a balance, where he steps back and considers the other side.

His most recent post is proof of that.

I offer a weak parallel to this story in pointing out that many ex-Mormons, even some who show a lot of bitterness toward the Church, may be much more honorable people that we have realized, and may have entirely logical reasons from their perspective for leaving. In fact, it is not hard to find reasons to reject Joseph Smith or Brigham Young or any past of modern prophet, or to find doctrines and practices that one can strongly object to.

Many who leave do not do so because the moral standards were too high or because someone snubbed them at Church or because tithing was too painful or they just got sick of home teaching or were victims of gossip or had a serious moral sin that they wouldn’t quit. It is understandable, in fact, that people would get upset over polygamy or several other things in LDS history or even in the Bible that would lead them to reject the Church or organized religion in general. There are certainly powerful arguments to be made and often no simple answers.

Jeff also has a great sense of humor, as he has shown with me before, since I have a tendency to tease, and he has more than once been the object of that teasing.

After I posted on his blog, he referred his readers to my blog, but noted to them that I am anti-Bigfoot, so BE WARNED.

This tickled my funny bone, since he was referring to my post about Dr. Jeffrey Meldrum, who is an ardent supporter and believer in BOTH the Book of Mormon and Bigfoot.

Like I said, Jeff has a sense of humor. The world can use more religious folk of ALL ilk like him.

And me? I am anti-Bigfoot.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anti-Bigfoot

  1. Cele says:

    Of all the things. Oh, mi gosh, next you will tell me you are anti Puka. Oh Harvey.

    Like

  2. Wow… In my experience, there are few people like your friend.

    When I quit the church, the first thing my mother asked was if I were having sex. Since it was none of her business, I told her that it was “none of her business.” So since that day she thinks I left the church because of SEX. Well, that was not the reason at all…

    cyn

    Like

Leave a Reply

