Oh, Oh, I've pissed off the Donny Osmond Fans

I posted about the Donny Osmond web site, web groups, web whatever, quite a while back. I followed a link at http://www.exmormon.org a while back, and found the Osmond site, and it was a boring news day. So I posted a few of their conversion stories, because it appears hordes of people from England converted to Mormonism because of the Osmonds, and frankly, that’s pretty darned interesting.

WELL, a few of them JUST found my blog. And boy are they POed. So, just to set the record straight, I must say, I actually LIKE Donny Osmond. I just think some of his behavior, i.e., multilevel marketing scams and using his celebrity to ensnare other people into said MLMs, is a bit sketchy.

But as far as talent goes, he has quite a bit, both in the acting and singing areas. Watched him in Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Raincoat. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

Now, let’s see what the Donny fans had to say.

Just an observer Says:

October 27th, 2006 at 4:27 am e
Rebecya Says:

June 25th, 2006 at 9:27 am
So many FAT people and another place where they go is this OPOSITIVE which is for O- overweighted Osmond fans!

*****ONLY SOMEONE WHO IS AN OSMOND FAN WOULD KNOW ABOUT OPOSITIVE****** You must be as two-faced as they come.

Other than that, as an Osmond fan I will attest that most fans do become familiar with the LDS religion because of the Osmonds. Many join because of the Osmonds. I did my 70’s investigation. Didn’t convert because I found no truth to the teachings.

First of all, Rebecya, I did not EVER state the above quote. I feel a should clarify that you are QUOTING someone else’s comment, because as a “far more round than I care to be” person, I am careful about pointing “fat fingers” at anyone. I also don’t know what O-Positive is, and frankly thought it was a support group for people with rare blood. Guess not.

Observer #2 Says:

October 27th, 2006 at 12:30 pm e

Okay, I have had my good laugh of the day, at all the stupidity of the people on here (with the exception of Just an observer. Kudos to you Just.

I, for one, am LDS and proud of it. Only those who know nothing about the Church call it a cult. And if you really investigated the church you will know the real reason why the plural marriages started and why they ended. And I DID NOT join because I am a Donny fan, quite the opposite. I joined becuase it was the right Church for me. The Osmonds are very good Missionaries for the Church, although yes, there were fans who joined only because they were Osmond “fans”, and not for the right reasons.

And as for O-Positive again you couldn’t be any more ignorant in your opinions. Not everyone on that site is fat, quite the opposite. And we are there as friends FIRST!, Osmond fans second. Obviously you had no friends there which is why you didn’t fit in. You are the one with no life or you wouldn’t spend so much time bashing others. Talk about the pot calling the kettle black!

Well, YOU Observer, are FAR from observant, and you should probably WATCH who you are calling stupid. You wrote:

Only those who know nothing about the Church call it a cult.

Uh, no. I would hazard a guess that I know more about Mormonism, the history of Mormonism, the actual beliefs, and gospel doctrine, than you have ever cared to know. If you want to go head to head on issues, come back and talk. Otherwise, go stick your head back in the sand, or wherever it is you have it stuck. Many, many people have researched the Mormon Church completely and positively, and it DOES fit the definitions of a cult. Sorry you don’t like it, but get used to it.

And if you really investigated the church you will know the real reason why the plural marriages started and why they ended.

Really? Tell me WHY. Can you? I CAN tell you why. Because Joseph Smith got a bit of a God-complex, and decided that he could do whatever he wanted, whenever he wanted, with WHOEVER he wanted, and justify it by using God’s name and his position as PROPHET. If you are buying into the old story that there weren’t enough MEN to go around, you need to go back and research the demographics of the era, and you will discover that is ENTIRELY false.

And I DID NOT join because I am a Donny fan, quite the opposite. I joined becuase it was the right Church for me. The Osmonds are very good Missionaries for the Church, although yes, there were fans who joined only because they were Osmond “fans”, and not for the right reasons.

Spoken like someone who joined the church because of the Osmonds. It’s obvious you don’t know or understand the doctrines or tenets, or you would directly address them instead of coming here and making blanket statements.

And, finally, there was THIS little dandy.

And as for O-Positive again you couldn’t be any more ignorant in your opinions. Not everyone on that site is fat, quite the opposite. And we are there as friends FIRST!, Osmond fans second. Obviously you had no friends there which is why you didn’t fit in. You are the one with no life or you wouldn’t spend so much time bashing others. Talk about the pot calling the kettle black!

What opinions? I never MADE any comments on this group, as I have already stated. I never TRIED to fit in there, because I have NEVER been there.

Get your facts straight. I know, I know, it’s hard to see things straight with your head stuck in the sand. I suggest pulling it out.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Oh, Oh, I've pissed off the Donny Osmond Fans

  1. Cele says:

    Oh, mi gosh I’m laughing to hard.

    Only those who know nothing about the Church call it a cult.
    Too hysterical, Observer two, all of Christianity calls Mormonism a cult by definition.

    And if you really investigated the church you will know the real reason why the plural marriages started and why they ended.
    Natalie, where do these people come from? They make a comment, do not state the facts (even their facts) just make a statement and you’re suppose to suck it in as God’s truth just like they did.

    Natalie I’ve known you for a long time and you’ve never been a person to be little another. Not that you don’t give them enough rope to hang themselves with their own stupidity. But I think that is open mouth insert foot. You just give them a format in which to shine in their glory.

    Thank you because it is eternally entertaining

    Like

  2. Tracy says:

    I guess this woman wouldn’t believe the mormons had the U.S. Government down their backs, and had to shape up or ship out if they didn’t end plural marrage, so I won’t say anything.

    Like

  3. LOL… I come here for the laughter.

    Like

  4. Kita Kazoo says:

    Hi Natalie,

    I’ve been busy and finally got catch up today. I’m glad I got to.

    We had quite a few Donny Osmond converts in our stake during the 70’s, they are like sugar coated gum drops… way too sweet. I always wondered how many joined hoping to catch the gold ring? My husband says that while he was on his mission (at about the same time) every missionary had two goals in life. Marry Marie Osmond and become the prophet. Which you were sure to do if you married Marie. He’s glad he didn’t want either.

    I enjoyed your prospective on Mitt Romney and the Church backing him. The church supported his father in his political ambitions and still he failed to go further than governor. I doubt if we will ever have a Mormon President. People are just too smart for that to happen.

    Like

  5. Sue says:

    I am an Osmond Fan and I have to admit that in the late 1970’s, I too, wanted to convert to Mormonisn. But ,thank God that I had a Mother that slapped me upside the head and told me to pull it out of my ass. However, I did do quite a bit of research and man, am I glad that I didn’t go that route. There’s some scary shit taught in that church. For one, they teach you that as women that sex is evil and that you musn’t enjoy it (Fat chance) and that you as women cannot get to Heaven unless a Man calls you there(Preferebly your Husband). Well, if that’s the case, Marie Osmond is in a shitload of trouble because she’s gone thru 2 Husbands and I know that neither one of them are going to call her ass up to Heaven(especially since she didn’t enjoy the sex). So, I think she should go and sow some Oats and have sex with as many guys as she can(She’s not going to Heaven, right?). As for me, I knew even then that even in my most lustful fantasies of Donny, that I would never be able to marry him(Unless Poligomy was made legal). So, there you have it, an Osmond fan who’s realistic.

    Like

  6. Osmonds suck! says:

    I was an Osmond fan growing up but as I got older started seeing them for what they really are (were). First of all I know people that know them and they are far from “happy” like their fans think and far from being moral like their fans think. Sure they push the church thing. After all they have been raised and brained washed to think that they can earn their way to heaven by recruiting people into their church. They spend more time worshipping church than they do God. It’s a cult and they do weird stuff behind those temple walls. Donny sings well and I like that and so does Marie but the others can’t sing worth a darn unless its hidden in their harmonies. Simon Cowell would have a field day on them. Watch their 50th anniversary special. It sucked! They’re old and dried up but still soaking up the opportunities to milk their Mostly fat ugly weird fan base for their hard earned money. And yes, it’s very distasteful for Mr. Osmond who presents himself as such a “good” man to be engaged in network marketing. That’s exploiting those poor fat ugly souls isn’t it. But say anything to any of the weird ass bitches and boy do you ever get stoned. You can’t say anything negative on his website or you get bashed and forbidden to return. So they remain in candy land. I can’t believe network TV has let this weird fake family back into the limelight. I thought we had gotten rid of them. At least Donny worked on his singing by taking lessons and finally figured out that he needed talent to stay in the business and he’s a half way decent singer but he’s old and getting uglier by the day. His brothers are just gross and it’s bullshit about them being loyal husbands. NOT!!! I know someone that was having an affair with one of them. It’s sickening to hear their fronts and see their fake smiles in knowing that. It’s a way though to snow and exploit their fans to believing they’re angels. I hope they die out soon, I’m tired of seeing them on tv everytime I turn around. I just don’t like hippocrites and they are that!

    Like

  7. Osmonds suck! says:

    Mormons killed people in the Utah dessert. People from Arkansas. Killed women and innocent children for no good reason. I saw it on PBS. That’s evil. How can a church do something like that and people still follow them? That is just too weird. I could not continue on with my church if I knew that they had been murderers, never explained it, just swept it under the table. What kind of morons buy into that kind of shit without questions and concerns? Ironic isn’t it that the word moron is only one letter shy of Mormon? They also think they are the only church. I hate that about them. That’s judging and God clearly states not to do that but they do it daily trying to convince people that they aren’t good enough for heaven unless they join their weirdness.

    Like

  8. Osmonds suck! says:

    The Osmonds are ancestors of those murderers.

    Osmonds = Mormons = they suck = morons.

    Like

  9. Judy says:

    Ummmm, my curiosity is peaked here. The poster who mentioned knowing someone who had an affair with one of the Osmonds. Was this an “open secret,” since the poster knew about it, and were the Osmonds somehow able to keep it hushed up from the media? And was the wife of this Osmond kept in the dark or did she know and choose to stay quiet?

    Marie’s unauthorized bio is due out soon. Sounds like it may be interesting. She has great talent, don’t get me wrong, but it is to wonder, would she have chosen to be a stay-home wife and mom? I know it’s her business, but you know, why adopt all those kids if she wasn’t going to stay home with them, or at least cut back considerably on her touring and everything else?

    Like

  10. David R says:

    I was brought up a Mormon and am the member of a family of all Mormons. When we get together they break into Mormon code and disgust me totally. If you want to get an idea about the originators of this church just check out Brigham Young’s Journal of Discourses. He states that when when he speaks, it is the same is if from the mouth of God. Blood mixers (sex between members of two races, especially when one of the races is black) should be punished by being instantly being put to death. Read on and you really won’t be able to take this guy seriously if you have a brain in your head.

    Like

  11. Sue says:

    David r., Are you truely a Crazy Man? I belive you are. Brigam Young was a tribal hashhead that sat in a desert in Utah, smoked hash and like Jim Morrison, belived he was God. You people need a real religion instead of one that was made up by people who were on drugs. Capice? i suppose you put your dibbs in for Marie Osmond’s hand in marriage too, huh?

    Like

Leave a Reply

