Satan Pie ala Mode

My Mormon sister, her husband and their kids recently moved back to Utah, escaping from Southern Baptist country with their religion intact and a few funny stories to tell.

Living in Georgia was an eye-opener for them, and especially my sister, who up to that point had lived her entire life Behind The Zion Curtain.

She was appalled at the way the predominant religion there ran everything. She would call and regale me with stories, and I’d patiently point out it’s the same thing here, and she’d say, “No, really, Natalie, you just don’t understand.”

Apparently I didn’t. Recently, my niece called and invited my daughters over to Sunday dinner. She was very excited because dessert was going to be Black Satan Pie.

Must have picked up that recipe in Georgia….

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Satan Pie ala Mode

  1. Howy says:

    Whole world out there, glad they got to see some of it before they’re enveloped in the fold again. Why the hell would somebody move back??????

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    Uh, you’re talking about my SISTER Howy. My TBM, born in the fold, died in the wool, Mormon. LOL.

    Like

  3. Howy says:

    Yeah . . . so. Once you’re out – enjoy the freedom or at least the difference.

    Bet the Black Satan Pie was good.

    Like

  4. Cele says:

    I thought the whole thing was funny, then I spilt soy milk and red berries on my key board. erggg

    Natalie, you hope that people will gain a perspective from their experiences. It doesn’t alway happen, and sometimes that perspective is just slow in kicking in. Time will tell.

    Now Dancy and chatty need to spill the beans about the dessert.

    Like

  5. I’m guessing that Black Satan Pie is a name your sister made up for “Better Than Sex Cake.” 🙂 We wouldn’t want the sex word to infiltrate our tender children’s minds!

    Like

  6. Natalie says:

    Ooooh, I like the sound of that Sister Mary Lisa! Adding you to my blogroll!

    Like

  7. Tracy says:

    I think she meant “Black Satin Pie.” The southen accent may have made it sound like satan. LOL!!!

    Anyway, google it, you will see it’s a chocolate and raspberry cake, and sounds yummy.

    Like

  8. Natalie says:

    Yeah, I knew she meant Black Satin Pie, but we got a lot of mileage out of the Satan Pie thingie…. LOL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

