Everyone from Utah is Weird? No…..

I just watched the Jay Leno segment with the Utah woman who recovered her purse from a thief. Betty Horton was charming, cute, and reminded me of my grandmother. I could see Ethel Collins giving the same tongue-lashing and then compassion that Betty gave to the thief.

Here’s the story, from the Deseret News.

I’ve heard it many different ways, of course, but the bottom line is Betty stood up for herself. She took charge. She was empowered. I have no idea whether or not Betty is Mormon, but frankly, I don’t care.

I was impressed with her story, and the way she handled the situation.

You go, Betty. More power to you.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Everyone from Utah is Weird? No…..

  1. Cele says:

    Great story. But what stuck out to me, besides the fact she stood up for herself, was that it was the second time this year her purse had been stolen. It is nice to see someone take action. I hope I would be as brave…or mad as her.

    Like

  2. Howy says:

    What he did was despicable.

    Being run down by a 75 year old woman is just plain embarrassing!

    Like

  3. Kris says:

    Hehe…very embarassing for the purse snatcher…

    K.

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    I agree that what the lady did was amazing. But did anyone besides me notice that she had LEFT HER PURSE IN THE CART? If she keeps doing that, it’s going to get snatched again and again. Lesson #1: never leave your purse unattended, not even for a moment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

