Those Wacky Baptists….

So I read about the woman who was fired from her Sunday School teaching job–which she had held for more than 50 years–because the church where she taught has a new pastor. And this pastor? He wants to return to a literal interpretation of the Bible. One of his first moves?

1 Timothy 2:11 -14 of the New Testament: “A woman should learn in quietness and full submission. I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man; she must be silent. For Adam was formed first, then Eve. And Adam was not the one deceived; it was the woman who was deceived and became a sinner.”

Wow. That damn Eve. She sure has caused a lot of problems for us women.

I would like to just say this is a case of Stick-Up-The-Ass-Itis-Supremist but there is always more to the story, so I did some digging. I discovered this pastor has made many changes that a small faction of the church did not support, and they were outspoken about those changes. They went to the media. This woman was one of those people.

Now, knowing what you know about her, would you REALLY be stupid enough to send her a letter stating she was being fired because she was a woman and could not teach men?

Good God, Pastor Timothy LaBouf, hand the woman a hand grenade and offer to pull the PIN for her!

Of course, Pastor LaBouf is backpedaling frantically. His basic excuse? I like women. I work with women. Women are great. Women should hold any job they want–except at my church.

Hmm. Here is LaBouf’s official response.

LaBouf said, in part:

I have a number of female acquaintances and friends that work in our business community, in the military and in other professional situations that I have always treated with respect and with the utmost regards. I have supported many of them in their professional endeavors and will continue to conduct myself in the same manner.

I propose that if LaBouf is going to push a literal interpretation of the Bible, who should be forced to do it in EVERY aspect, and not just one that allows him to force women into submission. Whenever I read interpretations of the Bible, I see that some verses are taken literally, while others are figurative.

For example, take this passage: “If your right eye causes you to sin, gouge it out,” (Matthew 5:29).

Taken literally, there would be a whole hell of a lot of ONE-EYED Christians running around. So they pretty much choose to take that one figuratively.

The problem comes because individuals, such as LaBouf, are deciding WHAT is literal and what is meant figuratively. And using their OWN interpretations. And since God isn’t here to speak for himself, well, the meanings can be a little muddied. Some, like the gouging eye thing, are easy to understand. If you take THAT one literally, it’s going to hurt.

Next time I see a picture of LaBouf, he better be missing that right eye…..

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Those Wacky Baptists….

  1. eve says:

    I’m sure that next he will reintroduce polygamy and slavery as those, too, are supported somewhere within the document. Followed shortly by stoning…

    Like

  2. Mary says:

    As a Baptist, I have to point out that an awful lot of Baptists also think this guy is whacked, though perhaps not the current leadership of the Southern Baptist Convention. (My church, along with many others, severed all ties with the SBC years ago.) In my opinion, when men start pulling the literal interpretation of women in the church (and not even from the words of Jesus but rather from the writings of Paul), it is always much more about politics and power than it is about any sort of spiritual experience.

    Like

  3. Natalie says:

    Yeah, it seems the more extreme Baptists are those associated with the SBC, Mary.

    Like

  4. Cele says:

    My father was raised Southern Baptist, and now will not step foot in a church. In fact he’s not sure Jesus was the son of God now. But that’s a whole nother story.

    I once had a run in with the minister where my daugher was going to Sunday School. When they taught that Mormon, Jews, Jehovah Witnesses, and Catholics don’t believe in the same God or go to the same heaven as Baptist (I assume this is a believe of the minority of Baptist – and probably a few other demoninations – not the majority) my daughter (I taught her well) questioned the validity of this statement. She was kicked out of Sunday School class and asked not to come back because she caused trouble. When I called an asked the whys and wherefores the minister backed all that Psam had related to me from that morning. Somehow I brought up “a loving and forgiving God”, the reply from the minister AND I SWEAR AN OATH THIS IS TRUE he said, “Where does it say that in the Bible?”

    I shutter to think of the flocks he tends.

    Like

  5. Natalie says:

    Geez, Cele, your daughter has a LOT in common with me. I got in SUPREMO trouble in Sunday School when I questioned my teacher about the nature of God. I wanted answers. He didn’t have them. He told me just to accept his word. I didn’t. He told my dad. I got my ass kicked.

    Sort of changed MY outlook on a loving God.

    Part of the problem, at least as I see it, is that Mormons always want to believe they have the answers. If you question those answers, or try to look to deep, there’s a problem. Or at least I think that’s what happened in this particular case.

    Like

  6. I’m not religious, but I did the whole Sunday School and church every Sunday thing as I was growing up — and my grandmother was a Southern Baptist — so I’m pretty well-versed in this stuff. And I’ve long taken the stance that most things in the Bible are meant to be taken figuratively.

    They’re simply stories that are designed to enlighten and caution us, nothing more.

    Like

  7. Cele says:

    I was taught by my parents (which got me in trouble often with my parents) to question what I didn’t understand and to learn. I was raised Presbyterian, when we got a hellfire and brimstone minister into a congregation that had always been full of love and forgiveness it was more than my 12 year old mind could deal with. So my mom allowed me to begin the discovery of other churches to find out what fit me. That is how I became Quaker. My daughter began the same process after the Baptist debacle. At 16 she chose to be baptisted Episcopalian and is now more Wiccan than anything. She still believes in Jesus but doesn’t have the close relationship in her faith that I would like. But it is her choice and I believe that she will find her way fully back. I also believe that her Wiccan beliefs have led her to a fuller experience of nature and the balance of life. Her Baptist run in taught her a lot about the close mindedness of people at a very young age.

    Like

  8. Elaine says:

    Heh heh…those Baptists. My mother was raised Southern Baptist, and her grandfather was a SB minister. Apparently he was worse about expecting people to be in church all the time than the Mormons are.

    The thing about Southern Baptists is, some congregations are so exclusivist in their thinking that they won’t even accept baptisms from another SB congregation. If they can’t find another denomination to argue with, they are quite content arguing amongst themselves.

    And, of course, there are some Baptists among those folks known as Christian Nationalists…who advocate theocracy and preach that democracy is of Satan. Good book I just read about these folks, if you want to scare yourself silly: “Kingdom Coming: The Rise of Christian Nationalism”, by Michelle Goldberg.

    lma

    Like

  9. kd says:

    Personally, I think the Baptists are onto something.

    I had a Baptist explain to me something they call “The Rapture.” The guy told me that “During the rapture, the righteous will mysteriously ascend …. bringing heaven to earth.”

    I think he is right; if they righteous mysteriously ascended, we just might end up with heaven on earth.

    Like

  10. Cele says:

    She said it, sista!

    Like

  11. azteclady says:

    I was raised Catholic and attended a Catholic, girls-only middle school. During the first Catechism class of the first term, we were asked about the nature of the Devil. My answer was: since God created *everything* [Genesis] then God must have created the Devil.

    I was exempt from attending that class for the next six years.

    Like

  12. Natalie says:

    I’m with you, Rob. I think the entire thing is figurative.

    Azteclady, I like the way you think!

    kd, you are absolutely right!

    Ima, I don’t need to be scared any more than I am living here behind the Zion Curtain!

    Like

  13. Natalie says:

    Cele, I think it’s hilarious that what your parents TAUGHT you also got YOU in trouble with them!

    Like

  14. Natalie says:

    Eve,
    STONING! That’s the one I was trying to think of! Good example.

    Like

  15. Is there any doubt what people like this would do if they ruled the world? Oh yeah, that happened already once–we called it the dark ages.

    Like

  16. Kris says:

    I LOVE that it stated that his wife works in admin in the church. Double standard???

    K.

    Like

Leave a Reply

