Welcome, Martha O'Connor to Trapped

I’m thrilled to have Martha O’Connor visiting today, on the GCC Girlfriends Circuit, and as I have been called a Bitch of a Different Kind by a few people, I really like her title.

Martha is the author of The Bitch Posse, and it has just been released in paperback from St. Martin’s Press. This book received PHENOMENAL praise, and was a bestseller in the UK for several weeks (under the title THE BITCH GODDESS NOTEBOOK).

Here’s what a few reviewers had to say:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
“Compulsively readable… delicious and slightly macabre. It’s easy to see Posse as the descendant of [Julian F. Thompson’s The Grounding of Group 6] and other thrillingly gloomy YA classics such as John Neufeld’s Lisa, Bright and Dark, Joanne Greenberg’s I Never Promised You a Rose Garden or Paul Zindel’s oeuvre….” -The Washington Post Book World

“O’Connor paces her book expertly, weaving together the voices of her three narrators to create maximum suspense… a riveting and emotionally charged read. No fluff here.” -Chicago Tribune

“Unforgettable, dark… The triumph of this novel consists in its compulsive readability… it feels great, it feels terrible, you want more, you shouldn’t do more, you do more, it’s over, it’s not, it can never be over.” -San Francisco Chronicle

“An angsty, serious novel of lost dreams and sexual damage” -Marie Claire (UK)

“‘You have now entered a Chick-Lit-Free Zone,’ warns this debut novel on Page 1. And it’s true: There’s nothing pink and frilly about this tale of three high-school girls, bonded by miserable home lives and then sworn to secrecy by a horrible event that ruins their lives. It’s scathing, dark and impossible to put down.” -The Newark Star-Ledger

“A sizzling page-turner.” -Cosmopolitan

“Don’t disbelieve the hype. [The Bitch Posse] is good a debut as it’s cracked up to be… It’s edgy, smart and sexy, like its heroines… What could have been just another coming-of-age story is redeemed by strong narrative voices, pungent writing and a splendid Grand Guignol finale.” -Tatler (UK)

“There’s a buzz about this book that tells us it’s going to be huge this summer… it’s more bitch lit than chick lit. Reminiscent of cult movie ‘Heathers’, it revels in the seedy underbelly of American life, and features the kind of female angst Alice ‘Lovely Bones’ Sebold would be proud of… The novel flits back and forth from school days to adulthood, where none of the girls remains in contact but all share a dark secret. Believe us when we say you won’t be able to rest until you find out what it is.” -Glamour (UK)

“O’Connor nails the intense, us-against-the-world, overcooked emotion that defines the friendship of teen girls and the druggy delirium of first, sexual love. She also has a sharp eye for the posturing of the young and unloved, perfectly describing the pretense of toughness that belies a raw, gelatinous core.” -The Cleveland Plain-Dealer

“This taut, psychological thriller is the tale of three women haunted and scarred by a violence shared in their mutual past. A finely crafted page-turner, this is a great read for fans of Donna Tartt or Joyce Carol Oates.” -Bonnie Raught, Chester County Bookstore, West Chester, PA (Staff Pick)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
That’s just a WOW recommendation, if I’ve ever seen one. This is my very favorite type of book, and it REALLY holds up to my high expectations. I found it thrilling and interesting, and edgy, and everything I expected it to be. I don’t find I can say that often, but Martha is an awesome writer, and I can’t wait to read her next book.

And now, Martha answers our own Trapped questions.

If you had to be “Trapped” somewhere, where would it be?

I would like to be trapped on a beautiful island in the Pacific with plenty of naturally growing food and fresh water.

If you could pick your “Trapped” companions, what three people would you want with you, and why?

I would choose my husband, my son, and my daughter. That’s because they are the closest people to me in my life and if they weren’t with me, I would miss them terribly.

If you could only pick five books to be “Trapped” with, what would they be?

A Bible, The Big Book of Alcoholics Anonymous by Bill Wilson, Words to Live By by Eknath Easwaran, The SAS Survival Handbook, and the book I’m writing right now.

What ONE famous person would you absolutely NOT want to be “Trapped” with?

George W. Bush. Need I say more?

You can bring three things from your “former” life to “Trapped.” What would those three things be?

Unlimited Lantus and Novolog insulin, unlimited syringes and a huge Frio pack to keep the insulin cold on a regular basis. By having these items, my son (aged 9, dxed juvenile diabetes 7/17/04) would be able to stay alive while we were “Trapped.” By the way, if any of your readers are using insulin, I really strongly recommend looking into Frio for temperature control of insulin when you are traveling or in extreme temperatures (tropical climates, mountain climbing). And no, I don’t work for them! Just a happy customer! www.friouk.com

Where is one place you absolutely would NOT want to be “Trapped.”

Beirut

Advertisements

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s