Welcome to Kyra Davis!

It’s GCC time again, and today we have Kyra Davis, author of Passion, Betrayal, and Killer Highlights. First of all, I LOVE Kyra’s title, and the protagonist is a fascinating exotic mix–half black, half Jewish–that always lures me in. Here’s a little bit more about the book.

~~~~~
Considering the kind of disasters that usually befall the half-black, half Jewish mystery writer, probably both. Because the last time Sophie saw sexy P.I. Anatoly Darinsky, he practically danced a jig when she waved goodbye-a normal reaction for a man who’d nearly bought the farm due to her misguided attempts at vigilante justice. What are the chances he’d agree to take incriminating pictures of her sister’s philandering husband? Or that he’d let her tag along-you know…for research?

But when her brother-in-law turns up dead and her sister becomes the prime suspect Sophie’s priority is finding the real killer. With or without Anatoly’s help. Her brother-in-law’s secret life yields plenty of suspects, but the San Francisco police aren’t taking any of them seriously. So Sophie does what comes naturally to her: she stirs up trouble (to lure the killer out, of course).

But if her crazy plan works will everybody survive the outcome?

In the rollicking follow-up to Sex, Murder And A Double Latte, Sophie hones her irreverent humor and sleuthing skills to a sharp edge. Fans of Stephanie Plum or Kinsey Millhone will no doubt love Sophie and find her snappy comebacks and quirky cohorts as addictive as good coffee and a sexy dye job (okay, let’s stick with the caffeine).
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now that you’re TOTALLY intrigued, Kyra answers our Trapped questions.

1. If you had to be “Trapped” somewhere, where would it be?

Antonio Banderas’ bedroom? I could be trapped in Blair Underwood’s bedroom too…that would work for me.

2. If you could pick your “Trapped” companions, what three people would you want with you, and why?

Well obviously I’d like Antonio to be there and….oh! Can I have Blair there too? This is my fantasy, so why not?

If I hadn’t just decided to be trapped in a bedroom with two hot male celebrities I’d want to have my son with me because the idea of not being able to get to him would kill me. But I assume that eventually Melanie Griffin would pick the lock and haul my ass out of there so that being the case I’d have the third person be my best friend Brenda. I wouldn’t mind sharing Antonio and Blair with her and she’s way too loyal (and too cool) to sell the story to Star Magazine once we got out.

3. If you could only pick five books to be “Trapped” with, what would they be?

See I set myself up because of where I’m trapped. Normally I’d pick something by Alice Walker, David Sedaris and maybe Edith Wharton but things being as they are I guess I’d go with The Multi-Orgasmic Woman by Mantak Chia and Rachel Carlton Abrams, maybe two books by Susie Bright, Like Water For Chocolate by Laura Esquivel (translated by Thomas Christenson) and while we’re on a food/Passion thing why don’t we throw in Joanne Harris’ Chocolat (and don’t even talk to me about the movies that were made of the latter two novels, they were good but the books put them to shame).

4. What ONE famous person would you absolutely NOT want to be “Trapped” with?

Our current president. It would really suck if I was rescued only to be arrested for a political assassination.

5. You can bring three things from your “former” life to “Trapped.” What would those three things be?

My former LIFE?! How long can this little orgy go on? Well okay I’ll go with it…I guess I’m going to take my journal (I may not sell the story to Star but there are my own books to think of) maybe some massage oil and a huge box filled with dark chocolate covered espresso beans, if we’re going to do this let’s do it right.

6. Where is one place you absolutely would NOT want to be “Trapped.”

Guantanamo Bay. I’m a political moderate, not some kind of soft-on-terrorism-liberal-extremist but the idea of being imprisoned by the government of a supposedly democratic country without the right to a trial or well…ANYTHING—that’s just horrifying. I’m not surprised that some of the prisoners committed suicide. What surprises me is that it took this long.

Thanks for answering those questions, Kyra!

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Welcome to Kyra Davis!

  1. Welcome Kyra 🙂

    Like

  2. Judith Fox says:

    I’m reading your Sex, Murder and a Double Latte, and enjoying it!!

    Looking forward to the next one!

    Sophie is fun, though I suppose she’s not really having fun.

    Like

  3. Judith Fox says:

    P.S. Sorry I missed you on here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

