Tomorrow, back to Utah

Many of you know I have been away. Since last Wednesday. First at Thrillerfest in Phoenix, and then to Burbank, for a dance competition/convention for Dancing Daughter, and then on to San Diego, for….WOW. R&R. A whole two days. LOL. Tomorrow morning we are headed back to Utah. I’m sure Utah is thrilled.

I have spent a lot of time in hotel rooms. In fact, I think I shall start rating them.

Arizona Biltmore: Ritzy, chi chi resort. Pretty rooms, but, VERY spendy. Fucking $6 should you be thirsty and open the bottled water. DO.NOT.OPEN.THE.WATER. Step away from the water. In fact, resort to drinking melted ice. It really was a nice place, but costly. It was $4.25 for a Diet Pepsi–yet another venue who has caved the World Domination Plot of Pepsi. Note to Pepsi people: IT AIN’T GONNA WORK. I might buy your Diet Pepsi when I am in your LIGHT FIELD, but when I go home, I’m buying Diet Coke. Sorry.

Burbank Hilton: Overpriced, and relatively poor service. Found a HUGE cockroach in our room the last day. They charge you for EVERYTHING including Internet. Didn’t have to pay for Internet at the Biltmore!! They also wanted to charge us $15 a day for a ROLLAWAY bed! I am not lying. I stayed away from the bottled water on the armoire. I was afraid a charge for $20 per bottle would show up on my bill! The toilet was broken. We had to open up the tank and mess with it every damn time we had to flush it. I called and told them I was not paying that much money to have to stick my hand in a toilet tank.

Holiday Inn Sea World: Well, pretty nice. We have a junior suite, and it’s comfortable. Cost more than the other two rooms (we had conference rates for those) but you don’t get hit with all those charges. Of course, there IS not bottled water in my room, so I feel safe. We have a fridge and a microwave. Coulda used those in Burbank.

Funniest hotel moment: Eight a.m., a knock on the door. Housekeeping. I didn’t put out the Do Not Disturb sign. So I put it out. Then I forget. After we get up, we address the broken toilet. I call to complain. Pedro from maintenance comes to fix it. I get a phone call telling me he is outside but cannot come in because the DND sign is up. So I open the door and remove the sign. Pedro spends about ten minutes. Says it’s fixed. I removed the sign for Pedro.

Knock, knock, knock. Housekeeping. NO, we are still here. It is early. I am told ONCE again to put sign out.

Toilet is not fixed. WRONG Pedro. I call again.

Get yet ANOTHER phone call. Do not Disturb sign is out. Maintenance worker cannot come in. LORD, have mercy. This is like an Abbott and Costello routine. You CANNOT clean, but you CAN come fix the toilet.

This time the guy spent at least 25 minutes and DID fix the toilet. I didn’t have to stick my hand in that tank again. Thank God.

Goodnight from San Diego, and when you hear from me again, I will be back, Trapped Behind the Zion Curtain.

At any rate, I wanted to check in and share this little Hotel Tidbit from the Burbank Hilton.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tomorrow, back to Utah

  1. Cele says:

    Note to self…stick with Best Westerns

    Like

  2. Elaine says:

    This was the Hilton at the airport in Burbank? Well, I’m glad, then, that LosCon left that venue a couple of years ago. Sounds like things have gone downhill there since I was there last. We got around some of the priciness there by taking our own food (seriously) and cooking in the room. You’d be amazed at the variety of foods that can be prepared in a crock pot. 🙂 Which we had to go out and buy, mind you, because we had been told – erroneously – that we would have a microwave in the room.

    Elaine

    Like

  3. Wendy says:

    I fear the roach! Seriously, my fear of roaches has kept me from many a trip. Must seek counseling.

    I just heard about the dance competition from Jenni. I wish I would have seen the kid dancing to Vanilla Ice and MC Hammer with “WORD” written across the back of his costume–his dance sounded hilarious.

    Like

  4. WOW.. Note to self: write about hotel experiences. I have had many. And your experience this last week tops mine. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

