Please Welcome Shanna Swendson!

Today, Shanna Swendson, a magical sort of writer, has agreed to visit us, and so, we, of course, had to ask her the USUAL Trapped questions. But first, a little bit about Shanna’s book, Once Upon Stillettos. Shanna writes “paranormal chick lit,” a growing new genre. Frankly, we can all use a bit of that magic. I mean, how many times could I have used that “it’s no place like home” thing from The Wizard of Oz when I was growing up. But no, no ruby slippers for me. Just church meetings. If you COULD just click your heels, and get the heck outta Dodge, well, CONSIDER the possibilities. And Shanna does….

“Once Upon Stilettos is not to be missed if you’re in the mood for a fast and funny read where chicklit meets urban fantasy.” — Mary Jo Putney, author of A Kiss of Fate

“A princely wizard, Cinderella red stilettos, and a megalomaniac–what more could a girl ask for? ONCE UPON STILETTOS is a delightful urban fairytale with a dreamy hero and a country-wise Texas heroine who use their magical and non-magical charms to seek justice and unmask the villain. Just a few weeks in the life of a simple single girl…” — bestselling author Patricia Rice

See? You know you need some of this. And now, on to the questions.

1. If you had to be “Trapped” somewhere, where would it be?

A nice cabin in the woods with Internet access.

2. If you could pick your “Trapped” companions, what three people would you want with you, and why?

Do I have to have anyone with me? I think I’d enjoy the solitude! Maybe a cook, a maid and someone to run errands, but only if they had separate quarters.

3. If you could only pick five books to be “Trapped” with, what would they be?

Now, that’s a really, really tough question! The top contenders now (but that may change!) would be TO SAY NOTHING OF THE
DOG by Connie Willis, THE BOYFRIEND SCHOOL by Sarah Bird, LAST CHANCE SALOON by Marian Keyes — all that have stood the test of re-reading and never fail
to make me happy. Plus the last two books would be the latest books by any two of my favorite authors that I haven’t read yet (can I go into the future and claim the next (and also, sadly, the last) Harry Potter book?).

4. What ONE famous person would you absolutely NOT want to be “Trapped” with?

Tom Cruise. He would drive me nuts. I never liked him even back when he was truly popular. He’s always annoyed me. And now even more so.

5. You can bring three things from your “former” life to “Trapped.” What would those three things be?

TV, DVD player, laptop computer

6. Where is one place you absolutely would NOT want to be “Trapped.”

If we’re talking geography, the desert (I can’t stand places without green stuff and water). Otherwise, no small, enclosed space (I’m claustrophobic).

So there you have it. Shanna Swendson was trapped here, and couldn’t even escape with MAGIC. Glad she came to visit, and I don’t know how she got out. Okay, maybe magic….

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Please Welcome Shanna Swendson!

  1. Merilynn says:

    Your “Trapped” interviews are my favorite. I especially love hearing about their books and their favorite reading. Nah, your WHOLE blog is my favorite–now on my daily hit list.

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    Wow, thanks Merilynn. So glad someone enjoys learning about new books, because, well, BOOKS are my love!! And glad you like the blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

